Is Lionel Messi the King of Clubs? Watched

• Is Lionel Messi the King of Clubs? Watched

Argentina again last night and Messi was simply ... missing.
    I could see the clear frustration on his face. I guess he was saying to himself he should have switched to Spain ... he would be a world cup winner right now.

he has more chemistry with those guys ... the was basically trained to play with them ... argentina is a stranger to him

Argentina has no midfield plain and simple, there's no way messi will be as productive when playing with the likes of Mascherano, Cambiaso and Banega in compariosn to xavi, iniesta and busquests.

The great Pele would have problems scoring with that supply line.

Pele would make then better.
        He was more into TEAM - i.e. passing and moving...than Messi.

He was besides scoring goals..always making goals for his TEAMmates.

Messi lives in a cocoon at Barcelona - many carriers of 'wood and water' around him.

Playing for Argentina he must also do...more of the carrying...join in the carry to great degree...to make his TEAM better...and - surprise!!!!! - get for himself more goalscoring opportunities.

curious...how many assists di messi have last season? let me check.

hmmmm he led la liga in assists ... 18 .... more than xavi and iniesta ..... whaddaya know. an anti team player who leads in goals AND assists!! come to think of it ... that was what TH14 did year in year out....

How many goals he scored for Barcelona? ...was that a result of 'the carrying and fetching around him'? ...and I wonder how many goals he scored when there were TEAMmates around that if he had 'rolled' the ball across...it would have been merely 'blowing on it' for a goal?

Lowe scored a lot for Jamaica...

Wonder how many times Barcelona lost the ball directly as a result of Messi's 'work'?

TH14 in his last few years was great at breaking down the GUNNERS attack by 'hogging' the ball.

Look give every goalscoring opportunity to any one player...he shall outscore every other person on his TEAM. Simple - He would have scored all the goals...he it was who got all the opportunities.

...so what do you think would occur if such a person got 90% of the goalscoring opportunities...or 80%...or 70%...or 60%...or 50%...???

It does not necessarily mean the goalscorer played well. It just means he got nuff-nuff chances to score.
              Last edited by Karl; July 7, 2011, 12:56 PM.

karl...are you now arguing with facts?!!!! consistently inconsistent! in la liga, he scored 31... next was david villa who scored ... my my my 18 .... pedro score 13

One thing I never dispute are facts.

...and once again just for the record - Messi is an extra-ordinary player!

who not only scores but provides assists.... and leads the tem in both how damn selfish can one player be!

Much like last year at the world cup, after a long season he has nothing left in the tank.

barca football is unique and that is what he was fed on. it is easier for spain to replicate barca, than for messi to thrive outside of barca.

can you imagine if messi di play for spain?

They would have won the world cup in 2006.

karl, i am giving my greatest effort at understanding what you are arguing about... messi is CLEARLY an unselfish TEAM PLAYER... it doesn't matter where he plays, he is an UNSELFISH TEAM PLAYER... leads his club in scoring and assists... whats there to dispute...

he had a long season, it is undestandable if he not in his best form... further, he needs more time with his argentina teammates to gel... just not enough games together...

[quote=Baddaz;299056]karl, i am giving my greatest effort at understanding what you are arguing about... messi is CLEARLY an unselfish TEAM PLAYER... it doesn't matter where he plays, he is an UNSELFISH TEAM PLAYER... leads his club in scoring and assists... whats there to dispute...

he had a long season, it is undestandable if he not in his best form... further, he needs more time with his argentina teammates to gel... just not enough games together...[/quote]

but Baddaz, all the players in Europe nuh have long season too? Tevez, Jefe, Higuian to name a few all had long seasons too. I defended him same way in the world cup ... but now I have to wonder if he is ... as Jawge would say, King of Clubs.