Why I stopped believing in WI Cricket

• Why I stopped believing in WI Cricket

I am a product of the Eighties. That's when my love of sports took roots. I remember actually studying the game of cricket by asking my elders about the various positions on the pitch. Cricket is a very complicated game, and listening to it on the radio, one had to be able to visualize the players running around the pitch. Cricket was very popular in the Jamaica and the rest of the Caribbean, and I quickly cultivated a love for the game. Viv Richards was my favourite West Indian player. I loved his swashbuckling style and his arrogance (now termed "swagger"). He deliberately went after the opponent's top bowlers, and frequently knocked them out of the bowling lineup. I remember being up at 2, 3 0' clock in the mornings watching the WI playing. When my firstborn was a baby, I did not mind getting up in the middle of the night to hush her back to bed because it gave me a reason to watch some cricket. "Whack them Waquar". I was mesmerised to see Wasim Akaar bowl an inswinging yorker. Aaawww......those were the glory days of West Indian cricket.....ending in the early nineties with the departure of Ambrose, Walsh Adams and Richardson. Then the came the demise. At first, I, like the rest of the Caribbean, refused to accept that the WI could fall from such lofty heights. Regardless of how many runs the opposing team would put up, it was expected that someone would produce "another' amazing batting display to knock off the score, or one of our "protege" from off the fast bowling assembly line would bowl them out. It took me several years of continuous disappointments before I was able to let go and accept that the once mighty WI team, one that produced such Greats as Sir Viv, Sir Lloyd, Malcolm Marshall, Garner, Holding, Ambrose, Walsh (these were just a few whom I witnessed in my lifetime), was becoming a shadow of itself. Today, the WI team is now a big joke. I dropped the game when I migrated to the states some years ago, and no longer even read about it.

Last week, Dunny lamented about the lack of support the ReggaeBoyz receive here in the USA when they play. For many Jamaicans living in the USA, the Reggaeboyz is synonimous to the WI cricket team. As HL always says, Jamaicans prefer cricket to football. That statement is somewhat true amongst the older generation which goes back to our colonial ties. It does not hold true however, for today's generation which sees cricket as being too slow. Football is much more popular with today's Jamaican youths, but not necessarily JAMAICAN football. For fans of my age group, 35 - 45, we fall in between. That is because we have witnessed and experienced the ecstacy of reaching a World Cup finals, and have seen the potential of how far we can go. For today's youths, France 98 is a distant memory - story in our football folklore. It is stories told about our Boys' exploits on their road to France, just as how I heard stories about Allan "Skill" Cole and Lenny Hyde. Nothing was done after '98 to build on that foundation. As a result, it left us (fans in my age group) disillusioned, and nothing to pass on to our kids. No stories to tell. Many of the fans that packed the stadia on the Boyz journey to France were waggonists. But so what. Our Boyz needed them to lift them on their journey. Our football was fast becoming as irrellevant as WI cricket.....until the first round of this Gold Cup.

It has taken me this long to get over my disappointment of losing the game two Sundays ago to the USA. I have not read any posts relating to our game, nor have I been on the forum (much) for the past week. It is not easy facing up to the truth when it goes against your perception of yourself. I, like many of us here, allowed myself to believe that we were actually better than we are. I threw caution to the wind and got caught up in our new dazzling display on the the field. Let me say however, I still believe that we HAVE turned a corner and gotten a glimpse of where we can go as a footballing nation. We just have to continue to build on what we have and evolve.

To put it bluntly, Tappa was outcoached by Bob Bradley. If there was ever a time to beat the USA, it was two sundays ago. The stars were aligned in Jamaica's favour for us to achieve something historic, but it was just not to be. Bob went into the game with a plan and formation to nullify Jamaica's biggest weapon - SPEED. It worked beautifully for the USA and Tappa did not have an answer. He showed a lack of tactical experience by not changing the formation in the second half. His personnel selections also was questionable. Rudolph Austin and Luton Shelton need to seriously work on their game before donning our colours again. Maybe it's too late for them at this stage. During Mike Tyson's heydays, he won many of his fights before he even threw a punch. His opponents were petrifed of his awesome power. Many of our caribbean minnows, Barbados, Antigua, Monsterrat, Trinidad, are scared of Jamaica when they play us. They approach the game with a defensive mindset of how to counter our weapons. Jamaica entered the game against the USA with a similar mindset. At no time during that game did we play like we were USA's equal or even their betters. That comes from the coach. We never played to our strengths and that's why it hurt me so much. I would rather lose 6 love fighting and showing some grit than losing the way we did that sunday.

All is not lost, and, in my opinion, there is only one way to go....up. The JFF must build on what we achieved from that Gold Cup. It was the first time since I started watching our national team playing such fluent football. Tappa needs to continue his on-the-job training by going overseas into more professional environments. He needs to play more international matches to match wits against better coaches and teams. He needs to continue to scour the country and other overseas leagues to find better players to fit into HIS system. Andmost of all, he needs continued encouragement because he is doing a good job.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Nice read!

