Chicharito

That's why I said starting. Also, at the risk of sounding like a non-supporter: has anybody ever witnessed Rudi Austin get a shot on goal whether Free-kick or from the run of play? I haven't.

supporters have them likes and dislikes within the team but when them say the whole team a rubbish a wha get to me.

On Rudy shot . you asking for a lot.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
        That's why I said starting. Also, at the risk of sounding like a non-supporter: has anybody ever witnessed Rudi Austin get a shot on goal whether Free-kick or from the run of play? I haven't.
        ...and they are getting worst by the minute. he doesn't even have the power again, it seems. one time, his kicks to goal could uproot the corner flags. now, they seem to bounce back into play when they hit them!

And when you busy a type Hue name. If you nuh get him into a professional setup soon is only Boxhill going to top your damage to Jamaican football.

Originally posted by Me View Post
            And when you busy a type Hue name. If you nuh get him into a professional setup soon is only Boxhill going to top your damage to Jamaican football.

better get busy!

You should all know my opinion on this offside rule - waste of time and effort. Scrap it for the sake of fairness and the beauty of the game!
              Scrapping it would create a statistician's nightmare. Man dem would all have 50 goal a season (and that's just in the league) and so the comparisons between players over generations would be a huge challenge. Not that it should stop progress, but scrapping the rule would change the game dramatically

Sorry Mo, don't look for me to sign that particular petition to scrap it all together, but I agree, something has to be done because the offside law is not applied consistently, and with far too many errors.

Scrapping it would create a statistician's nightmare. Man dem would all have 50 goal a season (and that's just in the league) and so the comparisons between players over generations would be a huge challenge. Not that it should stop progress, but scrapping the rule would change the game dramatically

Sorry Mo, don't look for me to sign that particular petition to scrap it all together, but I agree, something has to be done because the offside law is not applied consistently, and with far too many errors.
                I for one think it would open up the game and to agree with you, "far too many errors" Scrap it yes!

No, it wouldn't! That's what we all think. It was done in field hockey and the scores remained respectable! The game would change to fit the new rule and you would not get 50 goal seasons from scrubs like Clint Dempsey!

The game would be more exciting as there will no longer be these erroneous calls stopping the game every so often.

FIFA should run it as an experiment in some non-descript league such as, say...the MLS! And see how it works.

Unnu will thank me, and hockey, later!

Wha yuh have gainst Dempsey? Hope is not because he scored against us.

Him is di ongle one score gainst wi?

Dempsey is first a yank. Second, he is a dirty player. Third, he is sore loser. Fourth, he is a rucks!

No, it wouldn't! That's what we all think. It was done in field hockey and the scores remained respectable! The game would change to fit the new rule and you would not get 50 goal seasons from scrubs like Clint Dempsey!

The game would be more exciting as there will no longer be these erroneous calls stopping the game every so often.

FIFA should run it as an experiment in some non-descript league such as, say...the MLS! And see how it works.

Unnu will thank me, and hockey, later!
                        I am all for change if it doesn't ruin things. Trying it first makes sense, but even so some of us like watching the cat and mouse between forwards and a back 4; progress however, requires accepting change. I only can reference my likkle pick up games and it always results in a goal shark who plays the entire game from the top of the 18 yard box to the top of the 6 yard box. My biggest beef with the rule is that they get it wrong way too often. Fix the accuracy, keep the rule, don't fix the accuracy, scrap the rule. Fi mi tuppance.

My biggest beef with the rule is that they get it wrong way too often. Fix the accuracy, keep the rule, don't fix the accuracy, scrap the rule. Fi mi tuppance.
                          I agree with this piece.
                          Most Americans you talk to would want to see the offside rule scraped. They seem to think it would encourage a higher scoring game if it ere done.

I like to see the challenge between forwards and defense. I only hope they can find a way to make the calls more consistent. It is terrible when you see your side score a goal when the replay shows that it was not. Or when the shoe is on th eother foot, a side score an offside goal against you and it is allowed to stand by the referee.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

For me, too many matches are decided or could have been decided by wrong offside calls.

Yes, the same thing with hand ball, but nonetheless, having seen it work well in hockey, which is very similar to football, I am convinced we don't need it. Hockey has not seen the rise of the goal shark, but yes, from time to time players can hang deep, very deep. But if you want to play that way all day, you may actually be playing with a man short.

I also like the match up between a smart defensive line and a jumpy forward. Indeed, during my D-Cup years, my team must have perfected catching those forwards in offside positions.

To what address should I send the petition?

The NASL back in the day had an offside line ( I believe at around the 30-35 yd mark from each end line), much like in Ice Hockey. Once past the line then no offside would apply... that might be a compromise for the traditionalists and those who think like you.

My feeling is that they should use a fourth or fifth referee using video (replays) to rectify errors and to assist the referee... There must be some technology that would allow that official to instantaneously communicate to the ref that the play is good or offside before either a flag is raised or not raised as the case may be. That could probably solve the problem of stopping the play unnecessarily.

But FIFA seems to have an aversion to using available technology, much less any new innovation.

What about the hockey pass across two lines rule (icing) which is used in indoor football?