Lazie which nation has the more abundant

...erm, but they do have those players who happen to be home grown Uruguayans , mi
    ... wait, suh maybe ManU nuh suh good after all, if dem nevah have Giggs, Van der Sar, Ronaldo et al dem nevah would win EPL ?

... reached the finals AND WON I should have added, TWICE!

They have placed 4th twice in recent history ; wha USA do agen? from my sources, never made it past round of 16!!!

wha USA do agen? from my sources, never made it past round of 16!!!
        Your sources have been smoking too much ganja.

I am willing to learn the facts. Is it a secret? Just asking...

I checked and correct me if I am wrong (or my source is)... 3rd place in 1930 which according to Lazie doesn't count... and 8th place in 2002. Mind you, we are comparing the relative success of Uruguay and USA (not Jamaica). Uruguay is still by far the greater achiever of the two countries... USA is a bg fish in a small pond... Uruguay's achievement in CONMEBOL is admirable.

I am not trying to take away from USA achievement but we must admire what a country of 3.5 million has done.

...erm, but they do have those players who happen to be home grown Uruguayans , mi
              ... wait, suh maybe ManU nuh suh good after all, if dem nevah have Giggs, Van der Sar, Ronaldo et al dem nevah would win EPL ?

Are we talking about clubs or countries Peter?

The principle...

I checked and correct me if I am wrong (or my source is)... 3rd place in 1930 which according to Lazie doesn't count... and 8th place in 2002. Mind you, we are comparing the relative success of Uruguay and USA (not Jamaica). Uruguay is still by far the greater achiever of the two countries... USA is a bg fish in a small pond... Uruguay's achievement in CONMEBOL is admirable.

I am not trying to take away from USA achievement but we must admire what a country of 3.5 million has done.

Are we talking bout achievements or "abundance of talent"? Since Enzo Francescoli retired what has Uruguay done before the current crop of players got noticed by you and X?

I checked and correct me if I am wrong (or my source is)... 3rd place in 1930 which according to Lazie doesn't count... and 8th place in 2002.
                    Just pointing out how incorrect your statement is on the USA never making it past the round of 16. Sure, 1930 isn't modern football history. But 2002?

Anyway, I completely agree with you regarding Uruguay; a small country consistently producing world class players and getting impressive results.

I did not discount either date.. I guess I should have put: "which according to Lazie doesn't count" in parentheses.

Sheer population size should have the US at the front...but what has so-so talent to do with ability to field good team 3 deep?

Talent is usually latent. It is the development of same that gets the awful or wonderful team.

...let me add that - not scientific - but I would guess number/hundred JA would be in top world rated producers of the talented athlete. ...just my bias showing? ...gut feeling!!! ...and based on the 'tons' of boys and girls seen during my school-days - primary through college - who were potentially world class who just never even 'came out' for 'training' or who for one reason or the other (parents needed them to work, lack of funds to purchase even the very basic of equipment...or were never motivated to work on the development of the talent) had the opportunities to shine.
                        Last edited by Karl; November 24, 2011, 11:08 AM.

Same mentality yuh ave wid di politricks yuh bring it inna di ball arguement...Bigman juss say yuh wrong.

Yuh caan wrang and strang...den again yuh inna yuh own matrix.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Same mentality yuh ave wid di politricks yuh bring it inna di ball arguement...Bigman juss say yuh wrong.

Yuh caan wrang and strang...den again yuh inna yuh own matrix.

Wrong where .... remove certain players from Uruguay they're not the same team. The question is about abundance of talent not who won world cups. England has won 1 WC, does that mean they have more talent than the Netherlands?

Uruguay have also won two World Cups (1930 & 1950).
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

This shouldn't even be a question. Answer is the US by far. As ome of the other posters mention, this does not mean they will have a better team per sey...just more talent to choose from.