• Totally stumped by ruling on King

Totally stumped by ruling on King
    published: Thursday | February 15, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody XvEED="true">

Banned Reggae Boy Marlon King. - file

WHEN THE Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) touring management team booted striker Marlon King from camp ahead of the England friendly for rowdy behaviour, I thought it was a tough but understandable decision.

However, I must admit to being totally stumped by the recent ruling which has seen the striker handed a two-year ban from international football.

If reports coming out of the JFF delegation when the Reggae Boyz went on that infamously disastrous tour of England last June are true, King was said to be "boisterous", "disrespectful" and "unapologetic" to the member's of the JFF delegation on that fateful Wednesday morning.

Don't get me wrong! Behaviour like that could certainly not have been ignored or gone unpunished and sanctions must be taken against King for that type of disrespect. However, let's take the time out to examine some of the details of the situation.

After a night on the town, King and teammates Jason Euell and Jamal Campbell-Ryce, who are said to have left the camp without permission, returned to the team hotel.

Intoxicated

According to the JFF management team's account, King, who according to his side of the story was further infuriated by being locked out of his room, was intoxicated. So perhaps staying up to host an emergency meeting in the wee hours of the morning with already-aggravated and drunk players wasn't a wonderful idea in the first place. Discipline is important, but the players are after all grown men and should have been treated as such.

However, let's put that aside, King did what he did and, according to the report issued by the JFF disciplinary committee, the issue of breaking camp curfew, which the players claim to not have known was in place, had already been dealt with by the body by, I assume, expelling the player from camp. However, King has been handed an additional two-year ban for telling off the JFF contingent and that is absolutely ludicrous.

A two-year ban! In most sports that is a punishment generally reserved for athletes who are found guilty of things like testing positive for cocaine use or getting caught using performance-enhancing substances.

Are we to believe that King falls into this category because of a spat with the administration?

No player is bigger than Jamaican football but, then again, neither is the game's administration and decisions taken regarding players - or any footballing issues - should not have that atmosphere about it.

In my estimation, there can be no justifiable reason that the federation can give for dropping King in the two-year ban category and that decision upon closer examination reeks of one made with bruised egos or stems from some other issue not mentioned.

Lest we forget, King apologised for the incident later the same day, well - according to his account anyway. The hallmark of bad refereeing, which is an art despised by sports fans everywhere, is when decisions taken by the official make him and not the players themselves the focus of the game. Who knows, perhaps the same can be said of bad administrating.

That's how it looks from this corner, what about yours? </DIV>

RE: Totally stumped by ruling on King

i quite agree with the author on the bruised ego thing. that have taken a bad situation (for them, management) and made it worse. it's hard for me to justify this 2 year ban unless something else happened that we don't know about.

<DIV>
      Gamma (2/15/2007)i quite agree with the author on the bruised ego thing. that have taken a bad situation (for them, management) and made it worse. it's hard for me to justify this 2 year ban unless something else happened that we don't know about.
      </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And if something else happened, then we need to know about it. Two years is harsh. But lest anyone feel I'm changing my mind on this issue - fahgetaboutit! King deserves some punishment!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I guess what he did is not fit for airplay?!?</DIV>

Perhaps, it has to do with my training as a teacher and understanding and observing my parents at work dealing with our large family - 7 kids...but, when my Mom and Dad took a position and realised they may have erred they had not a problem if we went of the rails a bit in response to what we saw as an injustice by tempering their meting out of justice without taking into account of what led to the 'outburst'.

In the classroom if the the made a mistake and the pupil reacted in an unfavorable manner to that error on the teacher's part, it is expected that any 'correction' acknowledged the original error/the teacher's error.

Managing adults..require calm heads...and, fair treatment. AS in the home and in the classroom...so it is in this King Issue...the 'funny thing' is 'the world' knows when an injustice is done. 'The world'knows when the person wielding authority has acted the ass!

