• Youth Development - USA stylee!

Monday, Feb. 13, 2012
    Klinsmann and Co. make case for 10-month club season, no high school ball

By Mike Woitalla

U.S. Soccer made it official last Friday that its 78-club Development Academy league will move to a 10-month schedule starting with the 2012-13 season.

More than 3,000 of the nation's elite boys play for Academy teams in U-15/16 and U-17/18 leagues and the schedule change means no high school soccer for them. That's the most controversial aspect of the move the Federation says is necessary to create a better balance between training and games and to “close the performance gap with the top soccer nations.”

U.S. national team coach Jurgen Klinsmann said in the Academy’s press release:

"If we want our players to someday compete against the best in the world, it is critical for their development that they train and play as much as possible and in the right environment. The Development Academy 10-month season is the right formula and provides a good balance between training time and playing competitive matches. This is the model that the best countries around the world use for their programs, and I think it makes perfect sense that we do as well."

Said USSF Youth Technical Director Claudio Reyna, "This schedule puts our elite players in line with kids in their age group internationally, and places the appropriate physical demands at this stage in their development."

The USA, however, is unique to international soccer powers in that it has a strong tradition of scholastic sports participation. The club vs. high school conflict emerged before the Academy league’s arrival in 2007, but it has heated up since one third of the Academy teams moved to the 10-month schedule last year. U.S. Soccer addressed the issue of “banning” kids from high school ball in its “Frequentl Asked Questions” about the schedule change:

“Every player has a choice to play high school soccer or in the Development Academy. We believe that for those elite soccer players who are committed to pursuing the goal of reaching the highest levels they can in the sport, making this decision will provide them a big advantage in their development and increase their exposure to top coaches in the United States and from around the world.

“We are talking about a group of players who want to continue at the next level, whether that is professional or college, which is still the destination for a majority of our graduates.”

On whether the quality of high school soccer would be reduced, U.S. Soccer responds with:

“Overall, only 1 percent of all players currently playing high school soccer are involved with the Development Academy. We are only talking about a small percentage of elite players who have the goal of playing soccer at the highest levels. High School soccer will continue to make an important contribution to the soccer landscape in this country.”

On whether Academy coaches are better than high school coaches:

“There are many quality coaches in both the Development Academy and high school teams. The Academy environment allows for more focused and consistent training with less emphasis on games. Academy players and coaches also receive ongoing feedback, instruction and guidance from U.S. Soccer Technical Advisors, who are also the main scouts for the U.S. national team programs.”

U.S. Soccer says the move received “overwhelming support” from its member clubs.

“The key to development, to me, is playing against quality players in practice,” said Crossfire Premier Coaching Director Bernie James in a statement. “I think if you’re with a group of good players who are pushing each other, and you have that for most of the year, then I think it’s bound to be better for development.”

Source: SoccerAmerica

While we try and reinvent the wheel...wi fool bad...

So Karl, you think Jamaica could do this? Our high schools are the traditional source of talent but it is clear that we have to develop a broader infrastructure to even begin thinking of a 10 month season. When I look at how many teams in Broward County 20 minutes from my yard that my daughter could play for, including 4 academies, I just have to shake my head. Poor Jamaica. We really have it hard.

Imagine that at 12 years old, my daughter practices 3 times a week and has games virtually every weekend in a 10 month schedule. And by the way, in the 2 months she has off, they run camps. Nuff ball. She is on the "B" team in her club. The "A" team at her club for her age group is ranked 7th in Florida. Is there any such "ranking" system in Jamaica for youth teams? America is so far ahead of us it is demoralising.

So Karl, you think Jamaica could do this? Our high schools are the traditional source of talent but it is clear that we have to develop a broader infrastructure to even begin thinking of a 10 month season. When I look at how many teams in Broward County 20 minutes from my yard that my daughter could play for, including 4 academies, I just have to shake my head. Poor Jamaica. We really have it hard.

Imagine that at 12 years old, my daughter practices 3 times a week and has games virtually every weekend in a 10 month schedule. And by the way, in the 2 months she has off, they run camps. Nuff ball. She is on the "B" team in her club. The "A" team at her club for her age group is ranked 7th in Florida. Is there any such "ranking" system in Jamaica for youth teams? America is so far ahead of us it is demoralising.
        Paul: You have forgotten!
        I'll repeat -Our schools remain our main set of academies - We cannot allow that tremendous investment to go to waste. ...besides they are the tentacles that infiltrate the entire island and thus should play greatest part in discovery of, allowing all...talent to come to the fore.

...and all NPL clubs must have youth academies.

