• Evra's story...

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...d-just-17.html

Evra suffered sick chants aged 17

By CHARLIE WYETT
    Published: Today

Add a comment (15)

PATRICE EVRA claims he is still scarred by the racism he suffered as a teenager.

Manchester United's French star was singled out by supporters at the start of his career in Italy after failing to land a club in his homeland.
    And Evra, the victim of sickening monkey chants when playing for Marsala in Serie C as a 17-year-old, promised himself he would not continue to tolerate this type of abuse.
    This was illustrated by his determination to blow the whistle on Liverpool's Luis Suarez.
    Yet Suarez's refusal to shake Evra's hand on Saturday only heightened the hatred between the two — and this led to the defender's victory celebration in front of the Stretford End.
    Evra, 30, was turned away by clubs such as Paris St Germain as a youngster and was spotted playing on trial at Torino before landing a club with Marsala in Sicily.
    He said: "I feel I am more of a man than most, because I have taken knocks on the field and off it. I learned that football is a world of sharks. In Italy, people took photos of me when I arrived at the airport, not because I was Patrice Evra but because I was black.

Video: Suarez refuses to shake on it

LIVERPOOL'S Luis Suarez refuses to shake hands with Man Utd's Patrice Evra

"I learnt to look after myself. There were times when I wanted to cry but it taught me to be tough and helped me become a man.
    "I was 17 and the only black player in Sicily. I tended to get quite angry and wanted to sort things out with my fists."
    After just one season on the Italian island, Evra moved up a division to play for Monza but continued to suffer racism from the Serie B crowds.
    He added: "I remember we played in Palermo once and every time I touched the ball 20,000 people would make monkey noises. I felt so alone. It's terrible because it hurts your dignity."
    Evra celebrated wildly with United's supporters on Saturday and he clearly has a closer bond with the Old Trafford faithful than he does with French fans.
    He became even less popular when leading a French player strike at the 2010 World Cup after Nicolas Anelka was booted out of the squad.
    He said: "I've yet to see a flag of Thierry Henry or Franck Ribery at the Stade de France. The fans have to get behind us.
    "When I play and I hear whistles after five minutes, I ask why?
    "Against Ireland, against Scotland, against England, every time it's incredible. You get the impression French people were asked to stay at home.
    "It does affect us. I play for a big club. When you have 76,000 fans behind you it gives you a boost.
    "But if you get booed after five minutes, you can't feel the same thing.
    "Even when we lose with United we get applauded, not jeered.
    "In France, we don't have the culture of Brazilian, Argentine, Italian or English fans.
    "When I arrived in England I felt like it was a new job — the impact of the fans, the stadiums. It's a religion.
    "I just want to tell French fans to love football. I'm only saying that you can't get shot down for not giving an autograph when you've just been jeered by your own fans."
    Evra not only remains Public Enemy No 1 with Liverpool fans but is disliked by many of his former international team-mates.
    Ex-Juventus and Barcelona defender Lilian Thuram slammed him for his role as skipper back home in France.
    Thuram, a member of the French FA and an anti-racism campaigner, insisted Evra should never play for his country again.
    Evra said: "It's not enough to walk around with books on slavery, glasses and a hat on to become Malcolm X... Lilian takes himself for the new coach, the president of the federation and the president of France.
    "I called him to ask for an explanation. He didn't answer.
    "I left him quite a spicy message and he left me a message pretending he didn't know it was me who'd phoned.
    "What we did in South Africa was serious. Why pour oil on the fire?
    "It's easy to say that things would have been different with another captain. He soiled my name without bothering to find out what happened.
    "I gave everything as captain. Certain people laid into me without knowing what happened."
    Meanwhile, former Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier has slammed Suarez as "stupid".

