U-17s stun world champs 2-0

• U-17s stun world champs 2-0

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>U-17s stun world champs 2-0</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Saturday, February 17, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=228 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Jamaica's Under-17 goalscorer Dever Orgill (foreground) controls the ball ahead of his Mexican opponent in last night's shock 2-0 victory at the Harbour View mini-stadium. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Jamaica's Under-17 footballers stunned world champions Mexico 2-0 in the second game of a two-match series at the Harbour View mini-stadium last night.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Captain and striker Dever Orgill sent the young Reggae Boyz into the lead in the 24th minute before Akeem Brown sealed the issue for the hosts in the 85th. The teams played to a 1-1 tie in the first game on Wednesday at the same venue.
    In the curtain-raiser, the USA Under-17s blanked a Jamaican All-Star team 3-0.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

RE: U-17s stun world champs 2-0

Mosiah: Your, as per the first match,equally candid and incisive overview?

Thank you!

This being the second game. Was it that the YOUNG BOYZ stun the MEXICAN U-17S or was it simply that the YOUNG BOYZ outplayed them????

Captain and striker Dever Orgill
        Isn't this one of Color's youth he was telling us about?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Miss the first half. But the second half of the JAMAICA vs MEXICO U-17S first game has just started on TVJ.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>

Historic win for Young Boyz
            published: Sunday | February 18, 2007
            <DIV class=KonaBody XvEED="true">

Howard Walker, Staff Reporter

</DIV></SPAN>

<SPAN class=TopStory>http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...amp;category=1</SPAN>

<SPAN class=TopStory>------------------------------</SPAN>

<SPAN class=TopStory>It's all about gamesmanship, says Hunt</SPAN>
            <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>By Livingston Scott Observer staff reporter
            Sunday, February 18, 2007
            </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
            <P class=StoryText align=justify>Jamaica'S Under-20s scored an historic 2-0 win over defending world champions Mexico in the second game of their two-match friendly series at the Harbour View mini-stadium on Friday night.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Captain Denver Orgill gave the young reggae boyz the lead after 24 minutes, before substitute Akeem Brown sealed the win with a well-taken strike four minutes from the end.
            Coach David Hunt was full of praise for his players, but said keen analysis of the first game between the teams proved crucial in their win over the world champions.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We looked at the game on Wednesday and showed them that they (Mexico) did not have more possession and did not get more chances than us.
            "So we decided that we would hang back and counter them, and the player did very well. They played very aggressively. This team knows about gamemanship and they stood firm to give Jamaica their first football victory over a world champion," said an elated Hunt.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"This is a great moment and I must congratulate Mr Bora (Mulitinovic) who advised us on some defensive strategies, and we worked hard at them and it paid off today," he added.
            Losing Mexican coach Emmanuel Belase said the game was just for preparation and the result would not have any significance on the qualifiers.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"This is only match preparation. But we need to improve our technical conditions," he said.
            "This is not a tournament game, this game is only for training, it's a different situation. The conditions for the qualifiers are not the same, it will be very different," he said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The hosts started brightly, but it was the Mexicans who created the first opportunity, but Jesus Millan dragged his shot wide of the target from inside the area.
            Minutes later Ilises Placencia headed just over the bar from eight yards from a corner.<P class=StoryText align=justify>However, as the Mexicans looked to settle down, a mistake by Jose Preciado at the back allowed Orgill to sneak in and hit a shot past Alfredo Medina in the Mexican goal.
            Orgill had another excellent chance to increase the lead minutes later, but with time and space, shot wide from the edge of the box.
            On the resumption, Mexico nearly got a goal back, but Raul Lopez was unfortunate to see his header rebound off the crossbar.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Andre Steele responded three minutes later when he headed Christopher Banner's cross against the woodwork.
            Then a great solo effort from captain Orgill saw him shooting into the side-netting with only Medina to beat after 70 minutes.
            The Jamaicans were enjoying the better of play and duly added to their tally when substitute Brown latched onto a pass and hit a superb shot that gave Medina no chance.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We hope the crowd will really come out now

Big congrats to the young ReggaeBoyz! Job well done! (tup)

And of course, there's nothing I like more than seeing Mexico lose! :P

Zeppo (2/19/2007)Big congrats to the young ReggaeBoyz! Job well done! (tup)

<DIV></DIV><DIV>Okay, it too you all of 36 hours to post your congratulations. Better late than never, I guess.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Some of us see right thru it, however. Now you are able to take on Shatta and others who did not respond to your "thrashing" thread.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>At least yuh smarter than HL.</DIV>

Yes, Colour's youth who had starred in the regional U-15 tournament.

Mosiah (2/19/2007)
                    Zeppo (2/19/2007)Big congrats to the young ReggaeBoyz! Job well done! (tup)

<DIV></DIV><DIV>Okay, it too you all of 36 hours to post your congratulations. Better late than never, I guess.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Some of us see right thru it, however. Now you are able to take on Shatta and others who did not respond to your "thrashing" thread.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>At least yuh smarter than HL.</DIV>

Sorry if my congratulations didn't come as quickly as you would have liked, but I don't scan this forum 24/7.

And I really couldn't care less if you think they're sincere or not. I don't need your judgement to validate my posts.

Oh, and one more thing: I posted my congrats to the U-17s before Shatta posted his whining in the "thrashing" thread. If you don't believe it just check the times.

<DIV>My apologies if your congrats are sincere and if you were not preempting anything.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>HL now - that's another matter. He never misses a chance to bring down the country of his birth. </DIV>