New Liverpool kit deal could provide enough financial clout

• New Liverpool kit deal could provide enough financial clout

New Liverpool kit deal could provide enough financial clout to compete with European elite

By DOMINIC KING

Last updated at 11:47 PM on 19th January 2012

Deal: Liverpool chiefs John Henry (left) and Tom Werner (right)

Liverpool believe their new record-breaking kit deal will give them the financial muscle to once again battle with Europe’s superpowers for the game’s best players.
    The Anfield club have signed a six-year contract with American firm Warrior that will guarantee them £25million per season, as it is not performance related. It is worth double what they were being paid by adidas.
    But the make-up of the deal, which begins on June 1, has given Liverpool the scope to earn up to £300million as they are now in charge of all non-branded merchandising, which adidas currently control.
    Liverpool also now have the option of setting up official club merchandise stores in countries such as Norway and the Far East, where they enjoy huge support. Most significantly, it will allow them to bank all revenue they generate themselves.
    Managing Director Ian Ayre is adamant Liverpool can now sit comfortably alongside Real Madrid, Barcelona and Manchester United as he feels it has endorsed their brand.
    Ayre said: ‘In our existing deal, there have been some restrictions in terms of the other unbranded products we sell. In our new deal, we have complete control.
    ‘The new deal represents half of what we currently generate, so we still have another opportunity to develop similar kind of revenues – that’s what encouraged us (to sign with Warrior).

Possible: With the right investment could captain Steven Gerrard finally get his hands on the Premier League trophy?

‘This is their first foray into football. We are their only customer and they will be very focused on Liverpool and promoting the opportunity worldwide. Having a partner who has an equal ambition is a good way to go.’
    Liverpool’s association with adidas dated back to 1985. The Germans manufactured all their kits until the end of 1996 when Reebok took over but had been ever present since returning in 2006.
    The split between the two has been acrimonious, though. Adidas Chief Executive Herbert Hainer accused Liverpool earlier this week of failing to deliver results and accused them of having an over-inflated sense of their own worth.
    But Ayre said: ‘We shared all the numbers with everybody we spoke to. I don’t think it would surprise anyone to know Liverpool are one of the biggest merchandising businesses in football.
    ‘We wouldn’t have had so many people interested if we didn’t have a great business. I’m happy that we delivered absolute value for adidas.’
    Liverpool manager Kenny Dalglish added: ‘Adidas might be a little disappointed that we have moved on but then adidas got into the club in the same way that Warrior have – through a fit and proper commercial discussion.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1jxBvFHZ3

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

.... so Addidas walked away? I read earlier this week where they took the position that .... how can i say it ... Liverpool a waste of time .... yeah thats close.

When the fox cant get the grapes im say it sour.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

.... so Addidas walked away? I read earlier this week where they took the position that .... how can i say it ... Liverpool a waste of time .... yeah thats close.
        Adidas walked because "money talks" and "bullsh*t walks". Nothing more, nothing less. To wit: "Adidas Chief Executive Herbert Hainer accused Liverpool...of having an over-inflated sense of their own worth." Actually, "Herbie", something's only worth what someone's willing to pay for it. If Warrior was willing to pay 2x what you were, then that's not "over inflated", it's market value. And don't let the door hit you on your way out!!!

Liverpool’s Performance Didn’t Earn Apparel Deal Renewal, Adidas CEO Says

Adidas AG (ADS) declined to renew its apparel deal with Liverpool because the price was too high given the 18-time English soccer champion’s poor performance, the chief executive officer of the world’s second-biggest sporting goods maker said.
          Liverpool, which is also a five-time European champion, has replaced Adidas with a club record, 6-year, 25 million pound ($38.3 million) contract with Warrior Sports, a subsidiary of New Balance Athletic Shoe Inc. The accord, Warrior’s first major soccer contract, begins next season and is worth almost double the current agreement with Adidas.
          Liverpool has struggled to recapture glories that made it England’s dominant team during the 1970s and 80s. It hasn’t won a league championship since 1990 and last season was overtaken by Manchester United as the holder of the most titles. Liverpool didn’t make the Champions League, Europe’s top club competition, this season and is seventh in the Premier League, 13 points behind leader Manchester City.
          “The gap between their performance on the field and what the number should be is not in balance,” Adidas CEO Herbert Hainer said in an interview in Munich yesterday. “Then we said, ‘Okay we will not do it. That’s the end of the story.’” Liverpool didn’t respond.
          The team’s lack of success hasn’t stopped it signing other commercial agreements. London-based bank Standard Chartered (STAN) is paying a record 81.5 million pounds to have its logo displayed on its jerseys for four years and the team’s sales department has also signed new sponsors like Turkish tourism.
          Benefits?
          The contract with Warrior may benefit the team further because it allows Liverpool to retain control over all merchandise not related to the clothing the team wears, something that it had ceded to Adidas. Still, it will no longer be able to rely on the company’s vast global supply chain.
          “It all depends on the success and the effort and the popularity, the exposure on TV, revenue you can generate by merchandising,” Hainer said. “This all has to be brought in line between what you offer and what you get. We thought their asking and the delivering is not in the right balance.”
          Adidas faces a big year ahead as the main partner to the two biggest sports events taking place: soccer’s European Championship and the London Olympic Games.
          Hainer said from a commercial point of view the soccer event will be a bigger boost, while the Olympics is the biggest platform the company has to show its commitment to sports. The company enjoyed record 1.5 billion euro ($1.9 billion) in sales in 2010 because of the soccer World Cup in South Africa. The CEO said it will do even better this year.
          “We will definitely beat the 1.5 billion euro revenue target in 2012: there’s no doubt for me,” said Hainer.

No name brand for No Name team.....

"“The gap between their performance on the field and what the number should be is not in balance,” Adidas CEO Herbert Hainer said in an interview in Munich yesterday. “

While I agree the performance on the field is not up to snuff, Liverpool's fan base continues to grow. I would argue that the fan base is more important than anything else. What Adidas (and other kit suppliers) have to be quaking in their boots about is the precedent that this will set, especially with non-kit branded merchandise. Everyone will now put pressure on them to cede part of it or some of it. I fully expect another club to come along shortly to announce a deal that is similar in form to Liverpool's with Warrior. This deal may just have changed the merchandising game. Unu can t'ank we later.

OJ, all of a sudden yuh know bout a brand name "Warrior", don't it? don't fool yuhselh...next time yu walk into Eaton centre or wherever you shop yu gwoin look fi "Warrior" or ask if dem carry it... and den yu gwoin raise yu eyebrow if de shopkeeper seh "no"... and den yu gwoin seh " big store like dis nuh carry Warrior?"... an den de nex week when yuh guh back...guess wha yuh gwoin see pon de rack...
                don underestimate the power of what you disrespectfully (is ok, no offence taken ) call a no name brand... LIVERPOOL FC !

OJ, all of a sudden yuh know bout a brand name "Warrior", don't it? don't fool yuhselh...next time yu walk into Eaton centre or wherever you shop yu gwoin look fi "Warrior" or ask if dem carry it... and den yu gwoin raise yu eyebrow if de shopkeeper seh "no"... and den yu gwoin seh " big store like dis nuh carry Warrior?"... an den de nex week when yuh guh back...guess wha yuh gwoin see pon de rack...
                  don underestimate the power of what you disrespectfully (is ok, no offence taken ) call a no name brand... LIVERPOOL FC !
                  LOL!!! Tell him fi mi!! Facetiness!!