Youth Development - USA stylee!

suh what yuh talking about FINDING the talent or DEVELOPING the talent? please be clear on that. one may, and in fact does, find talent at the schoolboy level but the schools CANNOT and in indeed are not there to allow a footballer to realise his/her full potential as a footballer

The fact is over 50% of the schools in Ja have way to develop potential in soccer or athletics.

Some don't even have a pitch to practise or play on. When they have a talented player (one in 10 years) how are they prepared to deal with that? Bolt and Bibi only come 1 in a century where the potential is there to be world class from say 11 years old.

The same way France, Spain, Germany et al find the top talent...the youth clubs are where football is played...the academies track the players until they are 13 and then skim off the cream of the crop...schoolboy football does not factor into the equation...
        France, Spain, Germany each have a talent pool and each have economy that have papers over talented youth thrown aside. ...look at the USA and Jeremy Lin...damn he was just ' a heartbeat' from being discarded...but if he was there are 'tons' more to take his place.

Size (population size) does matter!!!!!

Jamaica...we cannot afford to miss the talent in Davy, St Thomas from Morant Bay High School or the talent in the hills of Westmoreland from Maude McCleod...or from wherever...

...damn?
        Our poor improvished relatives with 5/6 kids and the talented kid...cannot afford to be discarded because a) the teaching/learning environment is lousy or the academies have no more available space to accommodate him/her. ...or nation cannot afford it, our national teams cannot afford it!

...btw - that tracking of which you speak, where are the kids being tracked? ...on public playgrounds only or also at the schools?

...not to mention those culled from outside of those nations.

Example: Do you know where Phoenix - (Jamaica - Craig Butler's Academy - saw the majority of the players in that academy?

They came out of the schools!!!!

Virtue' s group?

Aaron Lawrence's group?

Last edited by Karl; February 17, 2012, 12:40 PM.

...btw - that tracking of which you speak, where are the kids being tracked? ...on public playgrounds only or also at the schools?
          I believe I already stated that they would be tracked at their youth clubs...those not good enough for the youth clubs can play varsity saawker at their schools where everybody gets a trophy...even the losers...

that is talent spotting ..... take phoenix ... where were those players DEVELOPED at the schools or with the extra attention of butler OUTSIDE of the school curriculum?

btw not all of them came out of the schools ... bome of them went into school already with the benefit of butler's coaching! are you telling me that kc and georges made kyle and chippy the players they are now?

they are both sooo much better than the kids of their age in the schools .. why?

I believe I already stated that they would be tracked at their youth clubs...those not good enough for the youth clubs can play varsity saawker at their schools where everybody gets a trophy...even the losers...
              ...at youth clubs only?
              You know that for what it is

suh what yuh talking about FINDING the talent or DEVELOPING the talent? please be clear on that. one may, and in fact does, find talent at the schoolboy level but the schools CANNOT and in indeed are not there to allow a footballer to realise his/her full potential as a footballer
                Well define that full potential.
                ...you do realise that most footballers develop even further while playing for club or country...i.e. realising 'full potential' in those settings?ute

Massa nuh talk .... ...each area the kids are contribute to their development. We cannot pay little or no attention to the development in schools.

oh yeah ... he has the ability to prevent reason from intering with his pre-determined conclusion .. or words to that effect.
                  ...yet you claim I am most often inconsistent on/with my positions? On one hand I am inconsistent...on the other I am?

that is talent spotting ..... take phoenix ... where were those players DEVELOPED at the schools or with the extra attention of butler OUTSIDE of the school curriculum?

btw not all of them came out of the schools ... bome of them went into school already with the benefit of butler's coaching! are you telling me that kc and georges made kyle and chippy the players they are now?

they are both sooo much better than the kids of their age in the schools .. why?
                    ...because they had both!!!!
                    ...and you know that subliminal message you are sending - i.e. Phoenix only responsible for the youngers development is false!!!! ...You know most were culled from their schools...their talents already developed to such quality that they caught Craig's attention! ...and that is the point - The schools must be made 'best they can as teaching/learning institutions' ...mini-academies!!!

one may be consistently inconsistent, no?

high schools are not and cannot be football academies or even take the place of football academies, that ,is the point.

EXACTLY karl, thank you! high school alone CANNOT cut it!! punto final!

...at youth clubs only?
                            You know that for what it is
                            Not trying to reinvent the wheel Karl...the heavy lifting, trial & error has been done by others...no need to buss our brain trying to figure this one out...

Players are identified at age 11 through districts and then regional club teams. The best 20-30 players at age 13 go to the national training center in Clairefontaine.
                              From 5-11 yo the kids are in district & regional club teams...not school sides...the cream of the crop are sent to the national training centre for elite players...the second tier kids are sent to different training centres around the country...at no time does schoolboy football enter the equation...