Our coaches dont have a clue

RE: Our coaches dont have a clue

Absolutely right on in my book. The problems we have seem to be basic and fundamental. Maybe a coach can add some incremental value, but for me the fact is that a lot of these guys are not coming to the national team with the requisite skills necessary to succeed outside of the NPL.

Chalk it up to whatever you (general) want, but at the end of the day, you are spot on about the rot being more significant than simply who coaches.

Guidance

<DIV>Would love to be as confident as you. I just don't see Mexico, with the bulk of the world champion U-17 team, coming thrid in this tourney. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>

Mosiah said "I remember not too long ago when Weatherly was the brightest hope among our coaches". Well Mo the operative words are "amoung our coaches" becausehe is at the back of the class in thistournament.Dont get me wrong I am all about the locals, I thought Jeffrey Max should have gotten another chance before Carl Brown was rehired. I am a patriotic fan as well as a pure soccer lover andI want to see the game played well, especially from my country men. I am harsh on them because I am disappointed, we can do a lot better as a soccer playing nation.Again ,I think after seeing all the teams we will qualify; Mex dont scare me. They are too small and slow even though they aretechnically superior.
        Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
        Mitty

<DIV>True. Not like our coaches are making waves.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Mexico is not slow. Don't for one minute believe they are!</DIV>

I meant the Mexican players are slower and smaller than our players.
            Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
            Mitty

Mosiah (2/22/2007)<DIV>Would that include Bora? Because if you saw the Lunar Cup match against China...</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The Lunar Boyz were hesitant in attack, and for the most part, clueless as well. The one bright spark was the Fabian Taylor/Kavan Bryan combination, that seemed to have a good understanding of each other. And you could credit that to HVFC, perhaps.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>But maybe it just me, who either don't know football, or just hard on our players. Because I spoke to two other people while the match was going on and they thought we didn't look bad. I heard that we "kept our shape" and were "disciplined" particularly in defence. The British commentator also remarked how comfortable we looked on the ball. Sure, in defence, and the careless swagger while coming forward does appear to be confidence. But for the amount of times we easily gave up the ball...sigh.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Well, keeping our shape is what we do. There is no overlapping, no hard running, no supporting of the ball, lest we "lose our shape". What I saw from the Lunar Boyz yesterday was the usual 7/8 passes along the defensive line and when pressured and forced to come forward we would invariably lose it by either passing badly or just giving up the ball easily because we have no idea how to protect it, a combination of poor 1st touch or inability to keep ball away from defender.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Our team was under constant attack by the Chinese who surged forward like an army about to crush a rebel state. They came down the flanks at will and sent over cross after cross. Were it not for some great positioning from our goalkeeper and desperate lunges from our defenders, we would not be talking anything about discipline and shape.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Now some of you will take this as a diss for Bora. Go ahead. What I will say is no coach can transform any team after 9 training sessions, much less 2 or 3. To this day, we refuse to give Carl Brown any credit for that absolutely wonderful team that was assembled for the last WCQ, some attributing their display to Laza who had them for at most 3 training sessions. If Laza was so much of a genius, we would gone to Germany.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, I won't be so quick to diss Dean Weatherly. Quality matches make a difference. Some of us won't believe that unless some white fariner tells us. I thought Dean's side looked better than the Lunar side, not by much, but better. We actually could have scored a goal or two and were threatening on a few more occasions. Yes, the Lunar side also could have scored, but their attacking moves were downright awful for the most part and on a different day, the Chinese would have scored 3 unanswered goals.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>But they didn't. So Bora is king and Dean is a dud.</DIV>
              Did you see the games last night Mosiah? Looking at both teams, I feel Jamaica have if not better, players as good as the Costa Rican team. So tell me why the result enede up 2-0 in Costa Rica's favor? The commentators saw it too..."Jamaica have good players...but they lack organization in the back"..."they lack confidence"...are typical comments.

And how long has Bora been here? He will need perhaps another 2 yearsto get our players ready for international competition...I dont care how good he is.

St. Kitts looked much better than Jamaica last night....I wonder why thats so...better players or better coaching?
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Karl (2/22/2007)

Aside: For the JFF leaders and bricktop

If the teams practise against only poor opponents there are no problems to solve. The nonsense they do against that poor quality will have them 'winning'/succeeding.
                I still do not understand how lack of practise against top competition affects ones ability to control a football or make a tackle standing up. These are football basics and this practise thing is just an excuse to cover up for our shabby youth development.

