Guyana eliminate Trinidad & Tobago from World Cup

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
    as bad as we frig up we never drop to da level ya. no more JA-TNT rivalry as they are not on our level, ahahahaha
    That's true, Lionpaw. I remember when Boxhill reduced our Reggae Boyz to an all time low, but not this bad and it was mostly against teams outside CONCACAF. And when we were knocked out of the first round of the 2007 Digicel Cup some of the Trinis started laughing at us:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/in...91.0;topicseen

What goes around......

The bad thing about it is that the Guyanese coach is Trinidadian coach, an ex-National coach (women, under 23) Jamaal Shabazz. He was 'relieved' of his post. Shabazz was involved in the attempted coup in 1990 and is not well-liked by many for his involvment. This result will not win him many more friends at home, but certainly some respect especially from TT's German coach Otto Pfister.

Not true...Jamiaca has had early elimination before.

The man has no remorse for his involvement in the coup... as a coach well, he seems to be doing ok.

PROVIDENCE, Guyana - Guyana eliminated Trinidad & Tobago from World Cup qualifying with a 2-1 win on Friday at Providence Stadium.The victory lifted the Golden Jaguars to the Group B title and a place in Round Three of CONCACAF qualifying.

Ricky Shakes made it two goals in two games, putting the host into a 10th minute lead.

Leon Cort scored an insurance goal in the 81st minute, rendering meaningless Kenwyne Jones's strike two minutes into stoppage time.

The loss was a stunning turn of events for the Soca Warriors, which appeared in the World Cup finals just six years ago in Germany.They looked to be returning to form after a 4-0 victory over Barbados in their last qualifying match on October 11.

Guyana, on the other hand, is on the ascendancy, winning each of its three group games at home.It has scored two goals in four of its five qualifiers.

Guyana and Trinidad will meet again on Tuesday in Port of Spain.
            You gots to be kiddin!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
              Not true...Jamiaca has had early elimination before.
              Not true! Jamaica has not been eliminated by a Caribbean minnow.

what dis have to do wid T&T football? start yuh owna thread nuh man!

as dem seh "Trini to da bone'...and DAWG nyam bone !!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                    as dem seh "Trini to da bone'...and DAWG nyam bone !!

WARRIORS OUT

Road to Rio ends as T&T lose 2-1 to Guyana

By Ian Prescott Providence, Guyana

Story Created: Nov 12, 2011 at 11:41 PM ECT
                      Story Updated: Nov 12, 2011 at 11:41 PM ECT

