Right?

King J. I am mildly surprised that you took so long to attach yourself to this thread. But, better late than never.

I made it a point of repeating that I have nothing against Tappa. I like Tappa. I admire tappa. I cherish a picture i took with him while he played for Livingston in the SPL:

It's make no sense trying to convince you why I think Tappa has achieved the Peter Principle.

The beauty of this forum is that I fully respect your opinion...and i know that you respect mine.

OH, BTW King Jawge, this morning while getting ready for work, i was thinking that Coach Bradley should hand in his resignation in Egypt. He should take over the Reggae BoyZ.

Hope you are doing well.
    I know you must be joking about Bradley!!! Right?

He would not come either. You have coaches like Tappa and then you have the Brazilians forever until the JFF is vote out or thinks differently. All this is fine, but the type of money doesn't exist to bring in international coaches who can do it and beside Bradley never smile and Jamaican players need someone to break the ice when the tension is high. The USA could not take it any longer. One must need a personality to coach senior prayers.

If Tappa could be faulted for the US loss...it would be not being able to have the players not believe the US would be a 'push over'. The players were not as disciplined as in the earlier matches.

...TEAM work effort fell. Organisation slumped because of over confidence - not enough effort paid to 'keeping shape'.

Tappa may have not recognised that some amount of 'over-inflated' belief in abilities would creep in. The ReggaeBoyz i.e. the players, were fooled into believing that individually and as TEAM they were the USA equals. As a result they moved from the attention to details needed to maintain shape and provide maximum TEAM effort.

Maybe Tappa should have given pre-match pep talk on need to 'keep selves grounded'...and the need to stick to simple playing hearts out for each other...stick to making the simple safe passes and creating and taking 'the simple TEAM goals'?

...who knows Tappa may have given such talks...but over-confidence is a hellava ting...makes otherwise sensible players go running around on 'ego-trips'! The R'Boyz had worse Gold Cup TEAM game against the US.

Seriously KARL, eff you believe that we lost that game coz of "over confidence" then its sad on your part. I would tell you that we were disorganized simply because the USA, put pressure on us when we had the ball, and we tun fool !!!! Unlike the previous games, we met a team that came to us and not back off and allow us to "pass around in slow motion". They shut down the space and suddendly we couldn't mek 3 good passes, cause our minds were not trained that way. You often times talk of "speed of mind"..This team lacks that quality. We have "fast over ground", but not in thinking and reaction.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
        Come on Dunny. You saw how unimpressive the team looked in the Gold cup. Never mind getting out of the first round. The team looked mediocre to me, and I saw them live.
        But...wasn't that the team people were comparing to Barca?!?!?

Wenger Bench Ramsey wow

I was calling for this youth to be bench since the season started as a midfielder
          I haven't seen him make any quality passes. His assist ratio is also atrocious.
          Long time bench should have come.
          "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

No, that's not it. I think you should watch the game (over) with El Salvador and Honduras. My point on speed would become clear then. The US game the Rboyz were pressed more in the middle the lack of a skillful creative midfielder hurt them there. They also failed to convert clear half chances.

HL , I'm a busy person . Even if my computer is on the site it doesn't mean that it's I that's viewing ok.

I'm tired of going over this with you. JA in the past got some decent coaches. Prof.Simoes, Laza, Bora et al. Ja basically remains in the same position. If Capello came it would be the same thing, if Sven came it would be the same, if Big phil came it would be the same. Why? Ja's poor infrastructure in football. Too much emphasis is placed on high school football and this is where Ja draws its national players. Top coaches are then faced with payers deficient in the basics of the game. High school football cannot compete with an academy for football. To add; the local league in Ja is economically lacking and mot organized properly. Therefore they do not have the resources to develop plyers. This forces the JFF to behave as a club (in order to bring players up to INT'L standards) hence they will always be near or in the red.

Let's turn to the US game. The US is a second tier team hence only or mostly half chances will be given. Due to the boyz inability to covert these chances the US gained the upper hand. When Ja have quality players that can convert half chances then you can talk about coach. Tappa at this point in team is dong well, he also has the expertise of Brasilian coaches to draw from (of which I'm pleased). Bradley could not coach in the environment described above.

But...wasn't that the team people were comparing to Barca?!?!?
                Barcamaica, baby!

HL , I'm a busy person . Even if my computer is on the site it doesn't mean that it's I that's viewing ok.

I'm tired of going over this with you. JA in the past got some decent coaches. Prof.Simoes, Laza, Bora et al. Ja basically remains in the same position. If Capello came it would be the same thing, if Sven came it would be the same, if Big phil came it would be the same. Why? Ja's poor infrastructure in football. Too much emphasis is placed on high school football and this is where Ja draws its national players. Top coaches are then faced with payers deficient in the basics of the game. High school football cannot compete with an academy for football. To add; the local league in Ja is economically lacking and mot organized properly. Therefore they do not have the resources to develop plyers. This forces the JFF to behave as a club (in order to bring players up to INT'L standards) hence they will always be near or in the red.

