Heading soccer balls will...

Do not see/not sure how the headwear will protect...as it is the vibrations/movement of head in response to the blow of the ball on the head that has the brain rattling around and striking against the skull/cranium.

It certainly is not providing protection to prevent the skull being crushed into the brain...as say, protection provided by helmets in crashes which can prevent rupturing/fractures of the skull.
    Karl - it is simple physics. There is more material to absorb impact, so there is less vibration when heading the ball.

Secondly, the other advantage of headgear is protection against other kinds of head injury. I submit that the vast majority of impact in football involving head injuries are "head to head" or "foot to head" neither of which are strong enough (in the majority of cases) to cause the "skull [to be] crushed" against the brain but can cause concussions.

Lastly, in my daughter's case, it has given her more confidence in using her head to play the ball.

Anyway, I personally am of the opinion that when it comes to kids, anything we can do to protect them should be done. If she doesn't want to wear it when she is a "grown up" (and can pay her own $@#$@# health insurance) that's her call.

Why yuh growing the pickney like a girl.........
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Why yuh growing the pickney like a girl.........
        Only you...

thanks for this pablo....

yeah, yeah, merica scientist, right!!