Just had a chat with a past Jamaica U-17 & U20 player

• Just had a chat with a past Jamaica U-17 & U20 player

Asked why we failed to qualify in the years he played, he something like this - It was not because we did not have the inherent qualities, but lack of preparation.

U-17s -Looking back it appeared the JFF thought spending two weeks in Brazil would bring us up to speed. It just does not work that way.

We could not keep up with our opponents because we had never performed tactically and technically at that speed. Not that we could not trap, pass and do all manner of tricks with the ball...but, they move so very fast. You would have to do the things you know at much faster pace to be able to keep up.

WhenI asked if it was not similar to preparing a DaCosta Cup team by playing against the 2nd formers he laughed (uproariously)...and agreed it was somewhat like that.

He said our national teams need to prepare against tough top competition.He is confident if that ever happens...that will be when we shall start to win the matches against Mexico, the USA and top teams.

RE: Just had a chat with a past Jamaica U-17 & U20 player

Just realised the player was saying his teammates and his coaches had the basic qualities to have his then team win matches.

The coaches were in the mainJamaicans.

He has a great grasp of the obvious !

And here we are almost 10 yrs later and still no learn dat.

Oh and we produce the most sprinters per capita in the world yet still we have a speed problem.

We need to get real.

If this below statement from the JFF is correct:

Members of the <B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal">National U-23 squad [/B]preparing for the <B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal">Lunar New Year Cup [/B]in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1lace w:st="on"><B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal">Hong Kong[/B]</st1lace><B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal"> February 18 – 21 [/B]will be in attendance as well as <B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal">Technical Director Bora Milutinovic.[/B]

<B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal">Then it begs the question: where is the U-20 squad???????[/B]

On the matter of running - He said it was not that most of the players could not run as fast as the opponents - actually said - dem cudden run faster dan wi, butdem kno what they were going to do early - (my interpretation: meaning the opponents went into 'their moves'/started 'their moves'long before he and his teammates thought that was where they were going) - and they were *fit (fitter than he and his teammates were - took that to mean: as the games wore on the swift moving around of the opponentscausedthe members of his teams as they tried to 'keep up'...to bus )

*Assumed trying to operate for 90 minutes(?)at higher pace than being accustomed,took its toll.

I knew exactly what he meant but dont our brain just as sharp as theirs to ? so we can think at the same speed.

Question why is it that I and other Jamaicans whohave to compete in a work environment with other people from all over first world and all I can do it well but once we get on a ball filed is a different thing ?

Now my schooling isn't better or even on par with most of these guys hell I didn't even go to college in America or some other industrialized nation.

So why we so backward in ball ?

Scaly, me White Hart Lane sufferer , ball intelligence can only come from playing on a regular basis against quality opponents. Your fitness level also plays a big part too. Last year at the picnic, I was the wikkidest baller on the field..... in my mind. I saw each play long before the ball reach me, but my body couldn't react as fast.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

hahahahaha!!!

jangle u funny no rahtid

Scaly (2/6/2007)hahahahaha!!!

jangle u funny no rahtid
                  Funny? Yes! ...but the point was well made. If you have not been 'training'/preparing in an environment which has you thinking along the lines of the lines of the required work over some sustained period you will not be able to re-act at the speed necessary to 'walk' with those who have had that 'training'...

...and, if you are not as fit - physically and mentally - you will even if you have had some training...tire and end up falling behind the fit ones.

trus mi iffen yuh turn up physically tired at work, you shall not be able to give your usual good performance. ...trus mi!

Karl (2/6/2007)On the matter of running - He said it was not that most of the players could not run as fast as the opponents - actually said - dem cudden run faster dan wi, butdem kno what they were going to do early - (my interpretation: meaning the opponents went into 'their moves'/started 'their moves'long before he and his teammates thought that was where they were going) - and they were *fit (fitter than he and his teammates were - took that to mean: as the games wore on the swift moving around of the opponentscausedthe members of his teams as they tried to 'keep up'...to bus )

*Assumed trying to operate for 90 minutes(?)at higher pace than being accustomed,took its toll.
                    <DIV></DIV><DIV>What kinda pace yuh talking bout? Do you mean pace over ground? :hehe:</DIV>