JFF ban King for two years

• JFF ban King for two years

<TABLE class="moving articleDiv null" id=Art style="DISPLAY: block; Z-INDEX: 800; LEFT: 30px; VISIBILITY: visible; WIDTH: 600px; TOP: 552px; HEIGHT: 450px" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 maxwidth="90%" maxheight="90%" related="articleContent" minwidth="600" minheight="200"><TBODY><TR height="100%"><TD id=ARTICLEWIN_CONTENT vAlign=center align=middle bgColor=#ffffff colSpan=2><TABLE style="BORDER-TOP: black 2px solid; BORDER-BOTTOM: black 2px solid" height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width="100%"><DIV id=articleContent style="OVERFLOW: auto; WIDTH: 400px; HEIGHT: 100%"><DIV class=scrolling id=insideDiv style="PADDING-RIGHT: 21px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px"><DIV class=HTMLTitle><SPAN id=Ar0170000 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">King slapped with two-year ban </SPAN></DIV><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><DIV class=HTMLByline><SPAN id=Ar0170002 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">BY KAYON RAYNOR Observer staff reporter </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><A class=AP_LNK_HTML_EML id=AP_LNK_ANCHOR &#111;nclick="curArt.gotoLink('LNK_17_0')">raynork </A><A class=AP_LNK_HTML_EML id=AP_LNK_ANCHOR &#111;nclick="curArt.gotoLink('LNK_17_0')">@</A><A class=AP_LNK_HTML_EML id=AP_LNK_ANCHOR &#111;nclick="curArt.gotoLink('LNK_17_0')">jamaica observer</A><A class=AP_LNK_HTML_EML id=AP_LNK_ANCHOR &#111;nclick="curArt.gotoLink('LNK_17_0')">.</A><A class=AP_LNK_HTML_EML id=AP_LNK_ANCHOR &#111;nclick="curArt.gotoLink('LNK_17_0')">com</A> </SPAN><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"></DIV><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><DIV class=HTMLContent style="OVERFLOW: auto"><SPAN id=Ar0170001 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"></SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">SEVEN months after the Jamaica Football Federation’s (JFF’s) disciplinary committee began deliberations into misconduct charges against Marlon King on the two-match England tour in May and June, the striker has been given a two-year ban. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">General secretary of the JFF Burchell Gibson told the Sunday Observer yesterday that the four-person disciplinary committee, chaired by former president Heron Dale, examined the case on Thursday night after hearing from King that they should proceed with the case in his absence. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">“They looked at the case and the decision taken by the management committee in England was upheld,” Gibson said. The three other committee members who heard the case were Neville Oxford, Jackie Cummings and Bobby Smith. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">On June 1 last year King, along with teammates Jason Euell and Jamal Campbell-Ryce, was expelled for disciplinary reasons prior to the Reggae Boyz’s historic match against England on June 3, which Jamaica lost 6–0 at Old Trafford. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Euell and Campbell-Ryce received lighter punishments and were fined half their match fees after the JFF management and technical staff heard appeals by all three players. The JFF had earlier expelled the three, who had broken a team curfew. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">According to Gibson, “The committee also further imposed a two-year suspension on Mr King from all national duty and representation of all football staged by Jamai

RE: JFF ban King for two years

King should retire from international football effective immediately. Banning a player for two years for this alleged incident is excessive.

Yes two years is excessive and maybe he can appeal and have it reduced by half, not sure but based on the first hand information I got, his reaction would not have helped.

Therefore the punishment is not because he missed curfew perse but how he reacted after he was spoken to...I heard he went on really bad and even when the other two who were with him begged him to chill he went on with a barrage of F-bombs directed not just at Boxhill and the JFF but also Jamaica.

I have no reaosn to doubt the person who told me what happened and whenI can accept King's barrage against Boxhill and the JFF, I could not in any good conscience applaud any athlete who would launch a broadside against Jamaica the way King did.

All this might be moot however as he told them that night he did not need Jamaica so maybe he wont be affected by the ban anyways.

Sickko (2/4/2007)Yes two years is excessive and maybe he can appeal and have it reduced by half, not sure but based on the first hand information I got, his reaction would not have helped.

Therefore the punishment is not because he missed curfew perse but how he reacted after he was spoken to...I heard he went on really bad and even when the other two who were with him begged him to chill he went on with a barrage of F-bombs directed not just at Boxhill and the JFF but also Jamaica.

I have no reaosn to doubt the person who told me what happened and whenI can accept King's barrage against Boxhill and the JFF, I could not in any good conscience applaud any athlete who would launch a broadside against Jamaica the way King did.

All this might be moot however as he told them that night he did not need Jamaica so maybe he wont be affected by the ban anyways.
          This JFF reporting of King's behaviour sounds ----

a) First his barage was directed at the JFF's President.

b) Then it expanded to include the JFF's General Secretary.

c) It has now been further expanded to Jamaica.

d) When will Boxhill and his JFF expand it to include 'haul a wi mumma'? :w00t:

Some newpaper reports on the King Issue includingreports of one of the JFF's president statement on the matter- <P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...ing&amp;id=979<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...ing&amp;id=980<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...ing&amp;id=985

Sickko (2/4/2007)

I have no reason to believe that King attacked Jamaica and the people of this country during the mishap. Sicko, If you know for a fact that he did, maybe you should write an official article...instead of spreading propoganda on this message board.

The article claimed that the reason for King's suspension was the fact that he broke curfew...nothing else....Perhaps what you should be addreessing is the fact that there is also word that there was never an official curfew set....

Well, now that we have closed the chapter on marlon King's international career...cant wait for November to come around...when we send Crenston Boxhill back to Inspecting Motor Vehicles.

Still baffled as to why it took them this long to come to a decision though.

President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Karl, I understand his barrage left no one untouched.

Excessive?!?! Ever stop to think that his reaction was excessive? From what I hear, he's lucky it wasn't a lifetime ban.

What hypocrites we are! We call for discipline and decency and then we want to allow someone to tell everybody, including a sovereign nation, about what to do wid dem modda. I will respect the JFF's decision on this.

Reggae-fan, we can all take comfort in the fact that when Boxhill goes back to inspecting motor vehicles, whoever takes over the JFF can rescind the ban.

Mosiah (2/4/2007)
                Excessive?!?! Ever stop to think that his reaction was excessive? From what I hear, he's lucky it wasn't a lifetime ban.
                Mosiah, there are two sides to every story, and you are only coming here with the JFF's version of events, and in essence half the story. We are talking about theJFF that failed to provide enough towels for a team for an international football match, and one that was fined $5,000US for failure to provide a copy of the national anthem.

I would like to hear from the other players who present at the incident.

And why do you think I'm giving the JFF's side of the incident? Yuh seem to forget I know quite a few people who went on that trip.

Mosiah (2/4/2007)
                    Reggae-fan, we can all take comfort in the fact that when Boxhill goes back to inspecting motor vehicles, whoever takes over the JFF can rescind the ban.
                    Mosiah, you and Sicko can come with all the "hear say" there is in the books. Personally, I never heard where King lambasted Jamaica in public, so I cant comment onsuch allegations..

I do know that he exposed the amateur ways in which the JFF did things on the England tour (lack of towels, etc etc).....If that is what is being percieved as his atack on Jamaica...then I back him 100%, and if you dont..then it looks like you are the real hypocrite.

Yes, looking forward to the day when Boxhill takes back his rightfull place in society...inspecting motor vehicles. Only god knows why it took them 8 months to take a simple decision such as this one. IfKing diessed Jamaica as badly as you and Sicko claim..it shoildnt take them all of 8 months to decide what to do with him.

By the way...didnt we ban Lowe for life for walking off the field vs Mexico?
                    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Karl, I understand his barrage left no one untouched.

What hypocrites we are! We call for discipline and decency and then we want to allow someone to tell everybody, including a sovereign nation, about what to do wid dem modda. I will respect the JFF's decision on this.
                      I think you need to look at the reports, including the JFF's series of pronouncements on this matter.

