Why Burrell is chosing a team ranked

Is anyone there now?

...but to answer you directly - Do not for a minute believe that on quality of play we are 38th in the World.

Nutten nuh guh suh! ...but I shall take it!!!!

Sass: It is all about where we want to go and how we go about getting there.

I am not silly enough to believe that what would be best for us in terms of who we would wish to play will happen. Who we play depends to some extent on the thinking of those who manage the other teams...and seeing there are finite number of days available for internationals that also along with many other things play a role in scheduling.

Cho Sass, man...a nuff-nuff ting guh innah who wi a guh get fi play as we prepare for World Cup qualifiers.

...a wanda iffen yuh ting brand REGGAE BOYZ deh pan di same leble wid nuff a di FIFA top 50 teams? ...that also plays a part - i.e. the strength of recognition our product has...an suh han, an suh forth!

...but we can wish! ...and we can strive mightily to go along the path we wish to go.

FORWARD!

Yuh cum back wid dat Leyton Orient joke!
      ...it still good fi a big laff!

Ahrite sah!
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

u r hitting yur head against a brick wall

what do you mean by improve ranking or as a team. you cant always watch ranking. There are many teams ranked lower than us that we would do well to play.. fifa ranking really is not a fair analysis. yes i know where you are going as it does not improve your fifa ranking if you loose but I would not use that to decide who we play.

That was for Karl and others who are saying to improve we should only target teams in the higher ranks. We definately can improve by playing lower teams. China have a lot to offer more than money. They run for the full ninety minutes and we will be playing them at home full of Chinese supporters.

Some man a gwaan like them nah play fi win. Btw wasn't it about 3 months ago we were rated in the 70s?

Now unnu argument change.

the fact is we can play lesser rank teams and it still goes towards the goal of achieving better ranking and BETTER TEAM.

The fact that we should target better teams don't mean we look down on other teams that are not in our ranking. You and your friend Don1 need to be more flexible, just so you know Canada is ranked at 83 by FIFA. Canada play a similar style to the US so they can be good practise match to play against that style. Cuba ranked 89 and Trinidad 90 so a match aginst those is not considered a waste and Guadulope would get a decent ranking if they were ranked.

I have no doubt the JFF is doing a good job in getting games and have no problem with them with any team they choose right now.

Now unnu argument change.

the fact is we can play lesser rank teams and it still goes towards the goal of achieving better ranking and BETTER TEAM.

The fact that we should target better teams don't mean we look down on other teams that are not in our ranking. You and your friend Don1 need to be more flexible, just so you know Canada is ranked at 83 by FIFA. Canada play a similar style to the US so they can be good practise match to play against that style. Cuba ranked 89 and Trinidad 90 so a match aginst those is not considered a waste and Guadulope would get a decent ranking if they were ranked.

I have no doubt the JFF is doing a good job in getting games and have no problem with them with any team they choose right now.
                  Canada, Cuba and Trinidad...would not be teams we would wish to play as we strive for 'greatness'...rapid improvement. ...but then it is obvious we do not think along the same path.

But China is?

Yes!

I explained already - China is considered faaaaaaaaaar superior to Canada in organisation and TEAMplay.

The pass and move and move and pass you to death! ...far from the class of Germany. ...but consistent with the class of a Korea, Japan.

Japan would be considered a poorman's Spain...without the creativity in the Spanish team.

Sass, even in the top 50 there must be preferred choices on which TEAMs to play. You must have in your mind where you wish us to be and then choose those TEAMs that you think can get you there...fastest.

I do not consider an Argentina to be good for us. Argentina plays in too loose an organisation on the field....and has too much individual play. In other words...they -
                      a) do not force our players to for 90 minutes work their arse off...FULL concentration...to be honest at all time...on attention to sudden switching of attack...honest to duties for full 90 minutes without taking any time off in the game. ...or individual players playing attention to assigned duties and the TEAM keeping shape and playing TEAM..at all times.

...a Japan does not give you any time off...a Germany does not give you any time off...

b) Argentina is not either on review or the most important of all WATCHING/OBSERVING during play full 90 minutes of stuff for our players on the field to ape...i.e. teaching examples for our players.

They show taking time off from TEAM during the game. e.g. a Messi will hold the ball...walk about...and thus have players in the other areas of the field taking breathers...that happens waaay too often as teaching/learning situation. It can seep into my REGGAE BOYZ (coaches and players) as thing to ape. That would be bad.

So if possible no Argentina. ..more Germany types to set most often on play, good example...and thus 'drag' my REGGAE BOYZ into aping that (those) 'good' example(s).

Japan, Korea fall into that group.

Yuh kno wat please go back and take a look at our match against Japan and that against Croatia in 1998.

That 1998 match against Argentina is also good for learning. That Argentina was a 'million miles' better as play to ape than the present Argentina team. ...and I repeat, this Argentina team would not be high in the top 50 that I consider good for us.

Mi nuh kno iffen yuh han-da-stan mi...but a suh mi see hit. Play teams that help us to grow towards TOP OF THE WORLD...play TEAMs that teach our players, as far as possible, GOOD PLAY only.
                      Last edited by Karl; July 6, 2011, 02:47 PM.

No one said Jamaica "must" play teams ranked higher.... that should be our target but games take a while to organize.....so it's aspiration which I'm sure the JFF has and is working on.

Try to understand the meaning of optimal in this context....it means playing the teams where we will get the most exposure to quality that will stretch us so we can grow technically & tactically as a unit...and be more able to cope with opponents like the USA. Playing and doing well against such teams will also help maintain or improve our ranking.

Playing Caribbean teams as you suggested will do nothing for our improvement in team play or ranking....ergo...such games are sub optimal and should be pursued only if nothing else is available.

Moreover the Caribbean teams worth anything may be playing Jamaica in qualifiers shortly...so playing them now would compound the stupidity

And that's the point... which no doubt will continue to elude you.
                        Last edited by Don1; July 6, 2011, 02:44 PM.

Tank yuh, sah!

assasin, mi juss si dis... mi agree wid yuh... wi should not be playing teams ranked that low... well, unless they are putting forward a financial package as incentive to play...

agree, cant always watch ranking... however, we have to use the system to our advantage while trying to improve as a team... its a balancing act... when we are in a good position ranking wise, we should try to protect it and use it to our advantage when it suits our purposes...

we (jamaica) are ranked higher than a team, we are putting our standing at risk, so they should have to put up some favorable incentive to play us, since we know the rankings doesn't really determine a team's quality...

everybody is trying to move up on the fifa ranking, while building their team... why is it the really big teams dont even listen to our jff when we want a match with them... argentina will play us, IN argentina when they want to win a match... similarly with england or any other big team... we should do the same to the teams ranked lower than us, unless money a dash...