Youth Development - USA stylee!

Karl...Messi played club/academy football since he was 5 years old...he was at Newell Old Boys at age 8...what are you on about...please Karl...please stop trying to reinvent the wheel...the blueprint is there...schoolboy football is for school boys...academies are for those with the talent to reach the professional ranks...

Tell me Karl...which schools were Maradona, Messi, Ronaldo et al discovered at?

Karl...Messi played club/academy football since he was 5 years old...he was at Newell Old Boys at age 8...what are you on about...please Karl...please stop trying to reinvent the wheel...the blueprint is there...schoolboy football is for school boys...academies are for those with the talent to reach the professional ranks...
        Bricktop, the following is the topic: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...post342285play

...and at 8...and before at 5 was Messi also attending school?
        Was he seen as talented then?

...and where there others at schools in Argentina playing football who went on to play at higher levels?

Tell me Karl...which schools were Maradona, Messi, Ronaldo et al discovered at?
          The next thing you are going to tell the board is these players had no talent until they were seen at academy/professional clubs! ...and you shall follow right on to claim they learnt nothing at an earlier age at the institutions they were attending?

That above you will then expand into saying it is a waste to provide best teaching/learning environment at schools

Just 'stap', boss!

You realize that you have not answered one question posed to you as yet Karl...

Karl...the topic is on HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL...that is what everyone in the thread including Klinsman was alluding to...don't know where the hell you gone with the argument...yes Karl kindergarten football is the key to uncovering talent

The schools cannot never be the top of the pyramid!
                You just don't get it...hush...

[quote=Bricktop;342672]Karl...Messi played club/academy football since he was 5 years old...he was at Newell Old Boys at age 8...what are you on about...please Karl...please stop trying to reinvent the wheel...the blueprint is there...schoolboy football is for school boys...academies are for those with the talent to reach the professional ranks...[/quote]

Bricky you said exactly what I've been trying to say in one line. I guess that's why you are the smart one here on the forum and I'm the dummy.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You realize that you have not answered one question posed to you as yet Karl...
                    Bricktop: You have already taken your position on whether or not providing best quality instructions a school can provide is way to go. Your position is; it is fine for some disciplines but totally unsuited for others for a school to work at providing the best environment for teaching and learning.

I have already outlined my position as it makes commonsense to provide the very best teaching and learning environment for each discipline. As we have each taken a position there is nothing for me to answer/nothing further to be said.

Karl I'm making a brief stop from my busy schedule. What are you talking about? You are talking about a discipline (football) that requires at least two full length fields (properly kept too) then you turn around to look at equipment, gears and other assortment. Math , history, comp sci et al do not require serious real estate plus other things to teach the subject.

Ja is a population under 3 million. Are you saying most boys are aspiring to be professional football players? What about students that have the desire to become bankers, lawyers, biologist, engineers, teachers et al? Their need should be short changed because you want to see your high school from years gone win a football trophy?

All talented football players should be in one place an academy. Their names thrown in a draft for the clubs and corporation to adapt and sponsor a player. The academy can then tour S.America and Europe (with tutors) participating in varied tourneys. In the end Ja's national team would benefit immensely.

Yes Karl we both have stated our positions...however...i am asking you to name the footballing nations who have adopted a schoolboy approach to building the sport...thanks in advance...

oh yeah ... he has the ability to prevent reason from intering with his pre-determined conclusion .. or words to that effect.
                          1. Total number of players who make it to professional leagues?

2. Total number of players developed only by academies?

3. Total number of players whose potential was spotted in school?

4. Total number of players who never attended an academy before age 10 and were actively playing and developing talent at schools?

5. Coverage of geographic area covered by academy scouts?

6. Coverage of georgraphic area covered by the 'scouts' in the school system?

7. Numbers of talented players can be accomodated by the academies in any country - Choose number of countries and comply figures for each?

...then...

8. Compare to numbers of talented players accommodated in the school system?

If you conclude as I do that the numbers of talented players worthy of being afforded a pathway to develop to fullest potential outstrip the ability of academies to accommodate same... then -
                          a) You would wish to afford all talent institution where development can occur;

b) Institute a system whereby the talent is engaged in the discipline - being exposed to best possible instruction and learning environment;

c) Institute a system whereby the best of the best can be identified and as it is now (or at least should be) instruction appropriate to level of development is provided;

If we zero in on Jamaica - As is happening now and as has been happening from 'wappy was a bwoy' such a structure would move us to 'capture' greater percentage of 'best talents'. Increase probability of capturing 100% of the best of the best!

That those 'best talents' (regardless of age at which the talent 'springs to life') would be moved into enviroment best suited to even further development is not in question...what would be ensured is best talents would not slip through the cracks in the vast numbers presently occuring.

--------

Commonsense...a personal observation through the years...tells me that ignoring the investment in physical plants (teachers/coaches, buildings, playfields, etc..) is fool's play.

Commonsense tells me that ignoring all-island coverage on provision of places where entire talent pool can be observed is fool's play.

Commonsense tells me that constant work at improving teaching and learning enviroment makes...sense!

Yes...I have had that position for years...and I see no information that suggests it would not be in the nation's best interest to provide the necessary support to make that provision of 'best' teaching/learning evironment.

I am not against...and have never been against...specialist football academies'. ...but I maintain that each school should be having mini-academies for each discipline - 'football', 'Track and Field', Cricket are disciplines that require same investment of capital and effort as Chemistry, Biology, Zoology, History, Language Arts, etc.

If it is not to provide best environment -- best teaching and learning environment for our kids, why bother?
                          Last edited by Karl; February 16, 2012, 02:17 PM.

France, Germany et al establish Elite Sports Schools from as early as 10 years old..."Sports Schools"...what don't you get about that? Name the successful footballing nations that champion a high school sport model?
                            Is it the nation that provides those Elite Sports Schools i.e. academies?
                            I have no qualms in letting all know...that I never knew that. I thought they were all private commercial entities - individual business entities or attached to football clubs.

Is it the nation that provides those Elite Sports Schools i.e. academies?
                              I have no qualms in letting all know...that I never knew that. I thought they were all private commercial entities - individual business entities or attached to football clubs.
                              The mandate comes from the respective FA's...

high school is NOT the way for them to develope their FULLEST potential! in fact poor grades can prevent them for even going to school ... whereas with an academy football is given more prominence.

in high school some players who play football also run track and play cricket for the school ... i mean REALLY karl ....the time spent on cricket and track is time away from their football development, how then can they develope their FULLEST potential?!!