A reasonable person cannot arrive at a conclusion without a look at the series of events that led up toMarlon's outburst and Boxhill's JFF actions.

The JFF through its president took the belittlingand denigrating action of locking the players out of their rooms under the given false pretense of having a curfew in place. That has been attested to by members of the touring party.

It is true that two wrong do not make a right...but, justice demands that the injustice delivered that led directly to Marlon's actions be considered.

Based on today'sreport copiedon our sitethe JFF president insists on standing by the lies. We cannot talk about corruption without addressing this corrupt action. Trying to gloss over it while pontificating...is the hyprocrisy.

Unfortunately the actions of the JFF president and either a memberand ormembers of his administration suggests justice was not done.

There is no comfort it that. It places the incoming president in the unfortunate position of having to make a decision on a matter that should already have been competently handled.

Certainly it cannot be the suggestion that each holder of the office of president of the JFF can 'do any f*&amp;^%$#@*ry as the predecessor would be there to clean up the mess? What a terrible way that would be to run a business!

Karl (2/4/2007)

It is true that two wrong do not make a right...but, justice demands that the injustice delivered that led directly to Marlon's actions be considered.

Karl, we have been thru this already. Not because the JFF might have erred or lied about a curfew means that players can carry on any old way. If you can't understand that, then...

Maybe he only got two years because the injustice was considered!

And, King's choice to allow the JFF to try the case in his absence...where is the SENSE in that! Would love to have seen OJ Simpson try that!

Mosiah (2/4/2007)
                          Karl (2/4/2007)

Karl, we have been thru this already. Not because the JFF might have erred or lied about a curfew means that players can carry on any old way. If you can't understand that, then... !
                          Ithink mypassage above says, I have understoood!

...but, I go on to say, "justice demands that the injustice delivered that led directly to Marlon's actions be considered".

And, King's choice to allow the JFF to try the case in his absence...where is the SENSE in that! Would love to have seen OJ Simpson try that
                          Perhaps, Marlon acted in atrusting and naive manner...believing he would have gotten a 'fair shake'?

...but, as far asI am concerned this is not about Marlon. He acted irresponsibly and was punished by being expelled from camp and being left off the team. My concern is the actions of our president of JFF and his fellow administrators.

Let me here say I do not blame the JFF Disciplinary Committee as,in the light of Marlon's failure to offer a defense, it could be that no requests were made of players and any other impartial witnesses, butsave and accept Marlon's previously offered apology, they must have acted on report(s) of the JFF president, JFF GeneralSecretary and other administration members of the England touring party.

The JFF Disciplinary Committeewould have accepted Marlon erred and its only task must have been to decide on punishment. Let us see if Boxhill's JFF ratifies this ruling....or, thatBoxhill knowing what only he knows are all the circumstances is ruled by his conscience and modifies his Disciplinary Committee's suggested sanctions? This latter appears dim as Gibson is quoted as having said, -

Last September, Gibson wrote to King through his Watford club advising him of the impending disciplinary hearing.
                          "If he does not appeal, or if he appeals and. is not successful, then he would not be eligible to represent any Jamaican team or participate in any Jamaica-sanctioned game until May (30) 2008," Gibson stated.

Observer, Feb. 2007

“If he does not appeal, or if he appeals and… is not successful, then he would not be eligible to represent any Jamaican team or participate in any Jamaica-sanctioned game until May (30) 2008,” Gibson stated.

he will be back playing 1 year from now just before the qualifiers why fret ova it

Naminirt (2/4/2007)“If he does not appeal, or if he appeals and… is not successful, then he would not be eligible to represent any Jamaican team or participate in any Jamaica-sanctioned game until May (30) 2008,” Gibson stated.

he will be back playing 1 year from now just before the qualifiers why fret ova it
                              Naminirt: The REGGAE BOYZ have a way of throwing up new players each year. Who knows in 2008 there could be four or five strikers 'fiyah-in' better than King did for us in 2005?