• MBUFC's Powell: No need to panic

MBUFC's Powell: No need to panic

Published: Saturday | October 1, 2011

Businessman Orville Powell, president of Montego Bay United Football Club (MBUFC), unveiling the club's blueprint at the recent launch of the club in Montego Bay. - Photo by Adrian Frater

MoBay outfit ready to break winless drought
    Adrian Frater, News Editor

Western Bureau:
    Despite losing two of their three games, businessman Orville Powell, president of National Premier League (NPL) outfit Montego Bay United Football Club (MBUFC), says there is no reason to start pushing the panic button as the team is playing well, albeit that they are yet to win a game.

"There is no reason to panic," said Powell, who bought the franchise for former national champions Seba United earlier this year and rebranded the organisation MBUFC. "We are a forward-thinking organisation and we know that things will get better soon."

In their opening game, MBUFC enjoyed a 1-0 lead for a considerable period against champions Tivoli Gardens, which rallied strongly to win 2-1. In their second game, they took a 1-0 lead but had to settle for a 1-1 draw against Boys' Town, while in third game leaders Waterhouse clipped them 1-0.

Reason for sluggish start
    Powell believes that MBUFC's sluggish start to the season has more to do with their failure to execute a proper preseason programme than any lack of competence in terms of the quality of the team.

"I believe we have a very good crop of players but our preseason preparation was not good, so we did not enter the competition as sharp as we should have," said Powell. "Nonetheless, people have been complementing us on our style of play, and we believe we are now ready to start winning."

"I believe the players have now 'jelled' sufficiently," continued Powell. "I believe we are now ready to start producing positive results and hopefully, it could start against Harbour View tomorrow."

While he has a lot of faith in the current crop of players on the MBUFC roster, based on his long-term plan to become a powerhouse in national football, Powell has plans in place to strengthen the team with players recruited from South America.

"We have identified the players we want, and once we get the required international clearance, we will be bringing them here to start training with the team," said Powell. "We should have the services of these players after the next transfer window is closed."

Although he is fully focused on the MBUFC vision and refuses to be distracted in any significant way, Powell is concerned about the phenomenal cost of using the Montego Bay Sports Complex, which they choose to use as their home ground.

"We have to be paying $300,000 per game for rental and when you multiply that by 19 home games, that is a massive sum," said Powell. "I am hoping that we will be able to negotiate a reduction in the price."

However, come what may, Powell says MBUFC is here to stay as he is fully committed to making the club a success.

"We are still feeling the buzz and confidence is quite high," said Powell. "We know what we want to do and we are confident that we will be able to do it."

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports4.html

That story looks familiar....

No panic!
    Coaches of western Ja NPL teams say no need to worry
    BY PAUL A REID Observer West writer
    Thursday, September 29, 2011

MONTEGO BAY, St James — DESPITE the slow start to the National Premier League (NPL) season with just one win from nine games, coaches of the western teams say it is way too early to start pressing the panic button.
    Yesterday Pastor Hugh Solomon, the coach of the Montego Bay United FC (MBUFC) team, and Michael 'Jimmy' Graham, assistant coach of Reno told Observer West they expected their respective teams to start playing better as of this weekend's round of matches.
    Lacon Brissett of Village United lets fly with a shot against Humble Lion in Sunday's NPL game at the Trelawny Multi- Purpose stadium. Humble Lion won the game 2-1. (Photo: Paul Reid)
    1/1
    Of the three teams from western Jamaica taking part in the competition, only Reno has managed to score a win so far, when they upset Boys' Town 1-0 on the opening weekend at Collie Smith Drive. They are now the best placed from the region in eighth place with three points.
    Newly promoted MBUFC drew their opening home game against Boys' Town on the second weekend and has one point and in (11th place), while Village United has lost all three games so far and is on the bottom of the 12 team league.
    "Certainly not," Solomon said, when asked if it was time to start worrying. "It is still early in the season and we have 39 games to play so we are not panicking," he told Observer West.
    "The beauty with MoBay United is that we have been playing good football, but we are just not finishing but we will get it soon," said Solomon who has served a previous stint at Village United.
    He said they had given the team "five games to gel" and said they were ahead of schedule having accomplished this in three games, promising a better performance when they take on Harbour View at the Montego Bay Sports Complex on Sunday.
    Reno's Graham agreed with Solomon that no panic was necessary and said they were forced to use a lot of younger players due to the departure of several players to other clubs during the transfer period.
    "Reno is a work in progress" he said "we need to exercise more patience with these youngsters as it is the first experience at this level for a lot of them and we have to be teaching them the game at the Premier League level."
    Graham, a former national player, said he expects the team to get better and get better results, "as the season gets longer the team will get better," he explained.
    Reno will be home to Portmore United on Sunday and Graham said he expects the turn around to begin then, but conceded that the team cannot continue to miss scoring chances and still be competitive, adding "when we start scoring the goals we have been creating, the players will get more confidence moving forward".
    Additionally, the three western teams are at the bottom of the league in scoring goals, Village and MBUFC have managed just two goals so far, while Reno has scored once.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste...#ixzz1ZaExO5vN

what happened to the likkle beard?!!

i think he should.. they are not getting results.. is the pastor man the right man for the job.?? They cannot afford to go back down..

I hear Tappa is supposed to be the man in the background but he cant give instructions on match day