• Lets get the view from a former ref!

The official line on Chelsea's thrilling draw with Manchester United

by Graham Poll

9 minutes: Webb was perfectly placed to see Jose Bosingwa pull Ashley Young's shirt but would have been put off as Young fell forwards instead of back in the direction of the tug.

VERDICT: Wrong decision.

11 minutes: From a perfectly good position it looked like Gary Cahill nicked the ball away from Danny Welbeck, who then fell over the defender's leg. However, replays showed Welbeck knocked the ball away and Cahill fouled him. But as contact was outside the area, it was not a penalty, and as the ball was going away from goal there was no red card for denial of a goalscoring opportunity, either.

VERDICT: Missed the foul but no penalty anyway as outside area.

56 minutes: At last a routine decision as Daniel Sturridge clearly kicked Patrice Evra's foot and United got a penalty.

VERDICT: Correct decision.

68 minutes: Another penalty and an incredibly similar incident to Saturday's involving Adam Johnson for Manchester City. Welbeck saw Branislav Ivanovic start to make a challenge and threw his leg towards the Chelsea full back to draw contact. Clever forward play and, at full speed, very tough to get right.

VERDICT: Welbeck too clever for Ivanovic . . . and for Webb.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2096952/The-official-line-Chelsea-3-Manchester-United-3--Graham-Poll.html#ixzz1lbn1ESEx

Good morning to all the jokers on this forum trying to create mischief bout dubious penalties ...

Yes, I was one who was insisting that tackle on Welbeck should have been a panalty. If it did occur outside the box, fine, I'll accept that. However, since its a foul, and Cahill didn't have another defender behind him, he was denying a goal scoring chance ... RED CYAAD!

Wha gwaan #2?

Sitting pretty .... we just pull back a bit ... nuh ready fi charge yet.

Good morning to all the jokers on this forum trying to create mischief bout dubious penalties ...

Yes, I was one who was insisting that tackle on Welbeck should have been a panalty. If it did occur outside the box, fine, I'll accept that. However, since its a foul, and Cahill didn't have another defender behind him, he was denying a goal scoring chance ... RED CYAAD!
          You were also the joker insisting that both calls were penalties. Based on bozo brain Graham Poll (Mr. 3 yellows), Wellbeck fooled Webb on the second call. So let's see - based on this donkey's evidence, that means you had 1 out of 3 right...and who is the joker now? LOL!!! Mi have ah ol' mirror an' a glass house fi give you...you have di stone dem a'ready, gwaan fling dem.

As for "Red Cyaad"...don't you get tired of spinning stupidness? Luiz was clearly in the frame AND the ball was headed away from the goal mouth...so a red would have been ridiculous...but hey...you know that your agent would have been getting the hair dryer treatment if he didn't pull a rabbit out of the hat...so under your team's rules and expectations, I agree with you. Geezan. Ridiculous...but that's the way it is...don't it? LOL!!!
          Last edited by Paul Marin; February 6, 2012, 10:19 AM.

You were also the joker insisting that both calls were penalties. Based on bozo brain Graham Poll (Mr. 3 yellows), Wellbeck fooled Webb on the second call. So let's see - based on this bozo's evidence, that means you had 1 out of 3 right...and who is the joker now? LOL!!! Mi have ah ol' mirror an' a glass house fi give you...you have di stone dem a'ready, gwaan fling dem.

As for "Red Cyaad"...don't you get tired of spinning stupidness? Luiz was clearly in the frame and so a red would have been ridiculous...but hey...you know that your agent would have been getting the hair dryer treatment if he didn't pull a rabbit out of the hat...so under your team's rules and expectations, I agree with you. Geezan. Ridiculous...but that's the way it is...don't it? LOL!!!
            Paul .. again when it comes to your hatred for Sir Alex and Manchester United .... nothing you say is logical. Even Cahill admitted he was lucky.

Easy with the pettiness bredren. If you want to have a serious football dicussion by all means ... but if yuh gonna carry on with pettiness and twisting the facts ... call X and Peter R.

You actually bolded the 68 minute call.. I believe your friend the ref was indicating that Welbeck DID NOT deserve the penalty call...

"Welbeck too clever for Ivanovic... AND WEBB"... thanks for substantiating my claim that the call was a gift.

Paul .. again when it comes to your hatred for Sir Alex and Manchester United .... nothing you say is logical. Even Cahill admitted he was lucky.

Easy with the pettiness bredren. If you want to have a serious football dicussion by all means ... but if yuh gonna carry on with pettiness and twisting the facts ... call X and Peter R.
                Okay Lazie. If you say so. I keep forgetting you are the bastion of all logic. I guess it makes sense that:

1. You accuse Suarez of racism when the FA report says he's not a racist and Evra says he's not a racist PLUS you haven't read the 115 page report. Not cool...but I guess in your world, logical...despite you "twisting facts".
                2. You accuse JT of racism saying that the QPR players don't back up what JT claims...still...I am waiting on that evidence (google all you want...you won't find it) Another display of logic on your part or fact twisting? I'm confused. LOL!!!
                3. You present Graham Poll's findings to back up your claims that both penalty calls were valid - Poll said the first was and that Wellbeck fooled Webb on the second, then you add this nonsense about Cahill (admitting finally that there was no penalty despite your partisan stupidness in prior posts) and then you find it necessary to introduce the even more ridiculous claim of a red card. Even here, you can't even accept the evidence that YOU are introducing. This one takes the cake!!!

And then you want call big man "petty" and infer seh dem not "logical". Are you drinking Jangle-Juice? A joke business diss? Come betta dan dat.

PM.

You actually bolded the 68 minute call.. I believe your friend the ref was indicating that Welbeck DID NOT deserve the penalty call...

"Welbeck too clever for Ivanovic... AND WEBB"... thanks for substantiating my claim that the call was a gift.

I simply presented the article as is. I can accept when one has a different position from me. I notice you ignored the fact you were completely wrong on the Evra call and failed to mention the other 2.

"Clever forward play and, at full speed, very tough to get right."

Where in there did Poll agreed it was a gift? If it was outside the box it would be a foul ... so where the laws change in the box for MU? Yuh can complain til yuh buss ....

I simply presented the article as is. I can accept when one has a different position from me. I notice you ignored the fact you were completely wrong on the Evra call and failed to mention the other 2.

"Clever forward play and, at full speed, very tough to get right."

Where in there did Poll agreed it was a gift? If it was outside the box it would be a foul ... so where the laws change in the box for MU? Yuh can complain til yuh buss ....
                    Lazie, which part of Bellevue yu deh? How comes dem don' have you inna one a dem white jacket, or is voice recognition yu a use fi type? You presented evidence from a ref that shows the game should have ended 3-2 for Chelsea. Do you realize that? :scratch-head:

Okay Lazie. If you say so. I keep forgetting you are the bastion of all logic. I guess it makes sense that:

1. You accuse Suarez of racism when the FA report says he's not a racist and Evra says he's not a racist PLUS you haven't read the 115 page report. Not cool...but I guess in your world, logical...despite you "twisting facts".
                      2. You accuse JT of racism saying that the QPR players don't back up what JT claims...still...I am waiting on that evidence (google all you want...you won't find it) Another display of logic on your part or fact twisting - I'm confused? LOL!!!
                      3. You present Graham Poll's findings to back up your claims that both penalty calls were valid - Poll said the first was and that Wellbeck fooled Webb on the second, then you add this nonsense about Cahill admitting that there was no penalty despite your partisan stupidness in prior posts and then introducing the even more ridiculous claim of a red card. Even here, you can't even accept the evidence that YOU are introducing. This one takes the cake!!!

And then you want call big man "petty" and infer seh dem not "logical". Are you drinking Jangle-Juice? A joke business diss? Come betta dan dat.

PM.

Mi glad yuh carry up the racism thing again. Mi notice you a refer to Evra as 'angel' in a sarcastic manner and X a rejoice because he got carded. It is clear unuh have up the youth because he decided to speak up about the abuse he encountered.

Unuh need fi cut it out. The same way it was wrong when Eto encountered it in Spain and Italy ...IT IS WRONG WHEN A PLAYER FROM THE TEAM YUH SUPPORT DO IT. Unuh need fi cut it out bredren.

To your 3rd point ... if we can call it that. If I'm that partisan I could have cut and pasted just the points agreeing with my position. I presented the man's complete article. You might have done differently .... thats you.

PM ... stop trying to twist my words. Cahill said he was lucky. What was he talking about then? Know what .... better yuh give it a rest because unuh refuse to admit that unuh wrong.

Lazie, which part of Bellevue yu deh? How comes dem don' have you inna one a dem white jacket, or is voice recognition yu a use fi type? You presented evidence from a ref that shows the game should have ended 3-2 for Chelsea. Do you realize that? :scratch-head:

Obviously yuh cyaan count!

