The captain on occasion has scheduled a friendly with Cayman.
Latest FIFA Rankings. Jamaica moves
We shouldn't get too swell-headed over this and forget our brethren who would like to emulate this hopefully not short-lived success. Offering competition to lesser teams than we now are is one way of giving thanks, and giving a run to the second or third XI.Peter R
Yuh waan give tanks an get weak ar yuh waan progress at a critical cross road?
Progress mi seh... nuff time fi give tanks afta wi done qualify fi di Big DanceTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Muadib View PostChile and Uruguay wi compete well against... bring dem come..
Dem suppose to have a direct flight now.. thanks to Bartlett..
we keep on forgetting the basics. If we don't use our local players to get games against the minors how them a go develop?
I remember 2 years ago when them use to say the local players them nuh good and nuh fi get nuh game. Guess what? A di same player them a play now.
We need some minors fi beat up as well. We nah fi use we A team. Use mostly under 23 and give them a run.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Agreed Sass. We need to select some teams if it is just for target practice."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Basics?? Yuh mean like St Kitts?
This is not 2 years ago...this is 2011. We are at a more advanced point on the development continuum now and should not be focused on "minors" or even minnows
U23s can always play B internationals if that's needed to expose players on the fringe
Grenada, Cayman, Trinidad...and assorted Roti Eaters nah dweet fi wi to move forward.
Jamaica has to concentrate on playing better teams to grow...and get used to better managing situations like the US game.Last edited by Don1; June 30, 2011, 11:44 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostBasics?? Yuh mean like St Kitts?
This is not 2 years ago...this is 2011. We are at a more advanced point on the development continuum now and should not be focused on "minors" or even minnows
U23s can always play B internationals if that's needed to expose players on the fringe
Grenada, Cayman...and assorted Roti Eaters nah dweet fi wi to move forward.
Jamaica has to concentrate on playing better teams to grow...and get used to better managing situations like the US game.
Who is focusing on minors?
Getting international exposure for local players is very important for their development. While we want to beat the world we still also have to make sure the local players are ready to step in and get enough exposure so they can get contracts abroad.
Again this is primarily the same team John Barnes and then Tappa used but the difference is with the exposure they have grown. Mi nah follow unnu because me know nuff DPL players need some international game to grow their crafts.
Aren't B internationals, internationals? I don't care if it is ABC or C but we need not to act as if matches against these teams can't help inna progressive program. It is two fold, get some good games and some for development.
Based on unnu reasoning why would Brazil, and Argentina choose to play Lowly Jamaica?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostWho is focusing on minors?
Getting international exposure for local players is very important for their development. While we want to beat the world we still also have to make sure the local players are ready to step in and get enough exposure so they can get contracts abroad.
Again this is primarily the same team John Barnes and then Tappa used but the difference is with the exposure they have grown. Mi nah follow unnu because me know nuff DPL players need some international game to grow their crafts.
Aren't B internationals, internationals? I don't care if it is ABC or C but we need not to act as if matches against these teams can't help inna progressive program. It is two fold, get some good games and some for development.
Based on unnu reasoning why would Brazil, and Argentina choose to play Lowly Jamaica?
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/matchsta...d=31&year=1998
Where Tappa's nose was broken and Brazil were the lucky ones not to exit the first round of the 1998 Gold Cup. Because Jamaica topped their four team group which allowed Brazil to finish second but the Brazilian nation was not happy that the 1998 World Cup favourites mighty Brazil had finished second to "lowly" Jamaica and were lucky that there were four teams in the group. .
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/matchsta...d=35&year=1998
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/matchsta...d=37&year=1998
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/matchsta...=202&year=2010
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ubb0C7zCVkE
This was a game that almost got Diego Maradonna fired before the 2010 World Cup. The game that had 8 minutes injury time added to it and as soon as Argentina scored the winner. The referee blew the end of the match.
That was real funny when I saw it the first time.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postwe keep on forgetting the basics. If we don't use our local players to get games against the minors how them a go develop?
I remember 2 years ago when them use to say the local players them nuh good and nuh fi get nuh game. Guess what? A di same player them a play now.
We need some minors fi beat up as well. We nah fi use we A team. Use mostly under 23 and give them a run.
...Truth is we should be hoping our U-17s and U-20s could 'mash hup dem lowly team dem' like the Brazilian U-20 destroy our best 5 - 0 - I think it was, when Bebeto, Siva, Dunga, etc. visited Jamacia.Last edited by Karl; June 30, 2011, 06:56 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
That is not the point. We are never rated in the top 20 so based on your logics why should they even think about playing us?
The fact is we have fi cut some slacks fi the lower teams while us it for building our players who ply their trades at home.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.