Unhappy LFC plan to "revisit" Suarez-Evra decision...
X DESCRIBES HIMSELF - Stop masquerading as if you have the clubs interest at heart, you are a fraud, always was and always will be in any and every thing that you present...Tags: None
hmmm .... i agree with much of the article and "the finding of fact" discussion.
the problem is i don't see how it can be re-visited without re-opening wounds. i think i understand marin's POV a little better now and it would be unfortunate for such statements to be found as fact on flimsy evidence (i am assuming that is just a matter of rejecting suarez' credibility and accepting evra's) and then shrouded with other facts to produce a finding. the difficult thing is, i agree with the ban and agree that he used racist language so how does that not amount to him being racist, worse if you include the findings of fact?
he used racist language so how does that not amount to him being racist.
Looked at in cultural relativism it is not ,looked at in cultural ethnocentrism it is.In layman terms he spoke from a cultural term and also the word negro by itself in spanish isnt racist , every african is referred to as negro,up to the 60s africans reffered to themselves as negro in standard English.
A fine line is drawn when you throw in the competitive nature of the game, but to answer your question, racist langauge is used in jamaica culturally in competitive settings are they racist ?
I heard players being reffferd to as every hue in Jamaican cultural relativism in a competitive setting, myself included, not once did I think it was racist.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by X View Posthe used racist language so how does that not amount to him being racist.
Looked at in cultural relativism it is not ,looked at in cultural ethnocentrism it is.In layman terms he spoke from a cultural term and also the word negro by itself in spanish isnt racist , every african is referred to as negro,up to the 60s africans reffered to themselves as negro in standard English.
A fine line is drawn when you throw in the competitive nature of the game, but to answer your question, racist langauge is used in jamaica culturally in competitive settings are they racist ?
I heard players being reffferd to as every hue in Jamaican cultural relativism in a competitive setting, myself included, not once did I think it was racist."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Yeah a racist is going to touch a man of colour? Taunting him based on colour is far fetched considering the heat of the battle, taunting him to get a mental advatnge ,yes, was the word negro used , yes.
Incidentally Evra opened the conversation with addressing the man as South American ? Obviously a term of endarement.
A racist NO !Last edited by Sir X; January 10, 2012, 10:54 AM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Lazie View PostX YOU NEED TO STOP THE FOOLISHNESS. There is even video evidence when he touched or better yet pinched Evra ... it is clear he was taunting the player based on his color. Time Liverpool accept that Suarez is wrong and stop defend ********ery!"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by X View PostYeah a racist is going to touch a man of colour? Taunting him based on colour is far fetched considering the heat of the battle, taunting him to get a mental advatnge ,yes was the word negro used , yes.
Incidentally Evra opened the conversation with addressing the man as South American ? Obviously a term of endarement.
A racist NO !
As mi say ... unuh need fi learn something from Espanyol coach."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Gamma View Posthmmm .... i agree with much of the article and "the finding of fact" discussion.
the problem is i don't see how it can be re-visited without re-opening wounds. i think i understand marin's POV a little better now and it would be unfortunate for such statements to be found as fact on flimsy evidence (i am assuming that is just a matter of rejecting suarez' credibility and accepting evra's) and then shrouded with other facts to produce a finding. the difficult thing is, i agree with the ban and agree that he used racist language so how does that not amount to him being racist, worse if you include the findings of fact?
JT's case will be tried by the higher "beyond reasonable doubt" standard as it is a criminal case. He will get off. No witnesses as far as I know, an obscured video tape that actually supports JT's claim, Anton's testimony only, all add up to not enough conclusive evidence.
My take is that Suarez would not have been found guilty in a criminal court, based on my interpretation of the FA's 115 page report (which I read cover to cover) and my understanding of the "beyond reasonable doubt" standard.
I'm not sure if I've said it on this board, but I have elsewhere, a charge as serious as racism cannot be treated with anything but the highest fidelity - there can be no doubt. As minorities, we should make sure this is the case as we can't "do to them" as they've "done to us". When found truly guilty though, racists should be "burned at the stake", whether they play for Liverpool, Chelsea or anyone else."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
the only thing is that the FA is not a criminal tribunal and if the intent is to stamp out racism "within the sport" for now, i support the lower standard. if we go with the BARD standard then in my opinion, a 8 ban match (e.g.) would be insufficent. they should be kicked out of the sport altogether.
i agree that ought not to be abused ...i .e. every likkle ting ... BUT .. i believe it is best to be more stringent and then, if anything pull back, than just to be dibby dibby in dibs and drabs..
Originally posted by Gamma View Postthe only thing is that the FA is not a criminal tribunal and if the intent is to stamp out racism "within the sport" for now, i support the lower standard. if we go with the BARD standard then in my opinion, a 8 ban match (e.g.) would be insufficent. they should be kicked out of the sport altogether.
i agree that ought not to be abused ...i .e. every likkle ting ... BUT .. i believe it is best to be more stringent and then, if anything pull back, than just to be dibby dibby in dibs and drabs.."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365