Houllier was stunned at the striker's decision to not shake Evra's hand.
    And he also criticised him for kicking the ball towards the United bench.
    Houllier said: "He behaved in a stupid way because we knew there would be tension surrounding this match.
    "The start was affected by the tension created by the handshake incident.
    "And he had a stupid reaction before the break. The whole United team was furious."
    Houllier spoke to Alex Ferguson after the match and added: "Evra showed a lot of dignity by offering to shake Suarez's hand but what he did at the end was avoidable."

The more I look at this little man, the more I feel sorry for him. He clearly has issues. He seems to be in everyone's face all the time when he gets "wronged". I'm okay with that, but he seems troubled.

1. Anelka gets sacked from camp - he leads a revolt (SA2010)
    2. Thuram calls for him to be banned, he accuses Thuram of thinking he (Thuram) is [high and mighty] (president of france, malcolm x, president of fff, new coach)
    3. Fans boo the French team, he condones no autograph signing afterwards (clearly the people asking for autographs weren't the ones booing!!!)
    4. Suarez fouled him at Liverpool in October - he confront him telling him about his sister's vagina
    5. Suarez tried to put it behind them after the ref speak to them by putting his hand on his head - clearly reconciliatory - he bat's the man hand away
    6. Suarez said something to him he didn't like (my take: he misunderstood him) and he blows it up into a massive affair, aided and abetted by an incompetent and flawed FA charge and kangaroo court
    7. Suarez doesn't shake his hand - he grabs him by the arm, as if doing so will make him change his mind
    8. Suarez doesn't shake his hand - he confronts him in the tunnel at half time
    9. Manu** win the game - he goes out of his way to jump up and down like a rabbit celebrating in a clearly contrived and hyperbolic manner seeking out Suarez to do so.

I guess, the only thing left to do after this is to investigate the relationship he had with his parents. Maybe daddy did beat him one time too much. I am *seriously* beginning to feel sorry for him. ~Sad little man.

I hope I get to heaven just so I can see what Suarez looks like with angel wings and a halo!

Well...you may not see Suarez in wings and a halo...but you will see me, X, Mo and Peter (and definitely not Lazie and Jangle).

No angels on the football pitch.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Gamma make sure you say hi to those three stooges and bighead Mo......right before the Big Man kick them out and them become Falling Angels.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Gamma make sure you say hi to those three stooges and bighead Mo......right before the Big Man kick them out and them become Falling Angels.
              "Falling Angels"...the term is "Fallen Angels" eedy boo. "Falling Angels" was a movie, so if you mean "movie stars" then okay. Once again, unu don' know the meaning of words but a use them an' a pass judgment pan people who brita dan unu. By di way, mi know seh you don't post on this Suarez subject too tough true you know seh me, X, Peter an' TheDread are right. You gwan fool-fool, but is only because you were that devil shirt an' haffi side wid de eediat dem. Sta't think fi uself!!!

"falling" cause den nuh hit ground yet!

LOL!!!! Good one!!! I hope Jangle an' Lazie have u wid dem when dem a argue wid St. Peter 'bout how me, Peter, X an' Mo get thru di gate an dem ago get sen' to purgatory (wid Evra). You are their only hope!!!!

bwoy dem corna dark ef a suh!

Who fool-fool now. Me never think seh me did haffi spell it out...but then me shoulda know seh me a deal wid dummy.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

bwoy di liverpool man dem short fuse eh.... falling fallen out of 4th spot..

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                          bwoy di liverpool man dem short fuse eh.... falling fallen out of 4th spot..
                          They get so easily defensive....wait....they do have the best defensive record in the league......go figure

Who fool-fool now. Me never think seh me did haffi spell it out...but then me shoulda know seh me a deal wid dummy.
                            Dear Jangle,

Please...ah beg u...spell it out...please...mi brain a hot me....please...

Signed,

~Dummy (not Dunny, just in case you brain trick yu an u read it wrong )

They get so easily defensive....wait....they do have the best defensive record in the league......go figure
                              Okay - you betta hide; even for you that was a low blow!!! Grrrr....