Has Panama surpassed Jamaica as a football nation?

• Has Panama surpassed Jamaica as a football nation?

Just looking at some recent facts:

- Panama reached the Hexagonal stage of the last World Cup qualifying campaign. Jamaica didn't.

- Panama just qualified for the next U-20 World Cup. Jamaica didn't.

Any thoughts?

RE: Has Panama surpassed Jamaica as a football nation?

Zeppo (2/25/2007)Just looking at some recent facts:

- Panama reached the Hexagonal stage of the last World Cup qualifying campaign. Jamaica didn't.

Any thoughts?
    Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala etc are all "traditional" soccer nations in Central america. All, have failed to make world cups or the Hexagonal in recent times (Guatemala made the Hex last time...but they are yet to qualify for a world cup at any level). Perhaps its more fair to compare Panama with its sister countries before starting to do so with its "cousin" Jamaica.

Problem with Jamaica's football is lack of proper football administration....lack of momentum.
    We have the athletes to compete with any nation in CONCACAF...but there is a terrible disconnect womewhere along the line.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Any thoughts?
      Panama has had better results on the international scene. It should also be remembered that recently inhead to head playPanama has gotten the better of us.

Any thoughts?
        Yes. Next question?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Panama has not surpassed Jamaica but are ahead of us.Resultsin 8 meeting between the two nations are as follows:

JamaicaW 1 L 4 D 3Panama W 4 L 1 D 3

Big up yuhself Tilla. Very few have the balls to keep it real.

Reggae-Fan (2/25/2007)

Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala etc are all "traditional" soccer nations in Central america. All, have failed to make world cups or the Hexagonal in recent times (Guatemala made the Hex last time...but they are yet to qualify for a world cup at any level). Perhaps its more fair to compare Panama with its sister countries before starting to do so with its "cousin" Jamaica.

Well if you want to compare them only to Central American countries there is one important fact to consider:

Soccer in Panama is not even the top sport. It is first and foremost a baseball country. (I believe the only other country in that region with that same situation is Nicaragua)

That makes their recent accomplishments even more impressive when you take that into account.

Panama has made the last three U20 WC finals,results dictates progress, you decide.
                Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                Mitty

So should we say T&F is our sport? What is your point?

Some people will pull a rabbit out of a hat in order to deny reality. Duh yuh thing Karl. On top of that, tell him that shooting is a more popular sport than football.

I forgot to mention in the initial post of this thread that Panama also reached the final of the Gold Cup in 2005, where they lost to the USA on penalty kicks.

Anyway, judging from what I´ve seen of Panama over the last few years, I would also say that the overall technical level of their team is higher that that of Jamaica. By that I mean: better ball control, cleaner first touch, sharper passing, etc.

However, Jamaica currently has more players getting experience in Europe, and has that going in their favor.

Lazie (2/25/2007)Some people will pull a rabbit out of a hat in order to deny reality.
                        Including one Lazie!

Lazie is a realist. I have no problem calling a spade a spade. Unuh can gwaan fool unuhselves about abundance of talent and 25 Freddy. St. Kitt's population is what? 42000+? I doubt dem bragging bout abundance of talent.

According to FIFA, Surprise packages and star men
                          One team to leave Mexican soil with their reputations thoroughly enhanced were St. Kitts and Nevis, virtual unknowns before the tournament began. Boasting a population of just 40,000 inhabitants, this tiny Caribbean nation shook the region's footballing heavyweights and gave the fans back home plenty to be proud of. Having travelled to Culiacan thanks to the generous financial support of their dedicated supporters, the islanders' efforts swiftly won over the home crowd, culminating in emotional scenes after their 1-1 draw with Jamaica in their final Group B clash.

Lazie (2/26/2007)Lazie is a realist. I have no problem calling a spade a spade. Unuh can gwaan fool unuhselves about abundance of talent and 25 Freddy. St. Kitt's population is what? 42000+? I doubt dem bragging bout abundance of talent.

According to FIFA, Surprise packages and star men
                            One team to leave Mexican soil with their reputations thoroughly enhanced were St. Kitts and Nevis, virtual unknowns before the tournament began. Boasting a population of just 40,000 inhabitants, this tiny Caribbean nation shook the region's footballing heavyweights and gave the fans back home plenty to be proud of. Having travelled to Culiacan thanks to the generous financial support of their dedicated supporters, the islanders' efforts swiftly won over the home crowd, culminating in emotional scenes after their 1-1 draw with Jamaica in their final Group B clash.
                            So you are saying by coming last we have proved to you we have no talent?

You do know that a YES answer is NONSENSE!

Put your rabbit out of the hat now?

Who said anything about coming last? Unuh have a comprehension problem? Karl, with the exception of the indian youth the rest of them ordinary. Passing seems to be hard fi them, shooting ... other than the goal, the best shot was our last shot of yesterday's game.

Put it this way, if a dis yah bunch a players we expect fi carry we guh a world cup in a few year's time we corner dark. But nuh worry, gwaan fool unuhselves bout abundance of talent. Unuh will most certainly get more followers.