Mosiah (2/22/2007)<DIV>
                  Mitty (2/22/2007)I am tired of hearing about "Farin white coach",are there any farin black coach with a resume like Bora? Our local coaches are clueless in relation to farin coaches, black or white. Is Lenny Taylor a white man? is team looked better prepared than ours. We have the poorest coaches in the region. We constantly boast about our players speed and athleticism but that has gotten us nowhere. Panama has made the last three U20 WC finals,qualifying before a powerhouse like Costa Rica each time, do they have farin white coaches? Panama is a baseball nation, and Ja has poor coaches.The mistakes our players make are the most basic,we lack the mostincremental phase of the sport,which is protecting and passing the ball. Can good coaching correct these flaws? Weatherly'steam looked unprepared last night, if he is the best we have, we can kiss WC 2010 good bye. Remember concacaf is getting crowded, don't for get, Honduras, T&amp;T, Panama,Costa Rica, and Ja fighting for 11/2 spot.
                  </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Relax and understand my point. The point is simply this, some of us are too quick to cuss our kind when they are not deserving of the cussing, while finding any and every excuse in the book when the hue and the accent get a little different.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>There are enuff examples out there. Keep reading my posts, I will enlighten you of the continued practice.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Did you see the Lunar Cup game? How do you think they performed?</DIV>
                  Mosiah is the most racist individual on these message boards. always quick to fight down a man because of the color of his skin.

As long as we continue to use sub-standrad coaches both at the club and international level, our football will forever be in the state it is.

If we need anorange man or a purple one to fix our football, so be it...I dont care what the color of his skin is.
                  President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Reggae-Fan (2/22/2007)
                    Mosiah (2/22/2007) <DIV>
                    Mitty (2/22/2007)I am tired of hearing about "Farin white coach",are there any farin black coach with a resume like Bora? Our local coaches are clueless in relation to farin coaches, black or white. Is Lenny Taylor a white man? is team looked better prepared than ours. We have the poorest coaches in the region. We constantly boast about our players speed and athleticism but that has gotten us nowhere. Panama has made the last three U20 WC finals,qualifying before a powerhouse like Costa Rica each time, do they have farin white coaches? Panama is a baseball nation, and Ja has poor coaches.The mistakes our players make are the most basic,we lack the mostincremental phase of the sport,which is protecting and passing the ball. Can good coaching correct these flaws? Weatherly'steam looked unprepared last night, if he is the best we have, we can kiss WC 2010 good bye. Remember concacaf is getting crowded, don't for get, Honduras, T&amp;T, Panama,Costa Rica, and Ja fighting for 11/2 spot.
                    </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Relax and understand my point. The point is simply this, some of us are too quick to cuss our kind when they are not deserving of the cussing, while finding any and every excuse in the book when the hue and the accent get a little different.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>There are enuff examples out there. Keep reading my posts, I will enlighten you of the continued practice.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Did you see the Lunar Cup game? How do you think they performed?</DIV>
                    Mosiah is the most racist individual on these message boards. always quick to fight down a man because of the color of his skin.

As long as we continue to use sub-standrad coaches both at the club and international level, our football will forever be in the state it is.

If we need anorange man or a purple one to fix our football, so be it...I dont care what the color of his skin is.
                    I think it is racist and or a self-esteem problem when we give the foreigner all necessary support and or locals little or no support.

Fact:

Rene Simoes and Clovis D'Oliviera had great support with introducing their charges to long term quality international competition.

All our local Jamaica coaches have never received those levels of support.

Kindly explain why that was allowed...is still being allowed to happen? What type of "ism"explains such behaviour?

Why would you put valuable resources behind an unproven entity? Why don't our local coaches go and make a name for themselves in the world first?

<DIV>
                        Reggae-Fan (2/22/2007)</DIV><DIV>Mosiah is the most racist individual on these message boards. always quick to fight down a man because of the color of his skin.

</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV> Apparently you can't stand the truth.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Call it racism, reverse-racism, whatever. I call it self-hate. Amounts to the same thing, I guess. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Apparently you can't handle the truth. We give fariners all the ratings in the world, even when they don't deserve it. Hell, even Laza will admit that he made errors in the last World Cup campaign, but we will blame it on the black bwoy Carl Brown. Yet, we want to give Laza credit for how the team played. How on God's green earth could he be that good?!? And if you say he is, then why didn't his "goodness" beat out CB's "wuklissness"? Why did we have to suffer watching T&amp;T at the World Cup?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Reggaefan, you should know me by now. I will not hesitate to point out when we practice self-hate. It happens almost every day in Jamaican society.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>At my workplace, my boss scarcely takes my advice about anything, but will quickly take the same advice when the source carries a laptop anda return ticket to the USA. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>If you are honest with yourself, RF, I'm sure you will agree.</DIV>

Mosiah (2/22/2007)<DIV>
                          Reggae-Fan (2/22/2007)</DIV><DIV>Mosiah is the most racist individual on these message boards. always quick to fight down a man because of the color of his skin.