Jangle, that was a nice read. I am older than you (not to mention wiser and better looking) and based on my experience and memories (others may see it differently) Jamaica's youth turned to football over cricket on the basis of one seminal event - the 1970 World Cup. The awesome display of Brazil and their destruction of England and Italy were monumental. I consider myself one of those from "that generation" who were more turned on by football than by cricket, even though I enjoyed playing both sports.

Brazil and Pele resonated in a way that left us hungry for more. After 1970, I remember everybody in my primary school was "a Pele"; dishing out more shif, pop, bruck an' dolly wid juice box than the great master could have ever imagined.

The only way to satisfy the hangover and our increased appetite for top flight football was basically through English football magazines, chief among them Shoot and the now defunct Football Monthly. But of course, every single one of us played and loved cricket too.

I remember going to Sabina Park with my father to watch West Indies play NZ in 1972. That was the test that Lawrence Rowe hit his historic debut century and double century. Thanks to our neighbour, we had seats in the pavilion, and there, watching the game along side me was a big youth named Michael Holding. It turned out that he went to KC (yuck!! vomit!!) and as a JC youth, that didn't put him in high esteem as far as I was concerned. However, it also turned out that his sister was one of my teachers at JC, so I really didn't like him at all after that!! (Joke). Little did I know I was in the presence of greatness.

Anyway, after that performance by Rowe, everybody was Yagga!! But cricket never had the same appeal to me and my posse as football, despite the immediate role models of world super star West Indian players like Rowe, Sobers etc., At lunch time, even during cricket season, we would play football wid juice box, hardly ever cricket.

I don't know if it was because JC at the time had some serious footballers, like Woodstock, Crosskill, Shenk, Herbie, Alexander, Pennycooke etc. who had more of an effect on me and my classmates than Pele or any professional player ever could have. Or whether it was the monumental feeling you got running out to play in your house or school colours, or the fact that I had probably the first pair of orange neon striped Adidas Santiago boots with screw in studs that JC EVER saw...I'm not sure.

I think cricket's popularity in Jamaica indeed hit new heights in the 80's but with the advent of satellite tv and a near year round menu of top flight football bombarding us in the '90's, cricket's days as our most popular sport were numbered.

So my theory is this. With no West Indies team of note to root for in cricket, we are like lost souls, we have no other team that we can turn to to bolster our spirit. However, in football, we will not only have our Boyz to cheer on and make excuses for when they lose, we also have Brazil; let's face it, the majority of us are all Brazilians come World Cup time, especially those of us who remember the glory of the 1970 team. Sadly, we have no such crutch in cricket...and that, in my opinion, makes it much harder for the waggonists to hold on to when we're doing badly. At least in football, we always have Brazil!!

Unuh write some interesting articles! These if you ask me are worthy of front page publishing.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well said, Sir Paul.

I am with you. ...although now as a transplanted US resident...the US now joins my countries.

Well here goes...Jaaaaaaaaaaangle, yuh phone a guh ring!

I believe I still have (I would probably need to dig a bit) the souvenir booklets that were sold at Test matches with the autographs of the WI players and Kiwis from 72 and the same from the MCC tour in '73... if I'm not mistaken I think you were the one who garnered the autographs.

Yes Pedro, somewhere those books are still there with all those great cricketers signatures. I believe I have the one from the Australian Series (not MCC) the year later in a box somewhere. Between me and we likkle bredda, we run up an down bothering everybody dressed in all whites to sign the dyam book, maybe we have one or two kitchen staff in there an' don' know.

Players like the Chappel brothers, Lillee, Fredricks, Greenidge, Uton Dowe, Foster, Rodney Marsh - most of the players on both teams in both the NZ and Aussie matches. There is only ONE WI player of note who's autograph we did not get across those two matches - Gary Sobers. I remember to this day the way him did brush me aside like a flea when I was beggin' him for his autograph. The Australia match was the one where Rodney Marsh must have caught out about half the West Indies side. Good memories.

Well said, Sir Paul.

I am with you. ...although now as a transplanted US resident...the US now joins my countries.
                  Funny enough, up until World Cup 2010, I couldn't bring myself to shout "USA! USA! USA!" the likkle one cheer dem have. But when they played Slovenia in SA, I had no problem jumpin' up an' down in the stands beltin' it out. It helped that I was sitting beside a nice "girl" (big woman ova 40) from Atlanta an' her friend. Hey - we all need a little help now and again :-)

Good writeup and this article should be published on the front page of the RBSC website. This is a football related post!

True, Tappa was out coached on the field and the demeanor of the Jamaican ballers gave me the impression that they were not ready for the USA. There were several easy chances where we should have scored, but poor finishing did us in. I do not know if taking a class or two will give Tappa the awareness tools & insight necessary to take us to the next level.

hehehehehe!!!!!

Brave post.....tek mi hat off sah.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nice read.

Still nuh give up and West Indies cricket. I am hoping and praying. It was too sweet back in the days. Hardly watch it now. My community was a major country cricket destination.

Yeah we need to build on what we have. It just goes to show what a little direction can do. Big up Tappa and crew, now is time to step up to a bigger stage. I believe they can do it.