Jamaica U-17 1 - Mexico U-17 1

• Jamaica U-17 1 - Mexico U-17 1

<DIV>The young Boyz did well against the world champion Mexicans. Still room for a lot of improvement. If the coach reads this, think about the following:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>1. What's with the big kicks downfield whenever we get a freekick in our half? The tall (yes, tall!) Mexican defenders invariably outjump us (even though our lads do carry some size as well) and the ball is coming back at us.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>2. We need to take a page out of the Mexicans' book when attacking.The ball is always moving, one and two touch. We on the other hand, still playing too much the old Jamaican way. No surprise that the goal we scored was a result of constant forward movement and strong running. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>3. Still clueless when taking freekicks in the other team's half. At no time do I feel like they are going to be troubled.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>4. What's with the long shots from 30 metres out? Do our players really have such great kicks?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>5. They had better cool off of the cane-cutting tackles. I can see us losing two or three players in a match because of that. And giving away a couple penalties or dangerous freekicks.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Will mention the positives in another post. But take heart - we competed very well against the world champions, who were clearly better, but the Boyz were never spectators.</DIV><DIV></DIV>

RE: Jamaica U-17 1 - Mexico U-17 1

<DIV>Some more notes from the game:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Jamaica clearly had the better of play and more possession for the first 20 minutes or so. We matched the Mexicans in size (both sides have pretty big players) and were able to hustle them off the ball on many occasions. Passing from the Boyz wasn't bad, but the slow build-ups were painful to watch. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The Mexicans, on the other hand, didn't look like world champions, although I doubt there is any member of that winning team on this one. (Nevertheless, it is a world champion program they are coming from.) Their passing was off, sometimes the result of the poor Harbour View field. (I say poor because we still havea lot to learn when it comes to a decent football field. HVFC tries it best, but time to take our fields to another level.) Actually, the Mexicans looked like they were going at maybe 60%.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Later in the half, they clearly picked up the pace and had us under constant pressure for a good 20 minutes. The two strikers combined well and gave our defenders a tough time. We were clearly shaken up, giving up the ball quite easily after having weathered a few Mexican attacks. Despite the attacks, I can't remember the Mexicans getting off any shots.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The half ended with the Jamaicans having the upper hand, simply on account of shots taken to goal. One in particularly barely went over the crossbar. Their goalie would not have had a clue.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Will talk about the more exciting second half later.</DIV>

Just saw your report!

Perhaps, others may want to add...maybe 'pinned' until mid-day today Thursday, February 15, 2007?

Your report puts a dose of 'pulling me back down to earth' when put alongside the newspaper report.

Liked the details! (tup)

Good, sah! Keep it up! (tup)(Clap)

Mosiah (2/14/2007)<DIV>Some more notes from the game:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Passing from the Boyz wasn't bad, but the slow build-ups were painful to watch. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>
        </DIV><DIV>Would a comment like the following be valid?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Our coaches do know that "doing what we do" - good 'control' - passing, trapping, 'popping &amp; brucking' - at TOP SPEEDalong with providing support outlet to man on the ball - that separates the mediocre and average TEAM from the TOP OF THE WORLD TEAM? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>...think Brazil, France, Italy and ManU, Liverpool, Arsenal, Barcelona...</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>...and, in our 'low level' backyard,Mexico and USA!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>...or, is it going to take Bora to say some such thing to our coaches to get them to understand?</DIV>

BTW - The aim cannot be to be like Mexico and the USA. The aim must be to get to the TOP OF THE WORLD!

...therefore we must be...do on the field as do...as the TOP OF THE WORLD TEAMs???

Stands to reason our coaches must teach TOP OF THE WORLD-like play! Right?

<DIV>Perhaps it's valid. I don't know because maybe the coaches know that but the players can't get it. Not sure if we have very bright players on the field, looking at some of the things they do.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Some of our NPL teams do realise the need for speed, though. HVFC certainly plays at breakneck speed these days, at least when they are playing well. But they are matched by Boys Town and Waterhouse quite a bit. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The rematch with the Mexicans will be interesting, to see what the coaches observed and what changes they will make to bring about a better result for their team.</DIV>

Certainly hope you will have reason to say 'great things' about the TEAM after the second match.

Aside: <DIV>
            Some of our NPL teams do realise the need for speed, though. HVFC certainly plays at breakneck speed these days, at least when they are playing well. But they are matched by Boys Town and Waterhouse quite a bit.
            </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>This makes me feel 'good' -hopefull! Hey...three (HVFC, Waterhouse and BT) can become 12 in short order...and, then spread throughout our football.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>FORWARD </DIV><DIV>- to the TOP OF THE WORLD!!!! (tup)(Clap)</DIV>

<DIV>Karl, is our hatred for Boxhill so greate that people can't take the time to congratulate the young Boyz for a good result with the U-17 world champions?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>

Mosiah (2/15/2007)<DIV>Karl, is our hatred for Boxhill so greate that people can't take the time to congratulate the young Boyz for a good result with the U-17 world champions?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>
                I doubt that99.99999999999+% of the Jamacian population have the time and energy to hate Boxhill. Boxhill's actions are important to the country....but, Boxhill the man would not, in my view, command attention that would rise toany level that would cause great majority of us to even consider hating him.

Now the matter of thesuccesses of our football teams and how we receive same have little or nothing to do withwhois at the reigns of the JFF. To be blunt, regardlessof persons who are the football administrators...we seek successes, are fustrated by the lack of or slow pace of progress, suffer the pain defeat brings and embrace victories in equal measure.

On the surface the 1 - 1 draw with Mexico is great.

...but, very many of us on this board did not see the game.That not seeing the game makes it difficult to jump wholesale into rejoicing...because over the years, 1998 through to the present, our expectations have grown/increased. It is not merely defeating Mexico and or the USA that is our goal...but, rather to 'walk' with the big boys at the TOP OF THE WORLD. The context of our recent U-17 draw has to be seen in 'the how' of our performance.

Yuh dun kno I hailed the performance against Mexico...but, even as I am pleased...I remain cautiously optimistic that this 'win' signals the awakening of a 'new day'.

Yes, Mosiah - We must continue to 'win' and improve. The stakeholders have grown beyond being satisfied with 'winning' against Mexico and the USA...yup! even as we have not achieved that stage of 'winning' against those TEAMs. That is our reality...and, the JFF brass - present ones and those to come had better believe it!

One word - FORWARD!

Reggae Boyz hold Mexico 1-1 <DIV class=KonaBody XvEED="true">

Jamaica's John-Ross Doyley dribbles past a Mexican defender during last night's friendly clash between the Under-17 teams at the Harbour View Mini-Stadium. The match ended 1-1. - Ian Allen

By Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Jamaica's Under-17 Reggae Boyz plodded their way to a 1-1 draw with current world champions Mexico in the first of a two-leg friendly at the Harbour View Mini-Stadium last night.

After a goalless first half, the Jamaicans struck first when Bridgeport's Andre Steele fired home in the 57th minute. Steele was the beneficiary of the hard work<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN> of another substitute, Christopher Waugh. Less than a minute after being on the pitch, Waugh broke into the area to blast from the right side of goal. The shot was parried away by Mexico custodian, Alfredo Medina, and flew across the face of goal in the path of Steele, who tapped in the ball from six yards away. However, the Mexicans would soon find themselves level through hard-working midfielder Usiles Plascencia. He rose<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN> above a thicket of defenders to head past Jamaican custodian Oneil Wilson in the 77th minute.

A high looping corner across the face of goal saw Mexican defender Christian Vazquez unmarked in the area. His volley was pounded accidentally into the turf but the attempt bounced up nicely for Plascencia.

"Offensively, we still need a little more work. We gave up a goal on a corner and that was just sad, but we are working hard, and come April we will be competitive," said Jamaica<A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=KonaLink2 &#111;nmouseover=adlinkMouseOver(event,this,2); style="POSITION: static; TEXT-DECORATION: underline! important" &#111;nclick=adlinkMouseClick(event,this,2); &#111;nmouseout=adlinkMouseOut(event,this,2); href="http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20070215/sports/sports1.html#" target=_top><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION:

Seit Mosiah?

When will it be - Jamaica Star - Mexico hold REGGAE BOYZ?

...or, Jamaica Observer - Mexico hold U-17s?

Seit, sah?

considering that TODAY mexico are the defending champs?

<DIV>Zas crise, Karl! Mi tiyad from reading all a dat.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The simple fact is, Mexico are the defending WORLD CHAMPIONS. The young Reggae Boyz scored first against them and gave up what many could consider a soft goal.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What other facts yuh need?!?!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Geez!</DIV>

Just heard on TVJ Sports that the YOUNG BOYZ were leading MEXICO'S U-17 1-0 in the second half.(Clap)(Clap)(Clap)

It is after 8pm! The score is?

Thank you!

Sorry Karl! Still waiting on CVM Sports at 8:30.