• Positive in defeat

Positive in defeat - JFF says Boyz learning crucial lessons for Brazil 2014

JFF regrets slide, says Boyz work in progress

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer staff reporter
    walker@jamaicaobserver.com

Thursday, September 08, 2011

DESPITE the Reggae Boyz suffering their fourth consecutive loss on Tuesday night, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) is not too perturbed, revealed head of the Technical Committee, Howard McIntosh.

"The first objective and nobody can argue, was to get games and we have been getting on all of the FIFA dates," said McIntosh, while intransit at the Miami International Airport, en route to Jamaica.

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida — Colombia's Falcao Garcia (left), and teammate Carlos Sanchez (right) double teams Jamaica's Rodolph Austin during their soccer friendly at Lockhart Stadium here on Tuesday. Colombia won 2-0. (Photo: AP)

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida — Jamaica's Demar Phillips (left) and Colombia's Luis Amaranto Perea in an aerial battle for the ball during their friendly international match at Lockhart Stadium here on Tuesday. Colombia Turn to BOYZ on Page 39 won 2-0. (Photo: AP)

McIntosh was on hand to see Jamaica succumbed to their second defeat in five days at the Lockhart Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

"Second, the quality of the games are definitely improving and most recently we have played South American teams. This is not just CONCACAF teams and I think this has been a tremendous learning experience for the team and the coaching staff in terms of what it really takes to go through World Cup qualifiers and playing under different circumstances," he noted.
    Of note, all these matches were away games for Jamaica, and against Colombia the team performed better, but still came up short.

On August 10, the team travelled thousands of miles to the Far East and lost 0-1 to a China team in World Cup qualifying mode. Then it was off to South America in the high altitude of Quito, Ecuador, some 9,000 feet above sea level where the crashed 2-5.

Prior to that, they were eliminated from the CONCACAF Gold Cup by host United States of America (USA) 0-2 after impressively breezing through the first round amassing three consecutive wins over Grenada, Guatemala and Honduras.

"We travelled for two days to play China, we travelled up to Ecuador to play under very trying circumstances and that is part of how to adjust under different conditions. From that stand point it was excellent experience," explained McIntosh.

But he was quick to point out the importance of positive results. "Of course we wanted results, but again we have to understand we are in preparation time and the coaches are testing and looking at different players, so it is an important step in our preparations".

Goals by Teofilo Gutierrez of Athletico Madrid in the 56th and substitute Jason Martinez of Argentinian club Racing in the 90th minute, were enough to see off the Reggae Boyz.

"The truth is, in this last game, we saw an opportunity to actually win the game. If you look at the first half, which was 0-0, shows that you are competing, things fell down in the second half and we will have to analyse it and the coaches will have to discuss it," said McIntosh.

Meanwhile, with Jamaica rattling up the losses, the cries for the English-born overseas players are getting louder to be integrated into the unit early enough.

"One of the things this coaching staff has done is to develop a very deep pool of players. I know that they are committed to that and as I have always said, any player that is good enough will get a chance to play and I am sure the coaches are looking at all their options and that means they will be looking at the English players as well," said McIntosh.

Meanwhile, a surprise may be in store for local fans as international football could return to the 'Office' as early as next month during the next FIFA windows.

"The plan is to try and get enough games on the FIFA dates and I know the president is working on it. One of the possibilities, is to have a home game," McIntosh revealed.

But the head of the Technical Committee is asking fans to be patient with the team and would love to see that culture of passion and love for the team.

"As we continue to develop the culture of football we want the fans to not only support the team when the team is in World Cup qualifiers or the Olympics, you have to cheer for the team at the developmental games and come and support," he pleaded.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1XMi11WIy

In odda words...it's time to be thoughtful & analytical....not panicked like some exhibit

You Hit The Nail On The Head

In odda words...it's time to be thoughtful & analytical....not panicked like some exhibit
      In all international matches coaches are dealing with finding players who are going to be winners not loosers with loosing attitudes. This take matches, time, money and of courses good training. In international matches leading up to W/C qualifiers is not always the best training situations to prepare your team for the next match. Why panic out there.....these are only practice matches for the real things to come. We can't think any other way no matter how we ALL hate loosing.

