I fail to understand why the word "NEGRO" is abusive or derogatory. I am a negro, Xcuse is a negro.......... John Terry is "WHITE or CAUCASIAN"...... I don't get your line of argument.
Life Sweet...
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Jangle I think he is talking about the "n" word (he wrote:"n-g-r")and not "negro"... you are correct more so in Spanish that it (historically) is not in itself an offensive word... "we" have moved on to "African-American" or just plain "African" or "Afro-Jamaican" as opposed to "negro" which apparently carries a hint of the "n" word and is to be eschewed... just how I see it.Peter R
Originally posted by Gamma View PostWere they have tea in the garden? Just look back at the incident without knowing what was said and look at the body language."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
they were racist comments .... were they not? suarez has to come to terms with whether people see him as racist or not. *HINT* making racist comments is not a good step in the direction of engendering a belief that one is not racist.
over the years most of those persons who have been hauled up in the court of public opinion for making racists statements have claimed that they are not racist. maybe they are, maybe they are not .... but they made racist comments
subjective? if you want to think so, i look at it as evidence.
Originally posted by Jangle View PostI fail to understand why the word "NEGRO" is abusive or derogatory. I am a negro, Xcuse is a negro.......... John Terry is "WHITE or CAUCASIAN"...... I don't get your line of argument."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWhy is he referring to a player by their skin colour?
However, to ignore "intent" in such a multicultural setting as the Premiership, seems to me to be turning a blind eye to practical reality. You have people from all over the world that use their own language in a way that doesn't always translate true meaning in English.
In this particular case, I believe Evra misinterpreted Suarez but by the time he realized what Suarez had actually said, he couldn't back pedal. If you read the report, he first says that Suarez called him "ni--er". He then later changed it to "black", then "blackie".
If you see the exchange with the ref, when Suarez put his hand on Evra's head and he batted it away, I believe that Evra's reaction is consistent with a man who believed he was called "nigg--" not with a man who was called "black", which eventually came out as the actual term used. I also believe that Suarez's body language was consistent with someone trying to be conciliatory.Last edited by Paul Marin; January 5, 2012, 10:29 AM."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365