</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV> Apparently you can't stand the truth.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Call it racism, reverse-racism, whatever. I call it self-hate. Amounts to the same thing, I guess. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Apparently you can't handle the truth. We give fariners all the ratings in the world, even when they don't deserve it. Hell, even Laza will admit that he made errors in the last World Cup campaign, but we will blame it on the black bwoy Carl Brown. Yet, we want to give Laza credit for how the team played. How on God's green earth could he be that good?!? And if you say he is, then why didn't his "goodness" beat out CB's "wuklissness"? Why did we have to suffer watching T&amp;T at the World Cup?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Reggaefan, you should know me by now. I will not hesitate to point out when we practice self-hate. It happens almost every day in Jamaican society.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>At my workplace, my boss scarcely takes my advice about anything, but will quickly take the same advice when the source carries a laptop anda return ticket to the USA. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>If you are honest with yourself, RF, I'm sure you will agree.</DIV>
                          As long as the local coaches (even Jeffrey Maxwell)continue to fail...we will continue to see little "support" for them from the private sector. CB was brought back recently to take charge of Jamaica's football. Well, we all know what happened in teh Digicel cup games we hosted. Yes, Mighty Giants St. Vincent managed to beat us (I cant help but mention the fact that their coach wasnt a "littleblack boy" like CB :w00t.

Here we have Dean Wetherly (Dr Dean Weatherly actually) having our under-20 squad looking the worse team in teh zone so far...a zone which includes St Kits (managed by a "black bwoy" mind you).

When a "black bwoy" take us to the world cup..or have us believeing that we can make it...they will get support. Until then...bring in qualify people...regardkess of their color (purple orange or green are all welcome)

Under Bora...we managed to win our first tourney at any level OUTSIDE of Jamaica recently...

Under Laza, we won our first WCQ game in central america...we have never won a WCQ game in central america under any "local black bwoy"

Who was our td when we made it to France '98, argentina and New Zealand?

And we wonder why the locals dont get the support.

Hold on one second. My memory might not be serving me correctly and given that so many people on this board have the similar monikers if might bea case of mistaken identity on my part.

So, weren't you the one who made disparaging remarks about the Trinis when they qualified for Germany using a term that would make a KKK member proud?

If I am correct, then you are absolutely in no position,beyond freedom of expression,to talk about anyone being racist, least of all a black person who feels that we are still blighted by institutional racism and self hatred.

Clearly on this planet, there is a common view of who can and who can't. Given black people's historical marginalization, we bear thedownside of such views. However, when our own people cannot see the progress we have made and continue to propogate those views then we clearly are still suffering from self hatred. As such, I think it is a travesty tocall aperson's articulationofhis belief in his people'scapablity "racism" vis-a-visthe institutional bigotry and self hatred that remains pervasive.

If I am wrong in my T&amp;T attribution then my sincere apologies. If not, I suggest you point elsewhere.

Bricktop (2/22/2007)
                              Karl (2/22/2007)

If the teams practise against only poor opponents there are no problems to solve. The nonsense they do against that poor quality will have them 'winning'/succeeding.
                              I still do not understand how lack of practise against top competition affects ones ability to control a football or make a tackle standing up. These are football basics and this practise thing is just an excuse to cover up for our shabby youth development.
                              If you do not understand not being able tocomplete skills you thought you had 'down pat' under pressure...you will not understand how a player can do the most intricate of juggling of the ball when by self and cannot when under match conditions. You just will not get it...that driving around at 60 miles per hour is far different that at 120 miles per hour.

Football: Doing the so-called basics at our NPL pedestrian speeds does not automatically mean you shall be able to carry out those same basics as the international level cruise speed...forgetabout the international level top speed.

Karl (2/22/2007)
                                Bricktop (2/22/2007)
                                Karl (2/22/2007)

If you do not understand not being able tocomplete skills you thought you had 'down pat' under pressure...you will not understand how a player can do the most intricate of juggling of the ball when by self and cannot when under match conditions. You just will not get it...that driving around at 60 miles per hour is far different that at 120 miles per hour.

Football: Doing the so-called basics at our NPL pedestrian speeds does not automatically mean you shall be able to carry out those same basics as the international level cruise speed...forgetabout the international level top speed.
                                So how exactly is one "under pressure" when taking a corner kick?