I'm not surprised. It's unbelievable how racist many South Americans are, especially Argentinians...that's why mi no like dem!
Racist fury: Liverpool star Suarez called me the N-word, WOW
Manchester United defender Patrice Evra will pursue racism complaint aganist Liverpool's Luis Suarez
Patrice Evra has told Sir Alex Ferguson he wants to pursue his allegation of racism against Liverpool striker Luis Suarez.
Pushing ahead: Patrice Evra is adamant he wants to follow on his complaint that Luis Suarez racially abused him last weekend Photo: REUTERS
By Telegraph staff and agencies
7:07PM BST 17 Oct 2011
2 Comments
Evra was fuming after Manchester United's 1-1 draw at Anfield on Saturday, claiming in an interview with Canal Plus that Suarez had racially abused him on a number of occasions during the game.
Although the full-back feels TV replays will prove his claims, Suarez has denied them strongly, and has been backed by Liverpool.
Ferguson has sought Evra out for a chat ahead of United's Champions League encounter with Otelul Galati in Romania tomorrow.
And the response was unequivocal.
"I spoke to Patrice today. He is adamant he wants to follow it on," said Ferguson.
Related Articles
- Suarez hits back at Evra over race row
17 Oct 2011 - Evra's allegations against Suárez in keeping with past games
16 Oct 2011 - Mancini says Villarreal game is priority
16 Oct 2011 - De Gea passes Anfield test
17 Oct 2011 - Ferguson: I had to rest Rooney
15 Oct 2011
The controversy came at the end of a game which Ferguson was pleased to report had otherwise passed off without incident.
Prior to Saturday lunchtime's clash, the United boss had urged his club's supporters not to stand during the game, and then pleaded with fans of both sides not to abuse their opponents over the Munich and Hillsborough tragedies respectively.
"It is not an easy one for us," said Ferguson. "Everyone knows Manchester United and Liverpool have great responsibilities in terms of things that happen on the field.
"Saturday was terrific. Both sets of fans were good. There was not any of that silly chanting we have had in previous years. Both sets of fans deserve praise for that.
"It is not something we would want to level against Liverpool and it is not against Liverpool.
"Obviously Patrice feels very aggrieved at what was said to him. It rests in the hands of the FA now."
After leaving Wayne Rooney out of his starting line-up at Anfield because he felt the striker had been mentally affected by the three-match ban he received for his sending off in Montenegro, Ferguson was asked if he was confident Evra was in the right frame of mind to play tomorrow.
"Yes, yes," he replied. "There is no problem."
Uefa and Fifa repeatedly stress their anti-racism stance, yet have fined countries paltry sums when players of international teams have been the subject of racist taunts.
Earlier this month Uefa warned Bulgaria they face a disciplinary hearing into racist taunts during their Euro 2012 qualifier with England in Sofia earlier in the season, although that has been put back to November 17.
"I am not aware of any instances in terms of British football," admitted Ferguson. "We concentrate on our own game. What happens in other countries I am not really sure.
"I read about some things but I have never immersed myself in that kind of thing.
"It doesn't happen in England. There are very few examples of that.
"Since I have come down we have had some fantastic players at Manchester United who have been black, fantastic players.
"It is not an issue for the game itself but there is an odd example.
"Maybe this is what surprised Patrice Evra. He thought he was slighted on Saturday. We don't want to see it. It is as simple as that."
- Suarez hits back at Evra over race row
"It doesn't happen in England. There are very few examples of that.
"Since I have come down we have had some fantastic players at Manchester United who have been black, fantastic players.
"It is not an issue for the game itself but there is an odd example.
"Maybe this is what surprised Patrice Evra. He thought he was slightedon Saturday. We don't want to see it. It is as simple as that."
slighted? i think that is a serious alegation to make for feeling slighted!
I back my dear beloved Liverpool to do the right thing if such claims are proven to be true.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Three points:
1. I do not back any of these teams to do the right thing... not one of them! if in fact a player, especially a key player as Suarez is turning out to be, is guilty of such an offense I see the team trying to minimise the damage rather than seeking to apply an appropriate quantum of justice... this is one reason I would continue to back the "team" which will always be the team regardless of its individual component parts.
2. I would like to think that unless there is concrete evidence we keep an open mind AND NOT IRRATIONALLY equate an alleged racist remark with a blatant handball in the WC match v Ghana / a black team / last year. Totally unrelated as an indicator of one's racist leanings IMHO!
3. Mi wouda hands de ball inna Suarez situation last year!Last edited by Peter R; October 18, 2011, 09:24 AM.Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View Post.............
2. I would like to think that unless there is concrete evidence we keep an open mind AND NOT IRRATIONALLY equate an alleged racisit remark with a blatant handball in a match. Totally unrelated IMHO!
3. Mi wouda hands de ball inna Suarez situation last year!
Thank you! People just getting emotional because he did it against an African team."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
I watched the game too. Saw the squabble and (mimed) exchange. Just find it awsome that you could detail the event.
Maybe I need a bigger TV or better yet...I should move my armchair closer to the TV screeem.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostHe did it against the team I was bringing! It so happened to be an African team!
... and that makes him a racist as some claim or a cheat as others claim? If JA was playing against the same African team and Luton did what Suarez did .... how would you react to it?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
be that as it may emotional african etc .... what wrong wid dat? ongle we not supposed to be emotional?
a handball may not necessarily equal racism but if the thought is "by any means not to lose to this team because they are african" .... i don't know what HIS thoughts are but i do know there are those who feel that way!
what is wrong with emotion? PASSION is an emotion and i see you as PASSIONATE about your "empire".... if emotion gets in the way of reasonableness then ... ok, but being a FAN by definition removes some element of reasonableness.
The Windies supposedly had a similar mindset when playing against England back in the (hey)day... because (they say) Windies did not want to lose to ex-colonial masters and to show them that they (Windies) were as good as the English if not better...
Emotion and passion are a hell of a thing...we cannot underestimate this among players...but it is no reason for racist remarks; these should NEVER be tolerated and penalties should be prohibitive. A deliberate handball on the goal-line is a different cup of tea :Peter R