9 minutes: Webb was perfectly placed to see Jose Bosingwa pull Ashley Young's shirt but would have been put off as Young fell forwards instead of back in the direction of the tug.

Penalty for MU. 1-0.

11 minutes: From a perfectly good position it looked like Gary Cahill nicked the ball away from Danny Welbeck, who then fell over the defender's leg. However, replays showed Welbeck knocked the ball away and Cahill fouled him. But as contact was outside the area, it was not a penalty, and as the ball was going away from goal there was no red card for denial of a goalscoring opportunity, either.

Okay ... foul outside the box. Last defender preventing a goalscoring chance ... red card and down 0-1.

They'd have to pull either Sturridge ot MAlouda ...but lets say by some miracle ...Chelsea did go up 3-1 with 10 men.

56 minutes: At last a routine decision as Daniel Sturridge clearly kicked Patrice Evra's foot and United got a penalty.

3-2.

Add to that the Hernandez header. 3-3.

As mi say when it comes to MU ... you lack objectivity.

Mi glad yuh carry up the racism thing again. Mi notice you a refer to Evra as 'angel' in a sarcastic manner and X a rejoice because he got carded. It is clear unuh have up the youth because he decided to speak up about the abuse he encountered.

Unuh need fi cut it out. The same way it was wrong when Eto encountered it in Spain and Italy ...IT IS WRONG WHEN A PLAYER FROM THE TEAM YUH SUPPORT DO IT. Unuh need fi cut it out bredren.

To your 3rd point ... if we can call it that. If I'm that partisan I could have cut and pasted just the points agreeing with my position. I presented the man's complete article. You might have done differently .... thats you.

PM ... stop trying to twist my words. Cahill said he was lucky. What was he talking about then? Know what .... better yuh give it a rest because unuh refuse to admit that unuh wrong.
                          Lazie - have you ever been called a racist? Have you ever been racially abused? I have been dealt both cards unjustly. So let's just leave it to say that I have some experience on both sides of this matter. My defense of JT is as adamant as it is of Suarez and believe it or not as adamant as it would have been of your manager. Somethings are bigger than football. Racism is one of them.

As for Evra - where does calling him an "angel" refer to the Suarez incident? You fail to realize that Evra is a contentious individual even before that - just go back to France 2010 and you have enough there. Not logical and highly speculative...but more importantly, wrong!! The Suarez incident didn't even enter my mind on that one...but of course, you can read my mind can't you?

And where are we wrong? You claim both calls were penalties and introduce evidence of being half right. I think you are the one that needs to admit that you were wrong. Weren't you? Based on this report by Poll, Chelsea should have won the game 3-2 which is what everyone is saying...except you of course. But then again, why should we expect you to apply the rules you're expecting of us to yourself? Silly me.

Obviously yuh cyaan count!

Penalty for MU. 1-0.

Okay ... foul outside the box. Last defender preventing a goalscoring chance ... red card and down 0-1.

They'd have to pull either Sturridge ot MAlouda ...but lets say by some miracle ...Chelsea did go up 3-1 with 10 men.

3-2.

Add to that the Hernandez header. 3-3.

As mi say when it comes to MU ... you lack objectivity.
                            Okay - I accept that based on Poll's decision making it would have been 3-3 if you agree with him on the Ashley Young dive. Note that I was only looking for you proving both penalty calls were valid, which this article disproved. Introducing the Ashley Young call was never part of your prior discussions as I can remember. So Poll give you a likkle lifeline.

However, where do you get off that Cahill's foul would have been a red card? Wellbeck was moving away from the semi circle, the line of the ball would have meant he would have had to pick it up about six yards off the touchline at least 10 yards beyond the top corner of the six yard box AND Luiz was closing in...Luiz only stopped when the player went to ground. Far from a red card incident, but then again, when you are a manu** fan, these are the blinders with which you see the world, so I can understand it.

Lastly, the Ashley Young call on Poll's part is ridiculous as well. I will give him the Evra call, agree with him on Ivanovic call and totally disagree with him on Ashley Young...3-2 by my count.

Anyway, when are you going to realize that your team always gets results through controversy? Take the beam out of your eye.

Jangle Juice ...my laaawd easy wid im nuh boss, yuh nuh see is a Manuite dem nuh too bright.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.