• Tappa: Ja improving depite losses

Tappa: Ja improving depite losses

BY IAN BURNETT Sport Editor burnetti@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, October 14, 2011

DESPITE the Reggae Boyz suffering their fifth straight loss, head coach Theodore Whitmore says his technical staff saw improvements from the players in their 1-2 loss to Honduras in La Ceiba on Tuesday.

The Boyz conceded a second-minute goal through striker Jerry Bengtson, but they clawed their way back and created enough chances to have taken the lead at the break.

WHITMORE... overall I thought it was a good performance from the team

However, all they had to show for their effort in the first 45 minutes was a wonderful free-kick by Demar Phillips, which left the team on even par.

"Despite the loss we saw more enthusiasm, more commitment from the players and we looked a lot more organised, even with a new system of play and some new players in the team, so overall I thought it was a good performance from the team," Whitmore told the Observer.

With Jamaica set to kick-off their campaign in the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Series next June, Whitmore and the technical staff are trying to identify players they believe can bolster the squad.

The technical staff is also trying a new 4-4-1-1 formation, as opposed to the 3-4-3 system used with some degree of success at the Gold Cup this summer in the United States.

The Boyz never got it together with any degree of consistency on Tuesday, but Whitmore believes it will take time for the players to understand and adapt to the new system.

"We still have a lot of work to do; we still have areas that need working on, but it's work in progress and we're trying to identify players for these positions and it will be just a matter of time before we get it right," he said.

Having drawn level on the stroke of half-time through Phillips' beauty, the Boyz gave up the go-ahead goal in the 56th when Mario Martinez was given too much room on the right.

He eluded two feeble challenges before unleashing a rasping left-footed drive which took a wicked deflection to wrong-foot Dwayne Miller in goal.

The Boyz tried desperately to get an equaliser but could not get close enough to Donis Esober's goal, and had it not been for excellent work from Miller in goal, the Boyz could have lost by a much wider margin.

For Whitmore, the agony continues as his players find it hard to hit the target, especially after creating multiple chances in the first half.

"That was a major concern in the game for us because when you get chances like those and don't put them away it will always be difficult for the team to win.

"But we have players out there who can do the job, so hopefully we'll get them into the team with enough time to prepare for the Qualifiers," he said.

Regarding the three English-born players who made their debuts, he said they deserve more time to show what they are made of.

"It was their first game and as footballers they would want to make a good impression on the coach, but we need to give them another game to see how well they cope with the situation."

Whitmore said they will continue to search for players to do the job. "There are areas and we need to identify players who we believe are committed and who... can solve some of our problems going forward."

Teams:
    Jamaica -- Dwayne Miller, Shavar Thomas, Jermaine Taylor, Nathan Smith, Rodolph Austin, Jason Morrison (Jevaughn Watson 72nd), Marvin Elliott, Demar Phillips, Dane Richards (Damion Williams 80th), Keammar Daley, Omar Cummings (Marcus Bean 83rd).

Booked: Richards (52nd), Daley (52nd), Elliott (83rd), Williams (86th)
    Subs not used: Gariece McPherson, Richard Edwards, Keneil Moodie, Xavian Virgo, Wolry Wolfe.

Honduras -- Donis Esober (Donaldo Morales 46th), Maynor Figueroa, Osman Chavez (Mauricio Sabillon 80th), Julio Cesar De Leon (Abner Mendez 89th), Royer Espinoza, Mario Martinez (Alfredo Mejia 76th), Bryan Bekeles, Jorge Carlos, Eric Morales, Roger Rojas, Jerry Bengtson (Boniek Garcia 73rd).
    Booked: Morales (88th)

Subs not used: Johny Leveron

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1aneRU7Bc

"...overall good performance..."

A weh di...?

I don't want any of what Tappa is smoking!