Let's turn to the US game. The US is a second tier team hence only or mostly half chances will be given. Due to the boyz inability to covert these chances the US gained the upper hand. When Ja have quality players that can convert half chances then you can talk about coach. Tappa at this point in team is dong well, he also has the expertise of Brasilian coaches to draw from (of which I'm pleased). Bradley could not coach in the environment described above.
                  Wrong on concept that high school football per se is to blame. It is the teaching at the clubs, parish, high schools and lower levels that is the problem.

Fact is, the high schools have all the physical structures to be GREAT academies. Brush up on the administrators & teachers and our talent will transition into world beaters.

It is crazy to think that a football mad country such as ours can underutilize the enormous investment in infrastructure and maximize on potential. Our schools are our academies. They are the academies for, cricket, track and field and numerous other disciplines. We need to stop the nonsense of turning our backs on what we currently have and work to maximize on its presence.

...in all fairness what other 'organisation' outside of our schools reaches into every nook and cranny of the island that gives all our people a step up on/a gateway to the road to progress?

It's in the Training Preparation

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                    Seriously KARL, eff you believe that we lost that game coz of "over confidence" then its sad on your part. I would tell you that we were disorganized simply because the USA, put pressure on us when we had the ball, and we tun fool !!!! Unlike the previous games, we met a team that came to us and not back off and allow us to "pass around in slow motion". They shut down the space and suddendly we couldn't mek 3 good passes, cause our minds were not trained that way. You often times talk of "speed of mind"..This team lacks that quality. We have "fast over ground", but not in thinking and reaction.
                    If a team is prepared tactically at this level things do happen for a greater purpose. I believe the for the most part the players are there (maybe 2-3 more needed) but they need to know how to make adjustment in matches such as the one stated. This is done through training sessions. It takes time to do this as well and it takes coaches (whether Tappa or the Brazilian) to know about the game that is played around the world not just a local one. It takes a commitment on the part of the JFF to create training times to do this. It's not an over night thing, but a commitment on the part of the players leadership and the actual knowledge of being able to coach what will happen at this level of play today not 5-10 years ago. Who are our opponents and how do they play, how do we attack with variations on them, how do we close the opposition system down, attacking and defending set-pieces, creating space of throw ins, leadership on the field, who has the final say about tactics, playing very fast in attach and more.

Correct

Wrong on concept that high school football per se is to blame. It is the teaching at the clubs, parish, high schools and lower levels that is the problem.

Fact is, the high schools have all the physical structures to be GREAT academies. Brush up on the administrators & teachers and our talent will transition into world beaters.

It is crazy to think that a football mad country such as ours can underutilize the enormous investment in infrastructure and maximize on potential. Our schools are our academies. They are the academies for, cricket, track and field and numerous other disciplines. We need to stop the nonsense of turning our backs on what we currently have and work to maximize on its presence.

...in all fairness what other 'organisation' outside of our schools reaches into every nook and cranny of the island that gives all our people a step up on/a gateway to the road to progress?
                      This is possible, but you need coaches/leaders/administrators who can do football in this type of an academy setting who have an understanding of what "An Academy" looks like, how to operate it and the ability of the staff to coach in a youth development environment. The present level of coaching education is not allowing this to happen. One who can afford those prices of the courses can attend and what is their plan in football education development (publicly) that allows for an academy concept to develop and not based on the present football in Jamaica but academies are operated around the world. A high and club could partner together could partner together to make it happen. A community based development program for ages 6-11 is needed and then players are developed for local clubs and schools at the next age level 12-19. If it happen the senior club team would one day better than it is and the national team would be better.

ah wheh di.. !?

wheh people build high school fah..?

if wi still stuck on dis concept of trying to leverage high school instead of implementing best practice.. well.. wi nuh reach nuhwhey.. spinning wheels.

Bettah yuh seh wi cyaan duh nuh bettah suh wi try di next to next to next best ting..

Jamaica lost to the USA because they are a much better team with better players, it is as simple as that and we will continue to play second fiddle to the likes of Mexico and the USA until we start selecting quality players.
                          Tappa has done a good job since taking over the reigns from John Barnes and should be given the chance to guide us to the 2014 world cup.

ah wheh di.. !?

wheh people build high school fah..?

if wi still stuck on dis concept of trying to leverage high school instead of implementing best practice.. well.. wi nuh reach nuhwhey.. spinning wheels.

Bettah yuh seh wi cyaan duh nuh bettah suh wi try di next to next to next best ting..
                            Where is the antagonistic relationship in/of leveraging high schools and implementing best practice?

Best practice = very best academy for each sphere of activity!!!!
                            Leveraging = very best academy for each sphere of activity!!!!

Why the nonsense about doing best teaching in(side) and not doing best teaching out(side) of that which some mistakenly believe is "the classroom"?

The truth is best teaching practises must take place in the 'total classroom'!!! ...i.e. inside buildings and outside (for example/one outside example - on the playfields).

yuh evah hear bout a crutch ?

some people never leggo di crutch.. eventually dem muscle atrophy and dead...

Precisely... which means the coaching & training you suggest PLUS NUFF quality games.... not waiting for FIFA dates. Simoes had us playing about 100+ games over a few years I'm sure...nuff club teams in Brazil etc. We have adequate players but I agree we could do with the 3 or so more you indicate ...no wholesale UB40 importation please

The coach isn't the point of weakness...the JFF is