Marlon King makes a fool of himself ..

• Marlon King makes a fool of himself ..

<P class=big>When Delia Smith stunned English football with her deranged 'Let's be having you' rallying cry to Norwich City supporters in February 2005, the embarrassed Canaries reacted by taking their leave of top flight football as soon as possible.<P nd="1">So why, then, did struggling Watford allow striker Marlon King to make a similar impassioned plea to the club's support before their game with Wigan on Wednesday night? The injury-stricken star grabbed the mike at Vicarage Road in a bid to galvanise Hornets fans, and adopted a tried-and-tested technique beloved of kids' entertainers and run-of-the-mill pop acts as he tried to whip the crowd into a frenzy. <P nd="2">The result? Letting a winning position slip to draw 1-1 against struggling opposition who had a man sent off in the first half. The wannabe hype man clearly didn't learn from the storm Delia cooked up with her own rant, and the full version of this embarrassing episode can be perused at your pleasure by clicking below.

King Does A Delia!

RE: Marlon King makes a fool of himself ..

was he sober?

yuh cold!

On FSC the Fox Report showed him a favourable light. He was lauded by a member of the club staff as being a good TEAM man.

From a personal point of view I see good in his trying to rally the crowd support.

Who knows whether or not the club would have had a different result if he had not got the crowd into 'it'?!

... and according to Adrian Boothroyd,

'Marlon thought of it,' Boothroyd said. 'I asked him to speak to the other players before the game, and he told me about his idea.

'It didn't quite turn out as he wanted, because he wanted all the players to be on the pitch at the time.

'But we are bound by the Premier League rules, so it didn't quite happen as he had imagined.

'Marlon wanted to do it. He is still an integral part of what we are trying to do.

'He wanted to contribute. When you are on the sidelines or spending your whole life in the gym, you want to make sure you can do something.

'He got the fans going, because he is that type of person.

'Would I do it again? I will have to have a look at it because I don't want to pay him extra to be a stadium announcer!

'But what separates us from other teams is that we are willing to try things, and that is the case here.

'If it gives us an inch along the way, that is what we will do.'

Yes, if it had gone differently he would lauded as a leader who delivered an inspirational speech that got the lads (and las[dropped the plural to avoid censorship]) going.

Much being made of nothing, in my book. Must have been a slow press day.

GaryD (2/23/2007)Yes, if it had gone differently he would lauded as a leader who delivered an inspirational speech that got the lads (and las[dropped the plural to avoid censorship]) going.

Much being made of nothing, in my book. Must have been a slow press day.
              Yuh seit, tuh?

Isn't it true there is never a guarantee that an inspirational speech givento footballers before a match will result in a win?

I wonder if those killing Marlon thought of the very many possibilities - including i) both teams receiving inspirational speeches; ii) Marlon's team could haveplayed below the level they didif they were not inspired by his speech??????