Mosiah (2/15/2007)<DIV>
          Gamma (2/15/2007)i quite agree with the author on the bruised ego thing. that have taken a bad situation (for them, management) and made it worse. it's hard for me to justify this 2 year ban unless something else happened that we don't know about.
          </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And if something else happened, then we need to know about it. Two years is harsh. But lest anyone feel I'm changing my mind on this issue - fahgetaboutit! King deserves some punishment!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I guess what he did is not fit for airplay?!?</DIV>
          Yes! ..but, if the administration made the initial error...as it is here (Certainly I believe so...); what should be the administration's punishment?

Should it not even be as leaders are wont to do...tempering the manner in which King is dealt with precisely because of the administration's errors - igniting a fire-fight directly as a result of how the grown men where handled that night?

I would like someone to tell me, why the matter could not have been dealt with the next day? Why could not the players have been suspended, expelled...or whateverthe next day?

They wereconfronted that night and made aware that the JFF leaders/managers werenot pleased. What was the point of locking them out of their rooms? What was the point of engaging obviously tired menin a meeting at that time? What was the point of attempting to 'reason'with, as the JFF leaders described,men withalcohol on their breath?

It was stupid! Stupid! Stupid! Stupid in thinkingup those 'mid-night' actions! Stupid in executing the already stupidthoughts! Stupid!

Itis today...stupid to be punishing King, in my mind, because of perceived loss of status by the JFF brass!STUPID! STUPID and UNFAIR!

<DIV>Yeah, right. I would love to have seen when your father erred and what you were permitted to do in light of that error. Were you then able to tell him about his mother?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Okay then!</DIV>

Mosiah (2/15/2007) <DIV>Yeah, right. I would love to have seen when your father erred and what you were permitted to do in light of that error. Were you then able to tell him about his mother?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Okay then!</DIV>
              Ofcourse not!

I still would not today tell my father about his mother although I am now an adult.

..but, the King Issue is an entirely different matter. Locking the men of there rooms is telling them about there mothers.

Are you for one moment thinking that action of being lockedout of your room was not an attack on the men's inner being?

Mosiah: In my mind that is akin to spitting in my face.

...and,I am not sure I would nothurt someone grievously for that.

Let me ask you directly: what would you do if you were locked out of your room under circumstances as was King?

Karl (2/15/2007)

Let me ask you directly: what would you do if you were locked out of your room under circumstances as was King?
                Look closely, Karl. This is a lesson in answering a question directly!

I would be mighty upset if I came back and found I that the door couldn't open. But, having gone down to the front desk to see what the problem might be, and then being told that the president of the JFF had asked that it be locked, I would begin to wonder if I had done something wrong. Not having known about any curfew, I would know that couldn't be the problem, but my drunken state with the ladies in tow would not help my argument. So, I would think twice before I throw a tantrum, telling off everybody from the president and the entire country of Jamaica.

Karl, I wonder why the other two players could just apologise and move on. Do they not have any self-respect and inner being as men?

karl..talk like yuh have sense nuh? the only punishment for the administration is to be voted out!

curfew or no curfew...king should not have been carrying on like that during camp! he doesn't need a curfew for that to be a universally accepted norm! that is the initial wrong..thereafter the administration committed error after error and has now compounded the situation.

bwoy mi have fi rate you still.

More time you just talk it as it is.

Only one problem mi have with you and that is you nah leggo "Colin Todd"

Gamma (2/15/2007)

curfew or no curfew...king should not have been carrying on like that during camp! he doesn't need a curfew for that to be a universally accepted norm!
                      Why some can't understand that. I don't know. Karl is talking about locking out big man. Well, big man, and big professional footballer, don't waltz in...cho, we've been thru this a millions times before.

whey yuh a talk 'bout? yuh nuh si seh colin todd get leggo?

I am curious to know if all a the players had women in their rooms as King stated. If not wives and girlfriend is that professional?

<DIV>Well, I don't know. But for some of us, King's credibility is not up for question. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>

yuh mean whether the women were "professionals"?