Latest FIFA Rankings. Jamaica moves

Why Brazil or Argentina choose to play Jamaica is irrelevant... the 2 countries are in completely different circumstances.. a Brazil 5th X1 can beat Jamaica...moreover those matchups are very rare so that situation is doubly irrelevant

There's no way Jamaica should be looking now to play minnows so some peripheral players can get low level exposure...that's plain silly.

If players are good enuff to be considered for national selection they can be in a squad and available to play good teams 1 or 2 at a time... dem nuh need fi get pet an powda anna play St Kitts or Cayman...fi get "exposure"

Training wheels time done...time fi ride bike

Motorcycle afta dat
    Last edited by Don1; June 30, 2011, 07:07 PM.

you labeling argument which is solid as silly is nothing new. The fact is if we want to have a strong team we have to give others a chance to rise and prove themselves especially over the next year.

It is done at every level. If you notice the big clubs in England do it in the FA cup, Argentina and Brazil do it against us. Explain how it is irrellevant? when they use second tier players against us to give them experience and look at them? It is the same reason we would play minors to take a look at the best local players while giving them experience.

Unnu think we have enough players just to not widen the pool? How are they going to improve if they don't get games? It is a good thing the football minds and most people who play it know better than that. That is the way players like Rudi Austin, Jermaine Taylor, Shelton and others developed and we still have players like Kemar Daley and many other youngsters who still need that valued exposure to be seasoned internationals.

Ok boss yuh argument solid ... RBZ next stop... Cayman

Get ready fi di bakkle royal...LOL

you labeling argument which is solid as silly is nothing new. The fact is if we want to have a strong team we have to give others a chance to rise and prove themselves especially over the next year.

It is done at every level. If you notice the big clubs in England do it in the FA cup, Argentina and Brazil do it against us. Explain how it is irrellevant? when they use second tier players against us to give them experience and look at them? It is the same reason we would play minors to take a look at the best local players while giving them experience.

Unnu think we have enough players just to not widen the pool? How are they going to improve if they don't get games? It is a good thing the football minds and most people who play it know better than that. That is the way players like Rudi Austin, Jermaine Taylor, Shelton and others developed and we still have players like Kemar Daley and many other youngsters who still need that valued exposure to be seasoned internationals.
          Simplistic!

These players were exposed and developed by moving through step by step.
          You and other are suggesting moving inexperienced and players who have not by performances earned their move up.

Rudi Austi, Jermaine, Luton Shelton and Keammar Daley moved through steps from age-group team to senior team.

...and our football has taken 11+ years to return to this showing at the Gold Cup. You do not now restart a rebuilding process...for what to wait another 11 years to again return to where we are?

What is need now is, building with these guys to compete with top world teams...and below them building the age-group teams to level through level move towards the top. It must be to set up that prepetual renewal production line we have been talking about and hoping for since 1998.

I can't understand why you would want to deny players the exposure of playing St Kitts, Grenada, Trinidad and other assorted Roti Eaters..

Leggo di yutes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Or 2nd XI or age-group teams against their senior teams?
              Sure!

The FIFA dates are few. We cannot fail to use them.

Mi a fi wonder if a the same team unnu a talk bout. When you look and see the potential and shortcomming inna this team you will realise that more exposure is needed.

Some players are just learning many of the basic aspect of the game and some of the local players fitness level for 90 minutes at this level is not there. Because we had some good performance we must just go top of the world and forget about the overall development of our program?????

Again it is a good thing football administrators don't think like unnu.

Of course more exposure is needed...that is the point.... puzzling that it escapes you

The exposure is needed against quality teams so we can grow.

But continue to advocate for exposure to minnows... look like yuh like to be a big fish inna puddle

unnu think most a di NPL players ready fi big sides? gwaan fool unnu self. The need mediocre games to develop themselves.

Mi a fi wonder if a the same team unnu a talk bout. When you look and see the potential and shortcomming inna this team you will realise that more exposure is needed.

