No Understanding here

Where is the antagonistic relationship in/of leveraging high schools and implementing best practice?

Best practice = very best academy for each sphere of activity!!!!
    Leveraging = very best academy for each sphere of activity!!!!

Why the nonsense about doing best teaching in(side) and not doing best teaching out(side) of that which some mistakenly believe is "the classroom"?

The truth is best teaching practises must take place in the 'total classroom'!!! ...i.e. inside buildings and outside (for example/one outside example - on the playfields).
    I guess some just do not get the potential of football if they do not understand the concept of football development and have not been involved in actual development themselves. Easy to chat at anything out there just to share empty words. This will always be a loosing cause for this discussion. Anyway it will more than likely not happen in the schools and the JFF as they do not understand academy development through football development of young players and coaching development of these coaches to develop this age player. They do not have the money either and what money they do have it goes to the senior program. This is all not an easy thing for any organization. It will just have to happen in the private sector.

sorry

We have adequate players but I agree we could do with the 3 or so more you indicate ...no wholesale UB40 importation please

The coach isn't the point of weakness...the JFF is
      my friend, I have to disagree with you on this one...Jamaica will achieve donkey ******** with this current set of players. Do you honestly believe that a squad that consist of Ried, Taylor, Thomas, Phillips, Morrison, Austin,Vernan, Richards, Shelton & Johnson can get us to the world cup?

Those guys that left Jamaica's RSPL to play in the MLS and Scandinavians leagues nuh know nutten bout ball yet...Except Phillips...A dat unnuh fi know..

Right now we need at least 8 more new player in addition to Bean, Smith and Elliot and out of those 8 we need at least 4 solid defenders and I am not talking about overlapping defender crap...We need defenders who know that their job is to defend...

Jamaica is in for a shock if we think that we don't need a "wholesale of UB40 importation".

BTW, I take offence to that term. We are all Jamaican. Until we stop segregating ourselves with this UB40 crap, we won't reach anywhere. As per our constitution, a man is Jamaican as long as one of his grandparent is Jamaican...Period....

Yardie nuh respect Diaspora and Diaspora nuh respect UB40..

Suh wi stay.. das why wi cyaan progress..

It is your prerogative to disagree...and also your prerogative to wish for the ridiculous band aid of English players completely filling the Jamaican national team

That backward viewpoint is prevalent in some quarters
          Last edited by Don1; February 6, 2012, 09:52 PM.

Quality Training

It is your prerogative to disagree...and also your prerogative to wish for the ridiculous band aid of English players completely filling the Jamaican national team

That backward viewpoint is prevalent in some quarters
            What is needed and what has been missing for many years is a commitment on the part of your federation to create players (youth through senior), provide training sessions that prepare them properly (I've seen a few???) and provide the right international coaching staff that have the ability to come along side others to develop your players. This is not happening regardless of what you or other think. If you've seen the training sessions and preparation (and you must to make comments as many of you do) they are not relavant to today's international game, so how do expect player development to take place. If players are to play internationally they need to be trained to that standard, i.e. tactics, speed of play, closing down the opposing teams attack, know how to place players in position that they best fit and more. The present level of coaching in Jamaica league is not of any standard except for Jamaica and will not produce higher level players. Standards of coaching are very antiquated (have you seen their methods used in session?). This fact must be addressed by the Federation as well. We sit here and watch, listen and wonder will the above ever take place. Once someone there get a system of development in place (and I mean a real system) in time things will happen where praise will be echoed rather than criticism. Keep seeking and you'll be finding.

wi can always hope for 11 Tappa to appear pon di scene...

On a side note..I don't think people realize how special dis breddah was.. maybe dem can appreciate more after reading your analysis..

Imagine if him di bawn into structcha !

Zidane woulda fraid ah him.. (fraidah)

Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
                If a team is prepared tactically at this level things do happen for a greater purpose. I believe the for the most part the players are there (maybe 2-3 more needed) but they need to know how to make adjustment in matches such as the one stated. This is done through training sessions. It takes time to do this as well and it takes coaches (whether Tappa or the Brazilian) to know about the game that is played around the world not just a local one. It takes a commitment on the part of the JFF to create training times to do this. It's not an over night thing, but a commitment on the part of the players leadership and the actual knowledge of being able to coach what will happen at this level of play today not 5-10 years ago. Who are our opponents and how do they play, how do we attack with variations on them, how do we close the opposition system down, attacking and defending set-pieces, creating space of throw ins, leadership on the field, who has the final say about tactics, playing very fast in attach and more.

Paul while you make a lot of sense here, you have me confused with your contradictory statement below:

Give him a break
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Karl
                HL?
                ...I wonder was Tappa once in a professional environment; with all the available tools...?

...and why would those UB-40s be unable to carry out his instructions? ...you are not suggesting we are inviting UB-40s who are incapable of comprehending Tappa's instructions and following same?

Tappa a good enough for the present JFF and the level of players they have and will bring in. Show the guys some respect. He is doing his best in the enviroment he has to work form. Give it time.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Tappa is the exception to the rule... Genius yuh call dat..

I agree with this...and I'm also puzzled as whether this post was meant for me

To distill: The failure and the responsibility to improve is with the JFF...not any national coach or Band Aid English league journeymen

Tappa is NOT given the resources to take us to the next level...not near the support Simoes got...Simoes was able to paper over the cracks with numerous & extensive foreign trips with his teams ...sustained over several years. That made the team cohesive and competitive.

Dem gi Tappa basket fi carry wata...den kall fi im head..or for the English crutch. At this rate we will be repeating the same nonsense far into the future...and then have the myopic calling for Englishmen...rather than demanding player development at home.

Joke ting