Suppose a team from let's say

lawd geezas how yuh suh negative???!!! is like yuh overcompensating to one side. mek it happen first nuh?!! why yuh a tek such a position on situation that has not materialised and a get defensive about it?

the other 11 months are just that without the name ....

It was just a question OJ. Nothing more.
        You asked for documentation as to where the Black Stars on the Ghanain flag vis-a vis Marcus Garvey came from. I supplied one do you need more? Or do you accept that the Ghanaian flag is a function of the accomlishment of a Pan africanist Jamaican?

the other 11 months are just that without the name ....
          No argument from me...but imagine if some joker tried to name it! My birthday is in February, so me already on the right side ah dat deh one

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
            You asked for documentation as to where the Black Stars on the Ghanain flag vis-a vis Marcus Garvey came from. I supplied one do you need more? Or do you accept that the Ghanaian flag is a function of the accomlishment of a Pan africanist Jamaican?
            Where was I talking about the flag? I was only taking about the name of the team and that the article stated that it was representative of the black race's aspirations. Am I missing something? I don't have any problem with where the black star came from being attributed to Garvey - that sounds reasonable and if you have data backing it up, so be it. But the article was not referring to the flag, just the team.

New Zealand's national soccer team is called the "All Whites", just as their national rugby team is called the "All Blacks".

well is really hard to come down on them because dem cover everything!

Where was I talking about the flag? I was only taking about the name of the team and that the article stated that it was representative of the black race's aspirations. Am I missing something? I don't have any problem with where the black star came from being attributed to Garvey - that sounds reasonable and if you have data backing it up, so be it. But the article was not referring to the flag, just the team.
                  I was addressing this: "I don't know the reason behind the name so maybe you can give me some source to back up your position." The name of the team comes from the flag and the black stars on the flag comes from the black star liner. You cannot separate the name of the team from the flag.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                    If the name was given under the similar circumstances as say "the black stars", i doubt people would have a problem.
                    You have The White House and nobody has a problem with that name for the US President's abode.

I was addressing this: "I don't know the reason behind the name so maybe you can give me some source to back up your position." The name of the team comes from the flag and the black stars on the flag comes from the black star liner. You cannot separate the name of the team from the flag.
                      Okay - then why do you think the article says that the name represents the aspirations of the black race? Believe me, I am not being confrontational and far from me to defend what I read in the press. Is there position wrong then? Which is fine, I just don't know your thoughts on that.

No confrontation at all. I can only tell you that the Marcus Garvey connection was relayed to me by an older Ghanain who I met purely by accident. When I checked it out I was surprised to find out the effect Garvey had on many of the new West African nations. I can only surmise that most Ghanains know instinctively that the Black Stars refers to the aspirations of the black race but are not aware of the Garvey context. The aspirations that they refer to emanate from Garvey as per the father of their nation Kwame Nkrumah who put the Black star on the Ghana flag. Apparantly in the 60's during the heights of Pan Africanism this was common knowledge.
                        Garvey is a Jamaican hero but Jamaican teachers said they couldn't teach Garvey in schools because they didn't study it in teachers college. That to me says it all.

True...but the French team might beg to differ... they were one team that as far back as 78 WC(imagine me sayings this, getting long in the tooth I am) had a black man as their captain, Marius Tresor from Guadeloupe... lately their team has been made up of predominantly black players... of course there was that bit of controversy with Laurent Blanc (?) making some comments about the team's loyalties as there were so many dual citizens in the French programme.

I am a brown man... wha bout me?? LOL

Seriously though, those NZ Rugby teams have a significant number of indigenous persons on the team... unlike their football or cricket teams ( I stand to be corrected)... their cricket team did/does have a player whose name escapes me of south east asian background...

The "All Blacks" I believe referred to the colour of their uniforms and not to race of course... the "All Whites" would make sense for the cricket team... if vague memory serves me correctly I do believe there was controversy around the All Whites name... will see if I can dig up what is in my rusty brain.
                            Last edited by Peter R; February 14, 2012, 07:57 PM.

No confrontation at all. I can only tell you that the Marcus Garvey connection was relayed to me by an older Ghanain who I met purely by accident. When I checked it out I was surprised to find out the effect Garvey had on many of the new West African nations. I can only surmise that most Ghanains know instinctively that the Black Stars refers to the aspirations of the black race but are not aware of the Garvey context. The aspirations that they refer to emanate from Garvey as per the father of their nation Kwame Nkrumah who put the Black star on the Ghana flag. Apparantly in the 60's during the heights of Pan Africanism this was common knowledge.
                              Garvey is a Jamaican hero but Jamaican teachers said they couldn't teach Garvey in schools because they didn't study it in teachers college. That to me says it all.
                              Now that's sad. And we wonder why? Thanks Rudi.

Maybe this is what is in the old brain... but honestly I cannot remember this controversy.
                                http://cliftonfc.co.uk/main.htm