Mexico vs St. Kitts

RE: Mexico vs St. Kitts

They had a couple of chances, one in particular that required a brialliant acrobatic save by the Mex goalie who dived low and push the ball around the upright for a corner. That was the save of the match. One could tell Mex was the superior team but the Kitticians gave them a fight, so much so that in the last 10 min, Mex went into a defensive mode.Mex pulled all their players back protecting the one goal lead. The commentators were even alluding to the fact that a big side like Mex were sitting back and defending.Mex left the dangerous Dos Santos alone with three defenders, thats when he worked his magic. This guy plays like Ronadinho (even looks like him) good skill, balance and a good shot.
    Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
    Mitty

Mosiah (2/22/2007)<DIV>I know, Karl. I have seen many a training session in the USA. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I have been to 2 trials this season where our high school students are on show in front of some USA college coaches. I am sure the coaches were impressed by some of the individuals out there, but as a team - woeful. What is remarkable is the lack of goals in these matches. We just don't know how to score. I have seen little scrimmage matches in the USA where all they do is run hard and score goals. We are too busy plaiting, and piling and body shifting.</DIV>
      OK, sah!

When Mexico pulled back their players in the latter stages of the game, I saw that as a tactical move rather than the Kittians applying pressure. They left their number 10 alone in the attack, and it proved a stroke of excellent coaching. The Mexicans had complete control of the game, so they weren't losing anything by pulling back. Plus they also knew that they had a competent forward in number 10. He was destroying the St. Kitts backline all night, and his goal was always just a moment away.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It was a tactical move, however it was a conservative approach considering the opposition. The same strategy was used by the Costa Ricans in our match, putting 10 men in the defensive half and leaving the most skilled player to battle two or three defenders. In both matches the skillful forwards out maneuvered the defenders. Our local coaches wouldnt employ such a strategy, they are still mired in their amateurish mentality.
          Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
          Mitty