Shavar Thomas, Tyrone Marshall, Claude Davis and Damian Steward walk onto your training groound, they all end up playing

RE: Shavar Thomas, Tyrone Marshall, Claude Davis and Damian Steward walk onto your training groound, they all end up playing

All things considered, I would agree with using Davis and Marshall.

Shaver lumbers along too much in my view. As for Stew peas (hoping I get my player right), we must caan find a better replacement; just think he needs a better head on his shoulders. Seemed to be out of sorts a lot.

For clarification, this is not about him getting a college degree...harkening back to similar conversation sometime ago.

Guidance

RE: Shavar Thomas, Tyrone Marshall, Claude Davis and Damian Steward walk onto your training groound, they all end up playing

I watched a friendly between France and Germany last year. Both back lines were firmly rooted at the top of the center circle in their respective halves and with twenty men in the small space left in betweentwo stifling offside traps I don't need to say the game ended 0-0 in favor of modern ugly football. Total football is dead- I don't like it but it has been killed not by one shot but from years of Italy and Argentina gnawing at it and managers who cant afford to lose nowadays finally killed it.

Brazil took some lossesbetween 2000 and 2002 when they were quietly re-engineering their game tomove away from possession to lightning quick counter attacks - they know the days of the ball players, except in a few positions, are gone.

Marshalling the back line nowadays is more about lightnening fast reactions and getting to the ball than calmness. You play higher up its more risky you need to be fast to recover if your backline is breached. Don't discount the man who tackles first then ask questions later, in todays football.

Some of the lastditch tackles that Damian Stewartpulls off still makes you sweat bricks because if he had missed the ball he would have gone from hero to zero and not been forgiven for it either. It wouldbe good ifhe could intercept it and dribbleor pass it out of danger but when Kaka measures an angle on you andRonaldo makes aslicing diagonal run to meet the pass -god bless that defender who nuh think bout penalty...
      SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

ah bwoy?!! ???den yuh did ??? think?? seh a joke me did a mek???!!! ?????

In that case, the side can be more vulnerable to attacks down the flanks and crossballs as well as diagonal passes from midfield.Saw Manchester do that a lot on the weekend.

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>In that case, the side can be more vulnerable to attacks down the flanks and crossballs as well as diagonal passes from midfield.Saw Manchester do that a lot on the weekend.</SPAN>
            That's why from early out Cruyff wanted to get goalkeeper with great command of his area to complete the strategy. He already had the best keeper in the world cant remember the name but he went out and got a man who could come out and clean up for his defense.
            SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Maudib (2/2/2007)Have to go with Brain everytime:

Shavar and Marshall
              I have seen Shavar play some good games here in KC. I did not have a problem with his speed either as he played so intelligently that you miss that he has a speed problem. I have seen him shut down Beasley and Ralph who are known to be quick.

Marshall is a good youth too (well, youth may be stretching it), and I would love to have him in the middle with Shavar. If I were coach however, I probably would play Marshall as a defensive midfielder as you know he is going to leave everything on the field. This leaves room for a selection between Davis and Stewart.

I would give Davis the nod over Stewart for the simple reason that he is getting experience playing against top of the world (or should I say TOP OF THE WORLD) players week in week out. I have seen just about all of Davis' games played on TV which have been televised and I must say he has grown as a player, despite the occasional error here or there.

So my picks would be Shavar and Davis, as long as you have Marshall in a defensive mid position. I also would not have a problem with a Marshall and Shavar combination in defense.

As to Stew Peas, let him simmer a likkle more. . .
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran