Stoke 1 - Southend 1

• Stoke 1 - Southend 1

<DIV class=pagetitle><DIV class=pagedate>Updated: Feb. 3, 2007, 12:24 PM ET </DIV><H1>Stoke 1-1 Southend</H1></DIV><DIV class=bylinebox style="MARGIN-TOP: 8px"><DIV class=bylinetext>PA
    </DIV><DIV style="FLOAT: left"></DIV></DIV><BR clear=all><DIV class=text11 style="BACKGROUND: #fff"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=425>

Freddy Eastwood's 14th goal of the season rescued a crucial 1-1 draw for Southend in a bad-tempered game at Stoke.

The visitors, who have boosted their survival hopes with just one defeat in seven league matches, had the better of the opening stages without carving out a clear-cut chance. And after Ricardo Fuller broke through to dispatch the Potters' first opportunity just after the half hour, it always looked like being an uphill struggle for the Essex side.

Mamady Sidibe wasted two chances for the hosts to make the game safe either side of the break. But in front of 23,017 fans - the biggest crowd of the season at the Britannia Stadium - Eastwood levelled with a low finish from Richie Foran's cross with just over four minutes left. And the Potters, who also drew at home with Ipswich in midweek, passed up another chance of giving their play-off hopes a significant boost.

Buoyed by recent wins at Cardiff and Birmingham, Southend began brightly at the Britannia Stadium and Eastwood fired an early warning with a spin and shot just wide of the post from 25 yards after three minutes. It was a largely scrappy start, but link play between Jamal Campbell-Ryce and Eastwood created space for Lee Bradbury's drive from distance, which was pushed wide by goalkeeper Steve Simonsen. The visitors continued to enjoy the better of the play but were restricted to another long-range strike from Campbell-Ryce.

Stoke's first opening was created by Lee Hendrie, but Fuller hit the side-netting after running onto the midfielder's pass. With Steven Hammell forced off through injury, Foran came on for his Southend debut in an unfamiliar role on the left side of midfield. But Fuller gave his side the lead with a clinical finish for his eighth of the season in the 31st minute.

Making his debut after joining on loan from Charlton, Jonathan Fortune lobbed forward, Sidibe flicked on and Fuller raced behind the defence and lashed the ball into the roof of the net.

Sidibe could have added a second but thrashed wide after Hendrie's initial effort was blocked. Southend's Peter Clarke and Stoke's Darel Russell were both booked in the tunnel at the break.

Five minutes into the second half, Fuller jinked past Campbell-Ryce and Efe Sodje and crossed to the far post, where Sidibe inexplicably shot over the bar.

Hendrie dragged an effort just wide after more good play from Fuller, before Foran headed wide from Simon Francis' cross and Eastwood later shot wide at the other end.

Fuller continued to carry Stoke's greatest threat and saw a drive deflected over by Foran in the 68th minute.

Although there was little quality, both sides were positive and Eastwood fired over after drifting past Andy Wilkinson. But just as the game looked beyond Southend, Foran crossed from the right and Eastwood beat two of his team-mates to get the crucial touch and they held on for four minutes of added time to earn a precious point.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV>
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

RE: Stoke 1 - Southend 1

I don't know, but Stoke seem to have gone flat in this the final push for promotion. They seem to be just hovering around the 7th or 8 th position in the tables, which is not good enough for the third place play-off spot.

I was hoping that they could push to make it to the EPL next season.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

They seem to be just hovering around the 7th or 8 th position in the tables, which is not good enough for the third place play-off spot.

Sorry, sah!

Jus aff-fi pull a gamma pon yuh!

7 arr 8 not good enough fi 6,5,4 or 3? :Laff:

Karl (2/4/2007)They seem to be just hovering around the 7th or 8 th position in the tables, which is not good enough for the third place play-off spot.

Sorry, sah!

Jus aff-fi pull a gamma pon yuh!

7 arr 8 not good enough fi 6,5,4 or 3? :Laff:
        Well Karl, if that one have you scratching your head, let me explain. In the Championship, the winner and runner-up get automatic promotion to the EPL. The positions 3 to 6 have a play off for the third spot.

That sais, If Fuller's stoke is not going to finish 6th or above, they would have missed the boat. Currently they are missing the boat in 7th or 8th positions.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran