Why Burrell is chosing a team ranked

• Why Burrell is chosing a team ranked

Number 75 inna the world? Why not someone in the top 20? No wonder the forum not even think of posting it.

BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor

Tuesday, July 05, 2011

Print this page Email A Friend!

The Reggae Boyz's eye-catching display at the CONCACAF Gold Cup and consequent soar up the FIFA Rankings to an attractive 38th, seem to have caught the attention of the rest of the footballing world.

Following "a spike in inquiries" for possible games against the Caribbean's number one, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has concluded negotiations with China for a friendly game in that country on the next FIFA date of August 10.

1/1

"Based on our recent performance in the Gold Cup and our flight up the FIFA rankings, the Reggae Boyz brand has indeed become more marketable and the queries of the team have been flooding in," said JFF president Captain Horace Burrell yesterday, mere hours after sealing the deal with his east Asian counterparts.

The game, which will be the first for the Boyz since their Gold Cup exploits last month, will be played in the eastern Chinese city of Heifi, the capital and largest city of Anhui Province.

As part of the contract between the JFF and the Chinese Football Association, Burrell disclosed that both teams must field "their strongest teams".

"We will have our best possible squad for this match-up as is dictated by terms of the agreement, and we have also demanded their strongest, so I expect it to be a highly entertaining game between one of Asia's strongest teams and a Jamaican outfit that has shown superb form and quality in recent times," notes the head of local football.

It is expected that the bulk, if not all, of the Gold Cup squad will be selected for the encounter which forms part of the pre-World Cup qualifying preparation.

Barring surprises, Jamaica's outfit should include USA-based Shavar Thomas (captain), Dane Richards, Ryan Johnson, Jermaine Taylor, Donovan Ricketts; Europe-based Luton Shelton, Rodolph Austin, Jason Morrison, Omar Daley and local-based Keammar Daley, to name a few.

China's charge will be led by captain Du Wei, top striker Hao Haidong, Shamdong Luneng and Deng Zhuoxiang.

Burrell, who is acting president of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU), said the aim of the federation is to take full advantage of all available FIFA calendar dates leading into the Caribbean leg of World Cup qualification set to kick off late November.

"We want to play as many games as possible both home and abroad, but we face enormous challenges hosting matches at 'The Office'. It is very crucial for us to have games at the team's headquarters, so the players' confidence playing in front of their home support will remain strong.

"But the reality is that staging games here from an economical standpoint is not easy and it's pointless to have the games and keep losing great sums of money that we can't afford. Therefore, it has to be a collaborative effort among all stakeholders, mainly corporate Jamaica and the fans for us to successfully stage friendly matches," explained Burrell.

The China-Jamaica football engagement is of great political significance to both nations as they share bonds that go way back. The progressive communist China of today -- one of the largest economies in the world -- and tiny Jamaica have built and maintained unshakeable diplomatic and economic co-operation that has brought tremendous benefits to the Caribbean island.

With plans by both governments to open direct air travel links between the countries with the aim of boosting Jamaica's tourism arrival figures in the main, Burrell sees tremendous benefits accruing from a football game between the distant states.

"The game would first reaffirm the friendship between the countries, then it would also be an opportunity to market brand Jamaica to a massive audience of potential business investors and holiday seekers. This is not just a football match, it entails significantly more," said a Burrell, who serves on the executive of an embattled CONCACAF.

According to eloratings.com, the August meeting will be the third between the countries following a two-match friendly series back in Kingston in 1977. The first match of that year played on October 24 saw the Chinese winning 1-0, but Jamaica rallied a week later for a 3-0 triumph.

China, ranked 75th by FIFA today, have made one appearance at the Senior Men's World Cup in 2002 — four years after the Boyz made their only call on the game's biggest stage.

They are an excellent team. Do not let that 77 Ranking fool you.
    Well organised and good TEAM play. If we are not on top of our game we lose save they need goalscorers.

They tend to miss a lot!

...not unlike Japan. Japan has a higher ranking but it has the same problem...well organised...but poor shooting.

...just like their (Japan's U-17) - Excellent TEAM play...poor shooting! Remember our U-17 losing 0 - 1? ...with good shooting by Japan it could have been near 0 - 6.

Careful now Assasin.

The Jamaica Gold Cup team i saw was ok ...but not all that. China is an excellent opponent to test Jamaica....

Beating China will be an accomplishment. China will not sit back and allow Jamaica to roll all over them.

After China they should play Leyton Orient (since that are in the harea).

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

so Reggaeboyz can actually improve by playing teams not ranked above them?

unnu coulda fool me.

Winning also contributes to the computing of FIFA rankings.

Away wins also adds to the tally!!!

exactly

...but not the best choice from a technical perspective. A Caribbean team would have been better
              Last edited by Don1; July 5, 2011, 07:31 PM.

It is like boxing, you get scalp along the way and tune up for the big boys. Not because you a top ten contender you only fight top ten contenders.

Tis all about money & nuttin else. Should be a good experience fi the ballers.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    Tis all about money & nuttin else. Should be a good experience fi the ballers.
                    so it's money AND experience?

I agree

Sass, sometimes it cannot be only about playing teams ranked higher than you. The JFF is basically broke. If they get a deal from a team ranked lower than us in which the ioncentives are good, it would be foolish to turn it down.
                      Memba, it is money mek di filly gellup.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Nuh twist wah mi seh... Mek mi remind yuh - Mi seh wi nuh need fi play di CFU 2nd forma dem!

Fact his nuh 2nd forma fram henny weh!

FIFA 92 and 93 are good teams.

...and the European teams in the top 50 are good to play. They will fast forward us to good structure and organisation...but we have to be careful on rest between matches as along with the Koreas, Japan they will run us into the ground at this time. We just have to pace ourselves until we get used to that nonstop relentless passing and moving, moving and passing.

Germany if we play them now...after such a match all our players would have to be given oxygen immediately...and taken of the field on stretchers. ...but it is that type - strength, organisation and TEAM(play) - that we must rapidly move towards....when you add to that our ability to 'pop' and beat any opponent...we will be a force to behold. TOP a Di Worl mi seh!

So when a next caribbean team reach the top 50 them nuh good like the European top 50?

Yeah man the China is a wise thing fi do and they have a very good shape on the field which will help our team structure.

Mi say more games, some top teams and some lower ones. Mi just a turn them word back pon dem Tilla .