Some players are just learning many of the basic aspect of the game and some of the local players fitness level for 90 minutes at this level is not there. Because we had some good performance we must just go top of the world and forget about the overall development of our program?????

Again it is a good thing football administrators don't think like unnu.
                      How do you arrive at the above?

Developing a football team is the same as developing your kids as far as concept go.

Each is provided with the necessary tools and environment as each attains higher levels of competence.

You do not just throw your kids to 'the wolves' for exposure sake. That is cruel and unusual punishment...likely to leave lasting negative impact on your kids.

So it is with your young players. You provide them with the necessary tools and environment as they develop.

You move them along as they exhibit improved knowledge, greater maturity and ability to tackle ever increasing levels of skilled play.

In football development is usually structured along agreed age-group levels...however, a young player makes or 2 sometimes make more rapid strides...just as kids do in other areas of development.

Those kids may be observed to have developed to a level higher of competence than their peers. That level of competence may equate to that found at higher age-group levels. Sometime there is the rare talent that comes along and a youngster develops rapidly such that the level of competence exhibited is on par with that of seniors.

Such kids who exhibit that advanced level of competence...on par with seniors and demand by that excellence to be included in a squad at a level higher than that of similar aged kids. They must be promoted to the appropriate squad.

It certainly does not mean that other kids who have not the competence to displace seniors should be inserted into the squad with higher level competence.

In football the kids not suited to be promoted to the senior squad if inserted into the squad hinders development of the players in the squad and lowers the performance level of the squad/TEAM.

It must be for national TEAMs' development that actions taken by the managers and teachers (coaches) encourge learning and growth i.e. improve level of competence of the TEAMs. Any action that prevents or hinders growth and development of the national teams must be considered counter-productive.

Wholesale sidelining of the first team members (national team members at any age-group - through to seniors) or wasteful use of opportunites to improve (each of those TEAMs) cannot under any circumstances be considered wise.

It must be the aim to have a perpetual renewal...a 'production line' that with each 'roll-out' of an additional player improves the 'end-product' i.e. the TEAM.

The only way wholesale changes to any national team should occur is on those rare occasions when many young men 'arrive' at the same time showing competence that surpass many who were previously in the TEAM.

What is it we wish to do...retard progress...and be in a perpetual stage of rebuilding? ...or to move rapidly towards TOP OF THE WORLD?
                      Last edited by Karl; July 1, 2011, 02:22 PM.

in odda words... dis is not a time to target minnows as proposed by Assasin

u lack comprehension of the development continuum.... but this is not surprising

Now that Jamaica is emerging with an acceptable brand of ball and has demonstrated that it is effective against minnows like Grenada and even stronger teams like Honduras/Guatemala but faltering against a regional power like the US and most definitely Mexico.... with WC qualifiers looming we should be looking to "expose" players to Caribbean teams? Foolishness

There is a time and place to develop first team players against Caribbean teams...in this development cycle we are past that time... that work is already done by Tappa....we need now to develop the emerging brand of ball against stronger teams so we can handle the regional powers...US & Mexico

Not that I expect an ovastanding if past performance is any guide

I am not disputing the fact that we need to play better teams to further develop our players and brand of football. What we can't do is think all our players reach that standard and so it is helpful to bring them on par by delevoping them and not through them to the wolves.

Development of young players and local players are key here. You notice how short we were on strikers with the injury to Cummings and Fuller?

That is how I see it!

The fact is Kemar Daley, Troy Smith, Navian Boyd, Alvas and Omar Holiness, Morgan from Boys Town, Adrian Reid etc could all do with a good Caribbean Cup right now. These players need the concentration for 90 minutes and to between develop their game throught a game, not over 15 minutes.

Coming off the bench in big games is not going to make them much better. If we want to develop them over the short term we have to give them some games to do that.

A reality mi a deal with, not fantacy or theory.