Paul Banta

Nonsense Karl. True champions always, at least make good efforts. Lets face it, the Jamaican team is highly overrated and, in its current form will fail during qualifiers. If this guy McIntosh were on staff with a country of true football champions he would have been perturbed,or fired for not being perturbed. Look, this thing about getting the team up to scratch for qualifiers is a joke. We must understand that the team, and available players taht we have most likely have reached their potential, and the local talent pool at home hve for decades resisted being raised to a higher standard, based on a number of factors, not the least of which is lack of inates skill. Please forgive me for saying this, but as much as we would like to not admit this, our farm system, which is basically Dcup, and Manning cup are way below par compared to most football nations in Africa, Latin America, Europe, and probably even in Asia. For us to qualify we must look outside our pool of local, or locally developed talent and search for players who were developed outside of our country.

Just my opinion.

Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
          In all international matches coaches are dealing with finding players who are going to be winners not loosers with loosing attitudes. This take matches, time, money and of courses good training. In international matches leading up to W/C qualifiers is not always the best training situations to prepare your team for the next match. Why panic out there.....these are only practice matches for the real things to come. We can't think any other way no matter how we ALL hate loosing.

Paul Banta
          Yuhzimi? mi nuh know ah wha duh sum ah dem peeple yah faada... problem dehdeh yes...but ah juss early juggling dis.

If we see the entire campaign as a game of 90 mins... we are just 5 minutes in the game and looking a likkle shaky.... but that is no time to make wholesale changes ... it is a time to tinker & experiment with a few additional players & formations against stronger teams than we're used to playing.... until we learn how to cope with them

The development curve cannot be a straight upward line... ups & downs are inevitable...panic is not the correct response in a period of learning and growing

Quite suh sah, di summary inna two words ah 'early juggling'

foolishness. We need to start looking at all players now and see how they can compliment each other. No time for early juggling. If we want to blood youths or players we should give them a chance with more season profesionals. It's easy for a youth or Ja based baller to improve or play better when they are rubbing shoulders or competing with more seasoned campainers on the field and in training. What we need to do is call some of the UK ballers along with the JA ballers. The last 3 games could have been used to look at 2 or so UK ballers in each game without the yard ballers loosing their opportunity. Blend youth and inexperience with experienced profesionals and you will get an overall better work rate, attitude and effort from the entire team who would now know they have to work extra hard for a place in the team...This what they are doing is crap..nothing more than utter garbage.
              I also agree that the ReggaeBoyz are totally overrated. If we are playing 1-2 ball against opponents who have mastered this for years we have no chance of winning. Quality opponents will destroy us because they are simply better than us at this. We had a good run in the past when we had the likes of Fuller, Boyd, Nandi Lowe, who can take on players and attract 2 -3 defenders. Without this, we won't get anywhere far..Who thinks dribbling is overrated? What do we have over the likes of the US, Columbia, Ecaudor, and others who are much more disciplined than us. While I agree with team ball, we do need the odd player like K. Daley and even Shelton with his speed who can make a difference against top quality opponents.

