Racist fury: Liverpool star Suarez called me the N-word, WOW
Poyet prepared to go to court as Brighton boss claims: I'll prove Suarez is no racist
By SPORTSMAIL REPORTER
Last updated at 11:16 AM on 18th November 2011
Gus Poyet has maintained his defence of fellow Uruguayan Luis Suarez saying he would go to court to prove the Liverpool striker is not a racist.
Suarez was charged by the Football Association earlier this week for allegedly racially abusing Manchester United defender Patrice Evra during the Reds' 1-1 draw last month.
The Merseyside club say their player will deny the charge at a personal hearing and they remain 'fully supportive' of him.
Making his point: Gus Poyet has spoken out in defence of Luis Suarez
Poyet is confident that Suarez should not have a case to answer and, after accusing Evra of 'crying like a baby', he continued to back his countryman.
'I know Luis very well and I will go to court if someone wants to prove he's not racist,' he told TalkSPORT.
'I can assure you and everyone Luis is not a racist. We use different words and it is a different kind of situation.
'We live in Uruguay with plenty of people who have different colour skin. We all live together and play football together.
'What hurts me the most is that you accuse someone. Luis Suarez has been accused of being a racist.'
Poyet believes Suarez's comments have been taken out of context because of cultural differences between England and South America.
Suarez moved to England in January following his transfer to Liverpool and Poyet - who has lived in the UK for 14 years - believes the 24-year-old striker should be cut some slack because racism is perceived differently in his homeland.
Controversy: Patrice Evra accused Suarez of racially abusing him
'You cannot accuse people without a proper investigation, especially when it's a foreigner who is coming from a different place where we treat people of colour in a different way,' he said.
'So it was very easy to accuse someone. Luis Suarez is 100 perr cent not a racist.
'You are not racist when you go against one, but (you are) if you go against the whole world of different colour and nationalities. That is being racist, not saying one word in one moment.
'If that's what you want, fair enough. I take it and accept it. I had to behave in a different way because I've been in England for 13 years. So I know what you are like and I adapt to that.
'Give Suarez another six months and I think he'll be how you want him to be.'
On Thursday night Poyet hit out at Evra, who following the incident told French television station Canal Plus that Suarez had used a racist insult to him 'at least 10 times', for his role in the incident.
Quoted in several newspapers, the former Chelsea and Tottenham midfielder said: 'I played for seven years in Spain and was called everything because I was from South America.
'And I never went out crying like a baby, like Patrice Evra, saying that someone said something to me.'
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1e3Ydd35eTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Uruguayan embassy to help Liverpool's Luis Suárez fight FA charges
Liverpool will have the backing of the Uruguayan football association to help Luis Suárez fight the allegations of racial abuse that have left him open to a long ban and reinforced Kenny Dalglish's view that the authorities are threatening to "walk all over us".
Suárez, who denies the allegations and will plead not guilty, returned from international duty to go straight into talks with Dalglish, Liverpool's manager, about the FA's decision to charge him. Dalglish reiterated that the striker has the club's backing and has been informed that the Uruguayan authorities believe he is innocent. Officials in Montevideo want the help of the Uruguay embassy in London to back Suárez's argument that the words Patrice Evra reported would not be considered offensive in parts of South America.
(continue)"Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Originally posted by Zeppo View PostOfficials in Montevideo want the help of the Uruguay embassy in London to back Suárez's argument that the words Patrice Evra reported would not be considered offensive in parts of South America.
suarez would be better off saying that what he said was inappropriate but i think if he continues to say that he said nothing wrong makes it easier to make a case against him ....
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWell, yuh weren't in South America, tonto!"Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
i have no idea what you are talking about. indigenous SA ancestry??! were they all fools?!?!?
tonto is simply the Spanish word for fool. That's what I was taught in high school several millennia ago.
let's not haul me in front of the courts too, Zeppo. In my country, we call each other tonto all the tiempo.
"in my country we call each other tonto all the time" is what you said...hence it is acceptable IN YOUR COUNTRY... n'est-ce pas? it might NOT be in another jurisdiction... that's all I'm pointing out...which is what the Suarez people are claiming... (I'm just the messenger/interpreter here) ...Peter R