It was a popular theme after Guyana's Golden Jaguars won 2-1 at the Providence National Stadium, Guyana on Friday night, and at the same time knocked Trinidad and Tobago out of the race to qualify for the Brazil 2014 FIFA World Cup.
                      "This is our time," Guyana's Trinidadian coach Jamaal Shabazz said. "It was important that Guyana win this game. This is Guyana's time."
                      Carnival-like celebrations erupted as a packed stadium celebrated Guyana's first victory in some 60 years over Trinidad and Tobago. And as the Golden Jaguars made their way back to their base at the Radisson Hotel, Georgetown, everywhere crowds gathered to celebrate the great achievement of Guyana reaching the third round of World Cup CONCACAF Zone qualifying for the first time.
                      "This is the biggest thing to ever happen to Guyana football," team manager Mark Xavier declared. "I might wake up in the morning and not believe that this has happened."
                      T&T's Soca Warriors are probably also still wondering what happened as well.
                      England-born Ricky Shakes, a Trinidad and Tobago reject, put his new compatriots on the road to victory in the tenth minute when putting a powerful right-footed volley onto a ball which defender Seon Power failed to properly head clear.
                      And after withstanding some second-half pressure from T&T, another Englishman, Leon Cort, cemented Guyana's victory in the 81st when taking a ball over the top and dispatching his shot past T&T keeper Marvin Phillip.
                      Between Guyana's two goals, Suriname referee Enrico Wijngaarde handed Kevin Molino a yellow card on the half-hour when the T&T midfielder appeared to have a legitimate penalty claim when tripped as he drove into the box.
                      And Molino robbed teammate Hughton Hector of a 75th minute scoring chance, by intercepting captain Kenwyne Jones' pass as Hector was about to strike in the penalty area. Molino ended with a shot past the far post.
                      Skipper Jones made some marginal late impact for the Warriors when netting a free-kick from the edge of the penalty area in added-on time.
                      Hustle and greater desire largely won Guyana the match. Trinidad and Tobago talked the talk, but it was the Golden Jaguars that ran hard, dived in to block shots and won every second ball.
                      Guyana's willingness to run created several edgy moments for a T&T defence that looked all at sea, depending on acrobatic keeper Phillip to tip away a sure goal from Richardson in the first half to keep them afloat.
                      Phillip did it again near the end, when barely clutching Vurlon Mills' shot as the ball searched for the far corner.
                      Afterward, a clearly agitated Soca Warriors assistant coach Anton Corneal was the only one initially strong enough to speak.
                      But later, T&T's England-born midfielder Chris Birchall also spoke his mind, while head coach Otto Pfister looked bewildered.
                      "It's a most disappointing feeling. One, to be knocked out of a World Cup and, two, knowing that desire is our major problem," Corneal said. "We had some chances we didn't convert, but desire brought out a lot of things. Second balls, we just didn't have that passion to win a second ball. We always thought we would be in it because of the players we have. You've got to play. You have to play. You can't just hope things happen, you have to make things happen."
                      Known for his battling qualities, Birchall was taken off in the first half and admitted he was having difficulty controlling the ball in centre-field, where a cricket turf wicket is placed. Friday's loss was his lowest moment in Trinidad and Tobago colours Birchall said.
                      "The manner in which we lost was unacceptable. No fight...no heart," Birchall declared. "They won every second ball. We didn't compete and they deserve the win.
                      "The group doesn't lie, we have gone downhill. We have got to try and get back up there again," Birchall added. "This has nothing to do with coach Pfister, it's the players. The coach can't go on the pitch for you and win tackles and give you desire and take your chances. The coach has done a great job. As players we have got to look at ourselves. It's our fault."
                      The two teams will clash again in the second leg on Tuesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

TEAMS:

Trinidad & Tobago — 1.Marvin Phillip, 11.Carlos Edwards, 5.Julius James, 20.Seon Power, 4.Akeem Adams, 8.Khaleem Hyland, 7.Christopher Birchall (15.Hughtun Hector 39th), 16.Kevin Molino (Yellow 29th), 13.Lester Peltier (14.Stern John 56th), 9.Kenwyne Jones (Captain), 19.Keon Daniel (12.Kendall Jagdeosingh 55th)
                      Subs not used: 21.Jan-Michael Williams, 6.Oesi Telesford, 3.Carlyle Mitchell, 10.Hayden Tinto, 17.Anthony Wolfe, 18.Andrei Pacheco
                      Coach: Otto Pfister (GER)

Below I pointed out a certain reason on the Soca Warriors forum for their failure to advance to the next round.

Keeping with that perspective T&T most recently, it seems has a rational fear of been embarrassed or laughed at. So T&T have chosen to play teams in their league or below their league. In other words: teams that T&T can beat, simply to build on the hype that T&T is still a top football nation. .

http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-sen...s-results.html

But Jamaica have braved the laugh and scorn of T&T and the footballing World even being given a new moniker "The Reggae Toyz". So while Jamaica was losing matches against good competition. The Reggae Boyz were also getting the occasional result and lifting regional titles which slowly push up their ranking into the top six of CONCACAF's power nations. And a spot into the semi-final round of the qualifiers for the 2014 World Cup.
                        So now, all the Reggae Boyz have to do for the next few months is continue to experiment and whatever the result; win, lose or draw. The Reggae Boyz will be prepared for the 2014 Road to Brazil.

Simplistic analysis...rather than Ja vs TT comparison, the TT mgt and administration are more responsible for all of this. They were so DISORGANIZED and disunified that there was no visible national TEAM. Too many players, local vs. professionals, court cases, blacklisted players, Warner's problems etc.....
                          Yet, on paper TT has the accomplished players...but as Karl would say - no TEAM.