• Has anyone seen 'Dove' Marston?

Has anyone seen 'Dove' Marston?

Fears mount for missing former Jamaica footballer
    BY HG HELPS Editor-at-Large

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

THE search continues in earnest for former Jamaica national footballer and talented schoolboy cricketer, Peter Marston.

Marston, nicknamed 'Dove' from his days at Vere Technical High School, went missing on Saturday, July 2.

He left his home in Portmore, St Catherine for an undisclosed location and has not been seen since. He is mentally challenged, but remains fairly in charge of his faculties.

Marston is regarded as one the fine talents that emerged during the early part of the 1970s.

Although spending his early years in Kingston where he was born and raised, he received a sports scholarship to Vere Technical High where he made his mark as an athlete of class.

As a cricketer, Marston played on the feared Vere Technical teams of the early to mid-1970s, and apart from winning the Headley Cup, symbol of rural area schoolboy cricket supremacy in 1973, the team also copped the Spaulding Cup for all-island supremacy, against the odds.

In the deciding match against a strong Kingston College team that was led by then Jamaica and later West Indies fast bowler Michael Holding, opener Marston batted through the innings in making a classy 126 not out and shared in a big century partnership for the second wicket with Herbert 'Dago' Gordon, who hit 101, as Vere made 290 all out, against six wickets for spinner Clifford Bell and one for Holding.

KC were bowled out for 230, despite a century from former Jamaica player Everett Whittingham, as the Clarendon team prevailed by 60 runs in fading light at Kensington Park, East Kingston.

But it was as a footballer that Marston imprinted his mark upon thousands of fans.

A specialist midfielder, Marston often left the opposition in a daze with his deft body swerves, effective dribbling, precision passing and intelligent reading of the game.

Apart from representing Jamaica, having been first called to the national squad as a schoolboy during the 1970s, Marston was also a part of the star-studded Santos Football Club during the period.

Marston won the rural area daCosta Cup and the all-island Olivier Shield at Vere and was seen as the closest talent to former national star Allan 'Skill' Cole, who many still rate as the finest football talent to have emerged from Jamaica.

Cole, who played with Marston at Santos upon his return from a professional stint in Brazil in the 1970s, is concerned for his friend's safety.
    "He would normally come and check me at home, sometimes once a week, but I haven't seen him in a good while," Cole said yesterday.

"Dove deserves the best. He has his challenges, but he is a good person and I hope that nothing happens to him," Cole said.
    Another former Jamaica player Neville Oxford expressed the hope that Marston will be found safely.

Oxford, a former Cavalier Soccer Club forward who left many defenders breathless, especially when he made his familiar runs down the right wing, said that a special effort should be made to find Marston.

"I hope that he is found in good state. If there is anything that I can do, I would do it for Dove," Oxford said.

"We played some good matches against each other. Ball control and distribution were his strengths and he was a relaxed player," Oxford recalled.

Several years ago Marston lost all his belongings in a fire at his home, an incident which some of those close to him believe eventually led to his mental instability, as a huge amount of his money also went up in smoke.
    Marston has left home before, but not for such a long time, his close friends have said.

I wish for Peter "Dove" Marston a save return home.

Was a great talent...right up there with "Skill" and "Tappa" on attack...but had additional ability on also doing excellent defensive work.

True dat, true dat. Dub Marshall was a wicked ballah fi real

yeah certainly hope they find him in good health.

Wish him the best..safe & sound

A photo of him would be nice....

i keep coming back to this thread hoping to see note saying that he has been found alive and well...

I wish for Peter "Dove" Marston a save return home.

Was a great talent...right up there with "Skill" and "Tappa" on attack...but had additional ability on also doing excellent defensive work.
                As much as I rate Tappa, I believe he was a level or two below Skill and Dove. Dove was probably the best overall midfield player I seen in JA colours. Hope them find him safe.

dont get carried away...

Ben, would it be fair to think you have NEVER seen "Dove" Marston play football for either Vere, Santos or Jamaica?
                    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

As far as I know as of this moment...nothing yet.

It would be fair to say I have never even heard of Dove Marston and certainly not in the context of greatest mid-field players for Jamaica.

So I repeat.. do not get carried away..nostalgia is a powerful sentiment.

Mi si Tappa mek Brazil look like bwoy suh unnuh come good mi beg unnuh..

It would be fair to say I have never even heard of Dove Marston and certainly not in the context of greatest mid-field players for Jamaica.

So I repeat.. do not get carried away..nostalgia is a powerful sentiment.

Mi si Tappa mek Brazil look like bwoy suh unnuh come good mi beg unnuh..
                          I hear the nostalgia part Maub, but if you have never seen the man play it will be very difficult to draw a conclusion. Dove was Jamaica's best ever all round midfielder; he had the full arsenal, attacking , defending, shooting, passing, vision, movement off the ball etc Dove, in his hey day, would have started for any of the major football powers had he been born there. That's how good he was. Everyone remember Skill, but Dove was a more complete player..even Skill will tellyou that,

I did not draw a conclusion...

Mi juss seh mek sure unnuh can come good.. maybe some Film. some game reports ?

I have superlative quotes from from Brazilian head coaches...

Yuh talking bout a man dat tek him side guh World Cup and deliver a victory on the biggest stage with 2 brilliant goals in one game... be careful..

Which reminds me.. wheh di Statue ?

Dat Santos side did wicked is a shame, Dub Marshall, Painter (not eben did know him name), Dougie Bell, Billy Perkins, Edwards inna goal. If dem did likkle latetah inna di ting wi wouldah hab dem fi instruct dem yout yah bout di ball ting mek dem overstan it. Is a shame wi nevah get fi document dem legacy deh, ballah di dayz!!