Plush, I have heard this "lets scout the entire island for local talent" nonsense for decades now. Its utter waste of time. The best talent that we have already have the exposure they need in the form of high school, prep school, kindergarten, club, college, university, 4H-club, infant school, church league, corner league, community league football. All of these are fairly well organized. The players have been exposed. There simply is nothing there. Our players are in general substandard at most levels when compared to football playing nations. I have seen many Reggae Boyz teams play in the past, and in most instances the locally based teams are nothing short of embarassing. They simply play poor football. Many scouts have come here hoping to recruit talent, and cut their stay short after seeing what we have to offer. Lets stop kidding. Recruit players who were developed and in many instances born overseas but qualify by ancestry. Build the team around them, and hopefully our local palyers can learn a thing or two. We cant build a team around the local talent pool that we have. They are not very good, and perhaps will take to long to develop, or may never be developable to acceptable international standards. Lets do the right thing to qualify.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                  Plush, I have heard this "lets scout the entire island for local talent" nonsense for decades now. Its utter waste of time. The best talent that we have already have the exposure they need in the form of high school, prep school, kindergarten, club, college, university, 4H-club, infant school, church league, corner league, community league football. All of these are fairly well organized. The players have been exposed. There simply is nothing there. Our players are in general substandard at most levels when compared to football playing nations. I have seen many Reggae Boyz teams play in the past, and in most instances the locally based teams are nothing short of embarassing. They simply play poor football. Many scouts have come here hoping to recruit talent, and cut their stay short after seeing what we have to offer. Lets stop kidding. Recruit players who were developed and in many instances born overseas but qualify by ancestry. Build the team around them, and hopefully our local palyers can learn a thing or two. We cant build a team around the local talent pool that we have. They are not very good, and perhaps will take to long to develop, or may never be developable to acceptable international standards. Lets do the right thing to qualify.
                  R'Doc...Individual Jamaican players have the same or even better potential (with our natural speed and aggression) than those in most football nations.

Where we completely fail is in the development of the TEAM concept. This is a foreign construct to Jamaicans. We are a country of individuals...which is why overall the country is in a shiithole.... we do not like to work together for the benefit of ALL.. but produce brilliant individuals. If somehow track was a team sport we would not be as successful because of our extreme individualism.

The fact is the leagues you mention are NOT well organized...primarily because the coaching and team preparation & development is ******** poor from the primary level up to the NPL.

To this problem there are no quick fixes...well I guess there is ...a wholesale importation of foreigners...Jamaican nationals by convenience...every 4 years or so to try to qualify for the World Cup. This short term focus will ensure that we NEVER develop good teams organically & consistently... many of the foreigners do not have the dedication of the UB40 Class of 1998

What Jamaica has to do and has refused to do... is to consistently build the capacity to produce good teams from the primary to the senior levels...investing in coaching, administration, facilities and sports science.

There are some small signs of this development happening now but no doubt as usual it will get swept aside by the quick fix short term mentality and need for rapid results. If we had put in place consistent development say 12 years ago.. utilizing the euphoria of '98 we would not be having this particular conversation in 2011.

I fear in 2028 the conversation will still be alive...Englishman to di rescue..papering over the cracks but refusing to fix the foundation
                  Last edited by Don1; September 9, 2011, 07:26 AM.

Scouting the island for talent will never be a waste of time , like recruiting from overseas will never be a waste of time, the objective is to get the best.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

All we need is 3 or 4 good players. We have a decent core. What we need is mostly defense and midfield. There were always signs that especially the defense wasn't strong enough. There was a reason Tappa even included Goodison and Marshall in the team.

If Bibi get a few run in Bolton and get back in form and if Tappa them call Karl Henry then we just need another two decent players. No need to panic and call substandard players who can't add anything to the team.

We have we goalie that is out right now so that is another big improvement.

ok boss

Scouting the island for talent will never be a waste of time , like recruiting from overseas will never be a waste of time, the objective is to get the best.
                          And what happens when those overseas are injured?

ReggaeDoc! Did your experiment or transplant procedure become a success at the first attempt. Did it not take an experience teacher to train you as a novice? The same rule applies here.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                            Brethren we need a 2 pronged approach to developing our team. We need to put structures and processes in place to develop our local talent and we need to scout foreign for the right Jamaicans born abroad. What we need is to have a large pool of dedicated ballas that want to wear our colours and then select the appropriate team for the occasion.

I hear you dread, but truth be told, if we do that in a honest manner, most of the team will finally come from overseas players. The local talent pool is crap, and it is not for a lack of exposure. The local players representing us is about the best we have. The skill level is just not up to international standard. We have a tendency to overrate ourselves and the overall advancement suffers as a result. I remember when the so called local experts were forcing Lamay down the throats of technical directors, especially those from abroad. You would have thought Lamay was the best thing since sliced bread. Well he got his chance, I saw him, and there was nothing there. In fact his performance was nothing short of embarassing. To qualify we will need a team based on foreign professionals with the occasional local player. The problem is getting the commitment