• After strong Gold Cup ..RBZ target better quality opponents

Reggae Boyz Look To Extend Strides In China Game
    Published: Wednesday | July 6, 2011

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz will be hoping to ride the wave of success, evidenced by a noticeable boost in the FIFA World Ranking, following a strong showing at the CONCACAF Gold Cup, which Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss Captain Horace Burrell expects to lead to better-quality opponents.

That surge will carry the national team Far East in a little over a months' time, when they face the People's Republic of China for a friendly international on August 10.

Following the region's most prestigious tournament, the country leapt 18 places to sit 38th in the tables - the highest since January 1999 - following the team's highest-ever placing of 27 after the 1998 World Cup Finals in France.

"Based on our recent performance at the Gold Cup, and having moved up in the FIFA rankings, we are in a much better position to secure more quality opponents," Burrell said.

"Many international teams look at rankings when selecting an opponent, and based on where on we are today, I would say we are in pretty good shape," he added.

The Chinese, currently ranked at 75th and the fifth-best team in the Asia football region - led by Japan - have insisted that the Jamaicans field their strongest team for the friendly, set on the next available FIFA date.

"China is one of the stronger teams in that region. For that game, they will be fielding a very strong team, but they have also requested a strong team," Burrell said.

"We will be using most of the players who participated in the Gold Cup and look forward to the encounter."

creditable performance

A very creditable Gold Cup performance saw the Boyz score impressive wins over Guatemala, Grenada and then Honduras, before crashing out to the United States in the quarter-final.

Now, the major aim for the team is to keep the momentum going ahead of the 2014 qualifying campaign.

"All plans are, of course, centred around qualifying for the 2014 World Cup, which begins in just a few months time."

Another goal for the team will be to keep ascending the world charts, which will enable burgeoning young local talent to ply their trade in the United Kingdom.

Yet, it isn't the first time the Jamaicans will lock horns with the Chinese, but perhaps even more surprisingly, the Boyz have a losing record. The team played China twice in October 1977, on consecutive Sundays at the National Stadium, losing both games 1-0 and 3-0, respectively.

Then the national squad was coached by George Thompson, captained by former national coach Carl Brown, and featured the likes of Allie McNab, Lorne Donaldson and Howard Bell.

...and the Chinese have nuff-nuff money!

true dat

If the Reggae Boyz are going to launch from Europe, they should line up another game... Japan, South Korea, or on the way back, a Middle Eastern team or a second-tier European team.

true dat

good talk but based on the arguments around here
            "you have fi check the ranking first. We should line up teams in the top tier of FIFA ranking." LOL

i think the reggae boyz should take on japan and sweden after china... then host a team like australia at the stadium...

true dat... or wi cyan always draw fi Trinidad fi di exposure...LOL

right now since we are ranked in the 30s, we should not play anybody ranked less than us, unless them putting money in our coffers... well, i am hoping that the jff is getting a sweet deal from the chinese to play them... playing lower ranked teams just to play without significant financial benefit should be a thing of the past, given our rising position in the fifa rankings... a suh mi see it...

yuh ah fight gainst Caribbean teams... not good

heh heh... right now, nuh food nuh deh inna de cabinet... de fridge empty, not even ice wata dideh fi drink... survival mi seh...

Yuh seit!

Strong Gold Cup?

that's forward thinking

Forward!!

Not backward...

Quality Team my foot

what's so great about china's team? check their stats over the years on fifa's site against jamaica and see for your self. if the jff going to talk about playing quality teams they should try and get team that is always or mostly in fifa's top fifty ratings otherwise dont blow smoke up my A#%.