The Academies that operate in the top world countries that are independent of schools and clubs and now proposed by Klingsmann... in the USA...must have in our Jamaica replicas such as;
        our JFF Academy, the proposed Real Madrid/Rollins/"Wild Boy" Lawrence Academy, the Andre Virgo's effort and the Craig Butler's effort moving towards 'proper' academy status.

The main ingredient...currently missing ingredient...at all our levels is top quality teaching and high level exposure of the young players to quality competition.

When our 'silly' educators and football administrators come to their senses and embrace the fact that each area of discipline in our schools must provide first world teaching and be made TOP OF THE WORLD then we shall see that reflected in lower employment figures (directly and indirectly coming out of that base step of provision of top quality teaching, etc.), hordes of our players being gainfully employed across the globe and our putting on the field of play top worldclass teams.

...so YES! ...we can do it!

US Club Soccer unveils Youth Club Standards

CHARLESTON, S.C. (Feb. 13, 2012) – As part of US Club Soccer’s commitment to improving player development through club development, the organization has unveiled its Youth Club Standards, a comprehensive set of aspirational guidelines for all clubs across the United States.

The document reflects specific areas or platforms that clubs and club leadership should be targeting for growth, change, and improvement within the organization. It is intended to be a roadmap for club development, a pathway to sharing best practices, and to provoke thought, discussion and action regarding ways to expand and improve programs and services.

The Youth Club Standards were developed with the advice and assistance of U.S. Soccer technical staff, technical leaders from clubs throughout the country, and the US Club Soccer Board of Directors and staff. The standardswill continue to grow and evolve over time, reflecting the ever-changing environment of club soccer in the United States.

“The establishment of club standards is critically tied to the player development process, because clubs that are better structured, organized and led eventually develop better players,” said Phil Wright, Chairman of US Club Soccer’s Board of Directors. “US Club Soccer is committed to the development and support of clubs throughout the country in order to elevate the standard of the sport in the United States.”

The complete document is available here and can be accessed atusclubsoccer.org via the clubs tab.

The Youth Club Standards document outlines expectations and goals for clubs in areas as diverse as facilities, operations, coaching education, and more. In addition, the document provides three different levels of standards:

Minimum Requirements: These are the basic minimum expectations a club should meet to qualify as a youth soccer club under US Club Soccer. These standards are set out as minimum requirements, without which it is virtually impossible to operate as a true soccer club.

Base Club Standards: These are standards that should be met, or be within the scope of the strategic growth plan, for the majority of youth soccer clubs across the country. The base club standards will cover a wide spectrum of clubs of various competitive levels. Differentiations between these clubs will not only be reflected in their size and mission, but also in the number of these standards met, the degree by which they are met, and the quality of the service or resources provided by the club and its staff within each standard.

National Premier Leagues (NPL) Standards: These are the standards that should be met by the top developmental clubs in the country in order for these organizations to truly be considered professional talent development organizations, and are supplements and additions to the Base Club Standards. Within US Club Soccer, top clubs participate in the National Premier Leagues (NPLs); for this reason, these standards are referred to as NPL Standards. These standards are considered when reviewing applicants to the NPL and in the on-going evaluation of current member clubs in the NPL. NPL clubs are expected to meet all minimum requirements and basic club standards, and make consistent progress in achieving new NPL standards each year.

It should be noted that the U.S. Soccer Federation has developed its own specific standards for the U.S. Soccer Development Academy, and standards are currently being developed by the Elite Clubs National League (ECNL) for its teams.

US Club Soccer will continue to expand its club development efforts and educational programming with new initiatives that will be closely aligned with these standards.

ABOUT US CLUB SOCCER:
          US Club Soccer is a non-profit organization committed to the development and support of soccer clubs and players in the United States. A National Association member of the U.S. Soccer Federation, US Club Soccer offers youth and adult player and staff registration, integrated competition platforms at the recreational and competitive levels, as well as a variety of other programming, including the id2 National Player Identification and Development Program.
          Unique to US Club Soccer is the ability of member clubs to unite youth and adult programs under one organizational umbrella, creating a “members for life” culture within each club. Additionally, US Club Soccer’s philosophy of maximum flexibility improves the player development environment.
          usclubsoccer.org | Facebook: /usclubsoccer | Twitter: @usclubsoccer | YouTube: /usclubsoccer
          NationalPremierLeagues.com | NationalAdultLeagues.com | id2 Program

That line of thinking is the problem...you are the problem Karl

Karl - can we realistically expect schools to run a 10 month football program? One of the advantages that academies have is that the players are playing with the cream of the crop. That's not necessarily true with high school players. Yes, while you have good high school teams, imagine if the top 5 players from each school in Jamaica were all in 10 month academy programs - playing with each other. That would be more progressive for the best players amongst the crop, not having them play in a school system where the standards around them are not creamo. That's the concern I have with relying on the schools. I understand it, but I don't think it is good enough.

This is where you and I differ in thinking Karl. Previously, many forumites here (Jawge in particular) have called for the abollishment of high school football for the sake of the national program. This thought, is what I am against. Even though we find ourselves in the position where our high schools are the feeders to our national programs, I disagree with your idea of developing them FOR the programs. The onus is not and should not be on our high schools to be a feeder system for our national programs. We need to broaden the base and develop these independent academies specifically for our programs. Sports go hand in hand with academics in developing our young people and should not be taken away from our youngsters in school. It is just the reality of our situation in Jamaica where sports is considered a hobby and not as a viable business endeavour. If we want to compete on the world stage, then we need to change this concept, just like how we need to change our concept of tourism (I had to throw that in there).
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Karl - can we realistically expect schools to run a 10 month football program? One of the advantages that academies have is that the players are playing with the cream of the crop. That's not necessarily true with high school players. Yes, while you have good high school teams, imagine if the top 5 players from each school in Jamaica were all in 10 month academy programs - playing with each other. That would be more progressive for the best players amongst the crop, not having them play in a school system where the standards around them are not creamo. That's the concern I have with relying on the schools. I understand it, but I don't think it is good enough.
                  The schools cannot never be the top of the pyramid!
                  ...but they are many and allow all worthwhile talent a path to development...

The best of the best can be culled ...as was say in another discipline a Bolt...or in yet another the academic scholarship winner to UWI or an institution outside of the island... and thus move towards development of full potential.

Yes, Paul...the schools need to be made 'whole'! ...but of themselves should never be considered the 'be all'!

Could you point us to a successful footballing nation that has this particular model in place? Thanks in advance

I can.
                      ...but how does our effort to discover all our talented and provide best coaching/teaching at the earliest stages...while moving the then current - (kids as do all humans develop at different rates) - best of the best to higher calibre academies be wrong?

I wonder if in the areas of other disciplines - as your question seem to be suggesting your position being against schools developing 'best learning environments' e.g. academic pursuits, etc. -...you would be thinking that silly crap that the efforts at all schools to best present environs that are first rate for development of the kids i.e. school academies for academic development should not be pursued?

btw - To get back to your question: Perhaps you would wish to rephrase same? Maybe - Could you name countries that do not use that model of schools being first place kids are introduced to formal teaching in individual sport disciplines?

The point is at that first introduction...in those schools...are the educators providing best learning environment? Is it not commonsense to, on every discipline, provide 'best teaching'? ...improve the environment to one wherein 'best teaching/learning' occurs?

My question to you is; What do you have against our kids being given at this first level best enviroment in which to succeed?

btw - To get back to your question: Perhaps you would wish to rephrase same? Maybe - Could you name countries that do not use that model of schools being first place kids are introduced to formal teaching in individual sport disciplines?
                        France, Germany et al establish Elite Sports Schools from as early as 10 years old..."Sports Schools"...what don't you get about that? Name the successful footballing nations that champion a high school sport model?

how willi did put it again?

oh yeah ... he has the ability to prevent reason from intering with his pre-determined conclusion .. or words to that effect.

France, Germany et al establish Elite Sports Schools from as early as 10 years old..."Sports Schools"...what don't you get about that? Name the successful footballing nations that champion a high school sport model?
                              Again - Which nation does not have one?

...and of those academies how many top footballers are produced by each?
                              Bricktop it is a numbers game!

If you ignore 99.99% of your talent by looking no further than the few areas to which the academies are directly coving then it stands to reason you are underserving the kids, football and the nation.

No way can 'largest' numbers of best talents be discovered - be even introduced to those academies - if 99.99% of the island's talent pool is being ignored!!!

---

What you fail to realise is that an overwhelming number of countries have that 'schools system' which you dispise. It is from those 'schools systems' that young ones...and older ones are selected.

Where was Messi before he becoming attached to an academy/professional club?

At school!

Where were young Davis before he left Jamaica and went to Valencia?
                              At school!

Where were the players Phoenix - Craig Butler - got into professional settings before they arrived at and during their time at Phoenix - at school!

...and on and on!
                              So would having those 'schools systems' create 'best environment' for teaching allow more excellent talent to be developed? My answer, unlike yours, is a resounding YES!