Observer EDITORIAL: Independence, Mr Whitmore and...

• Observer EDITORIAL: Independence, Mr Whitmore and...

Independence, Mr Whitmore and the business of sports

Saturday, August 06, 2011

TODAY we celebrate our 49th birthday as an independent nation, somewhat comforted by the fact that we have developed a very strong international sporting pedigree and tradition..

Nonetheless, it is our humble view that successive governments have been tardy in displaying the requisite foresight and respect sport deserves, resulting in us not maximising on our sporting potential.

Still, we take solace in the fact that at 49, we are still a relatively young country. Hopefully our leaders will eventually come to the realisation that sport is big business which has the potential to greatly impact the economy.

No sport can boast of greater economic potential than football and a week ago the world governing body of football, FIFA, held its draw in a glitzy ceremony in Rio de Janeiro for the qualification rounds of the 2014 Brazil World Cup Finals. Jamaica emerged as one of the seeded teams, which will see us bowing into action at the semi-final phase of the CONCACAF fixture in June next year.

The Jamaica Football Federation’s general secretary, Mr Horace Reid, who along with president, Captain Horace Burrell, was in South America for the draw, was upbeat about the possibilities for the Boyz..

“We can top the group with good preparation, solid application and the fervent support of a unified and motivated country, as was the experience in the France '98 campaign,” he told the Sunday Observer.
    We agree with Mr Reid that success requires the nation’s collective support.

However, we wish to charge the JFF leadership that like in the 1998 campaign, it must guide from the front with wisdom and foresight.
    We submit that the JFF leadership erred in appointing coaches, Mr Sebastiao Lazaroni and Mr Rene Simoes at the ‘11th hour’ in the last two World Cup campaigns in 2006 and 2010, which played a role in our failure to qualify.

We hold both gentlemen in the highest esteem, but their last minute appointments disrupted the programmes and we were never able to recover.

Who can forget Mr Lazaroni’s famous explanation: “I don’t know the players,” when he failed to make the obvious substitutions against the USA, who rallied to pull off an 88th minute equaliser against some tired Reggae Boyz in a World Cup qualifier at the National Stadium in 2004.

Then after Mr Simoes was hired in late 2007, merely a few months before the start of qualifiers, he went about scouting for players even after the campaign started, forcing the JFF boss to fire him after his refusal to change his policy with a handful of games remaining in the semi-final phase.

It should be remembered that Serbian coach Mr Bora Milutinovic had already spent the better part of a year under the previous JFF administration scouting players, with the ultimate aim of creating a pool of players good enough to contest the qualifiers.

Now present head coach Mr Theodore Whitmore has been given a full four-year cycle to prepare a team for Brazil, and after a shaky start, he has managed to win the Caribbean Cup and followed up with an impressive performance at the recent CONCACAF Gold Cup.

He now needs the full support of the JFF leadership as he continues to mould a solid squad over the next 10 months. The JFF should give him the freedom to lead the technical area. He deserves it.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz1UGAUDrTm

why is Whitmore still the coach of Seba(MBFU)?

He shouldn't be a club coach while national senior coach.

What is his arrangement with the JFF?
      Security of tenue granted?

no job is secured.

Sass, I read that story this morning and was shocked that Whitmore was coaching MBUFC. This seems a throwback to times past when we would have a Carl Brown coaching Boys Town and Jamaica, or a George T coaching Arnett and Jamaica.

It doesn't seem right on a few levels! It could be looked at a s a conflict of interest but, even more so, one wonders where Whitmore finds the time! As the TD or National head coach, it would appear that his time should be taken up with national programs such as scouting, holding camps & lectures, going from game to game to see players in action etc.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

You said it my brethren. He shouldn't be the head coach of any club.

"...a suh the ting set..."

hehehe..always wanted to say that

Sounds like the jamaican constitution in simple terms.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lazaroni was not brought on to qualify dem out of di 3rd round.. Carl Brown was on the bench.. tyad fi hear di foolishness bout the USA game. When wi evah beat di US ?

Wi got 2 points from 2 games VS USA. Very good result !

What kill dem was losing to Panama and drawing with El Salvador in the Office (1 goal from bout 50 attempts)..dat nevah have nutting tuh duh wid who was coach.. coach cyaan score goal.

Eediat argument dem ah still try force...

Just be careful you don't get in trouble from the forum status quo pundits for that statement X.

Want me to list their names?

laza had nothing to do with the success of that team, the little success we had.

It was just the best, organized, tactical ball ever played by the Reggaeboyz..

Coincidence...

Carl Brown had already shown such a team in previous games with that very team.

yes.. Lazaroni has nothing over Karl Brown..

lol ! woiie !

Memba seh dis is a public site.. suppose one Brazilian ah read dem post yah.?

Have a likkle self respect nuh..

cho...

Wha mek yuh continue to offer that comment fi a team that failed miserably?