U-20 fiasco!

• U-20 fiasco!

No preparation against good international competition is preparing for failure!

...or, do we have many here believing as Lazie does that England, Argentina, Brazil, THE USA...etc...have their teams playing international practise matches because it is a waste of time?

We all drive cars - but, I will tell you that by experience I know that tooling around at 20mph or 30mph, or 40mph is not the same thing as tooling around at60mph?

...and, although you are skillful at managing a car at 60mph...without regular practise you are not skillful at managing the same car at 70mph or at80mph?

NowI have driven onoccasionson and around 100mph-105mph in the US. Itis far different from atspeeds above 105mph !!!! I have done it quite a few times and it is a completely different ball game!

Incidently - before I came to the USA I have driven over 100mph on the "Queens Highway" about 3-4 times.

I would not attempt to race at speeds above 80-95mph without having continuous set of practises at speeds above 100mph. (...and, we do know that racing at 80-95mphis different from driving 80-95mph without being in a race? Right?)

...Yup! Practising against a slow St Kitts...St Kitts lowered the pace when they met us...is a completely different ball game than playing a speedy Mexico.

...and, you know what? -...we were hopeful of competing against teams withMexico-like speed and quickness at the U-20 FIFA World Cup...:w00t::w00t::w00t:

...what a disaster that would have been?:w00t::w00t::w00t:

What CB said about pre-'98 practise - ole eapa match?

What did Dean Weatherlyremind Jamaica about practisesour '99 and 2001 age-groups teams that visited at FIFA Age-Group Championships had...oleeapa matches?

...and, what does Lazie say about prasctising against quality international competition? WASTE OF TIME?!:hehe::w00t::hehe::w00t:

Wooooooooooooooooooooooooo mi belly! :hehe::hehe::hehe:

RE: U-20 fiasco!

Whenever mi see yuh write a novel, mi normally move along, unfortunately mi see name.

Karl, at what point did Lazie say practice games aren't important? Did you read all my posts today?

Stop waste server space Karl.

But you have drawn the conclusion dat dem nuh good. How can you when they weren't given the chance to prepare properly?!?!

I heard the commentators naming the clubs that some of these players play for. Damn Mosiah, even if they didn't get the chance to practice together, them should already have the basics, controlling, passing, shooting etc. If dem nuh have that now a when dem ago get it? If them nuh have those concepts already, how unuh fi label them as being talented?

In introducing one of his songs, Teddy P said the word love is the most overused word in the world today. Him need fi come round yahso because unuh muss have a different definition fi the word talent.

You need practise matches to master basic skills of football?

Bricktop (2/26/2007)You need practise matches to master basic skills of football?
            Not if your opponents are only at the basic stage!

If, however, your opponents are masters of the game played at the highest levels, then mastery of the basic skills only will not help. You would then need exposure to using those basic skills in a different setting than when playing against novices...and or the minnows. Yup!...you'll need the technical skills comparable to that used by the TOP OF THE WORLD opposition you shall face!

I wonder why this is so hard to understand? I wonder if none of our fans here have ever tried to play football...and, do they recognise that the basics they learned is just not good enough for higher levels?

...but, what about the 'work positions' these our fans hold? Did they have to improve on the 'basic skills' with which they entered the 'workplace' to be able to deal with more complex and a more fast-paced 'work environment'?

Hey fanz - the playing field environment in which our footballers find themselves as they progress in any tournament is somewhat similar to the 'work place'...presenting more complex problems seeking solutions andthe 'work place' becomes more and more fast paced as the business grows! As in any other 'work environment' knowing the basics is one thing applying it in a fast paced environment is another thing.

As you move towards TOP OF THE WORLD in football - you meet faster - (reaction time, pace across ground, thinkers) - players than at the basic entry level. Yup! - as you climb toward TOP OF THE WORLD the ball alsooften comes at you faster -with varying 'weights' -at varying angles and varyingtrajectories -requiring different 'touches' to have it do your will...and, at the same time the player has to be moving faster off the ball/sliding into space and connecting with teammates and reacting to the dynamics of the game.

Why is it so hard to understand?

True...and also I have seen top EPL teams play in ways some of my fellow ites would regard(against better judgment)as lacking the basic....(they could not complete a pass...), we all know that isn't the case.

THe comment made yesterday by my learned ite was simplistic, andperhaps another pitiful example of self-hate.

Blessed

[quote]Karl (2/26/2007)

If, however, your opponents are masters of the game played at the highest levels, then mastery of the basic skills only will not help.
                So how you gonna get to the highest level if you can't master the basic skills? If you can't master basic skills playing inferior competition why allof a sudden is the light gonna turn on by playing better competition? Unnuh waan raid di barn but nuh waan plant nuh corn. This excuse about not playing top competition is comical. Your priorities are in the wrong place.

[quote]Bricktop (2/27/2007)
                  Karl (2/26/2007)
                  If, however, your opponents are masters of the game played at the highest levels, then mastery of the basic skills only will not help.
                  So how you gonna get to the highest level if you can't master the basic skills? If you can't master basic skills playing inferior competition why allof a sudden is the light gonna turn on by playing better competition? Unnuh waan raid di barn but nuh waan plant nuh corn. This excuse about not playing top competition is comical. Your priorities are in the wrong place.
                  Suggest you re-read what I said.

Thank you.

Lazie (2/26/2007)Whenever mi see yuh write a novel, mi normally move along, unfortunately mi see name.
                    Yet you read this one down to the last paragraph?

Did you read all my posts today?
                    I think so!

I think you need to re-read all your posts - period!

First things first. You have to start from the beginning. The beginning is learning to master the basics of football. Until we have that down pat mi nuh waan hear bout nuttin else. You waan go to step 3 before yuh finish step 1.

Bricktop (2/27/2007)First things first. You have to start from the beginning. The beginning is learning to master the basics of football. Until we have that down pat mi nuh waan hear bout nuttin else. You waan go to step 3 before yuh finish step 1.
                        Kindly name those "basics of football"?

Thank you!