How serious are we about our football?

• How serious are we about our football?

How long were we aware that we were to play in this round? What were the preparation games U20 team played?

To date, the Under-20s have been playing a series of local clubs as part of their preparations. They played Tafari Lions twice - winning 5-0 and drawing 1-1; they beat Seba 4-1, Waterhouse 3-1 and lost 1-0 and 3-2 to Reno and Village respectively.
    Was this written by Chris Rock or Eddie Murphy?

Then again, if this U20 team can beat teams like Waterhouse and Seba, what the hell does that say about our football?

Karl and him followers can gwaan fool demselves about abundance of talent ... Ras Shatta can gwaan believe the myth about 25 Freddy. How I see it our football in reverse.

RE: How serious are we about our football?

Lazie (2/26/2007)

Karl and him followers can gwaan fool demselves about abundance of talent ... Ras Shatta can gwaan believe the myth about 25 Freddy. How I see it our football in reverse.
    Karl also talks about the lack of meaningful preparation by the U-20. Anything to say about that?

Should they have played more NPL teams or should they have tried to get 2 or 3 games against a USA U-20 and a Panama U-20? What do you think?

Is what yuh a talk bout Lazie? Mind yuh mek Mosiah haffi reach fi him blood pressure pills.:hehe:

The quality of coaching has been mentioned before andit will continue to be our achilles heel, until we get competent and certified coaches.

I waan fi see the JFF give Fitzroy Simpson a call, and bring him into the program, and mi hear sayhe recently earned a coaching certificate, and he has many years of working in a professional football environment.

Continuously playing a group of people with the same style and approach to the game as you (U-20) do sub-optimizes your preparation.

Granted, playing one, two orthreegames as a national unit wouldn't necessarily embedd the qualities that we were missing but it certainly would go along way in exposing us to different styles if we had manage to tackle other central american teams and/or the US prior to the tournament.

Whether those teams were willing and availalbe is a different manner.

we knew this before they played in the tournament. in fact it was commented on how the u20's did not get in any good practic games although their tournament was more imminent that the u17's who have acquitted themselves creditably but in the feeding frenzy no-one seems to remember.

maybe weatherly is out of his depth, but it was always a bad move NOT to have quality prep matches and we really should not have needed this result to come to that conclusion.

before anybody jump up and down and misconstrue this as defense of the u 20 debacle, please disabuse yourself of that thought, their plight is as a result of a series of poor decisions, if we're going to take part we should be adequately prepared!

over 2 matches the "senior" team was "lucky" in hong kong, whilst luck is needed...some people on here in similar circumstances about other teams would say there is no such thing as "luck" or that "you make your own luck" or even ..."the harder i work, the luckier i get"...

there is however some measure of consistency on some parts though.

Forget about npl teams. There were 4 teams in the other group.

lazie...25 freddy's without proper preparation amd guidance = the same thing as no freddy!

But does that mean that freddy, all 25 of them, don't exist?

You may be right .. but then again, most of these players have no skill. The concept of one touch football haven't reached most of the players, with the exception of the indian fellow. There are certain things that should be instintive, well, these players, some of who play for NPL teams just have no clue.

yes yes blame boxhill fuh everything man lol ....

Where Mosiah? This U20 don't give the impression that they exist. There is a Central defender that runs like the general Tatty Brown, but the one time he had to make a telling tackle, he went to ground without coming close to winning the ball. Forunately for him the striker missed the sitter.

Maybe there is a severe misunderstanding on this forum when it comes to the definition of talent. Lets look at Arsenal, any player that is signed must be able to play in the first team. I wonder if Wenger would agree that we have an abundance of talent much less 25 Freddy?

Gamma (2/26/2007)we knew this before they played in the tournament. in fact it was commented on how the u20's did not get in any good practic games although their tournament was more imminent that the u17's who have acquitted themselves creditably but in the feeding frenzy no-one seems to remember.

maybe weatherly is out of his depth, but it was always a bad move NOT to have quality prep matches and we really should not have needed this result to come to that conclusion.

before anybody jump up and down and misconstrue this as defense of the u 20 debacle, please disabuse yourself of that thought, their plight is as a result of a series of poor decisions, if we're going to take part we should be adequately prepared!

over 2 matches the "senior" team was "lucky" in hong kong, whilst luck is needed...some people on here in similar circumstances about other teams would say there is no such thing as "luck" or that "you make your own luck" or even ..."the harder i work, the luckier i get"...

there is however some measure of consistency on some parts though.
                        Thanks for this, gamma. I thought it was universally accepted that our teams must have quality opposition as part of their preparation. Why are some of us now taking out our disappointment on Dean Weatherly? All our successful coaches have had good support in the form of quality friendlies, while our failed coaches haven't. Coincidence?!?

We gave our U-17s 2 matches with Mexico. Is that enuff? What if we don't qualify? What will we say then?

I have no problem saying that someone has failed, but first we need to give them as much as we can to succeed.

Naminirt! The TTFF should fix their house and stop T&T's poor results since 2007 rolled in.

Now for all the forumites who keep blaming the U-20's poor performance because of the warm-up games against local teams and clubs then put the blame where it truly belongs: the JFF. Here's the simple reason which I've posted more than once and will continue to do so until all gets it.

The U-20 Reggae Boyz knocked T&T out in the playoffs and with six weeks before the final round qualifiers in Mexico Coach Weatherly outlined a clear plan to take the players to Munro for the six weeks to train-schooling included-and get as many warm-up games as possible including 2 or 3 international friendlies with Central American teams and possibly Canada.I guess you can all assume what happened in the meeting between Coach Weatherly and the JFF as the results tell.