The proposed Sport Museum

skill is a interesting one... cause then what about Gutto Thompson and dem man deh...

Who????? See it dey, dat's why we need the museum for people like myself who don't know who Gutto Thompson is.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I see there is talks about setting up a long overdue sport museum in Jamaica. There are going to be the obvious choices of which (dead) sporting heroes will grace the walls of this museum....Herb Mac, George Rhoden, George Headley etc. The other obvious choices for living heroes....Ottey, Quarrie, VCB, Bolt. My question is: What are the criteria to be considered worthy enough to be honoured in that museum?

One of my first candidate would be Ricardo Fuller.
        The 1st Footballer would have to be - Lindy Delapenha

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/teena...penha-_8044521

http://www.about-jamaica.com/famous-...otballers.html

Fuller would be in the top 10...but certainly not 1st.

good start OJ. Then Lindy should not be there.
          Lindy was once considered one of the World's best!

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            Greatness can be measured in many ways.. Was Lindy one of the best footballers of his generation or our history.. If yes then he is there.. By this i mean is Nandilu one of best, but is he an all of famer... i know its a can of worms but i would say no... same for pearl and anglin..... but certainly Barnes, Tappa.. Bibbi , cargill and Pepe.... yes pepe.. for track Asafa , bolt, the entire relay teams that set records... holding for cricket, maybe not lrowe...

The hall of fame should be something hard to get in and require performance past the ordinary and also behavior past the ordinary.
            Rowe? I would think so although he didn't have a "great" average, but certainly being the first man to hit a century and double century on a test cricket debut should stand for something and also is only one of 4 West Indians to hit over 300...but that South Africa thing didn't do him any favours. Walsh for sure from the cricket side.