River Plate relegated

• River Plate relegated

Well, it just goes to show that even the mighty must fall. River Plate, one of Argentina's most successful clubs ever, went down today after drawing 1-1 with Belgrano. Needing to win by two goals, the former giants squandered a penalty and more than one chance. I only watched the last 20 minutes of the game. What a ting.

WOW!!!!. I saw the first leg and they didn't look so well at all.

I guess they have to rebuild. If when Newcastle go down you think that was big?

WOW!!!!. I saw the first leg and they didn't look so well at all.

I guess they have to rebuild. If when Newcastle go down you think that was big?
      This is much bigger than Newcastle going down. The sad news is that River has produced great players in the past, all the way back to Alberto di Stefano, through, Passarella (their president), Kempes, Ortega, Batistuta, Ayala, Crespo, Saviola, Cambiasso, etc. I am sure I have left out nuff. One man that is most likely not shedding any tears is Diego Armando Maradona and the Boca Crew.

Here's a link to a story on the ensuing (as to be expected) violence that has broken out:
      http://www.usatoday.com/sports/socce...79044786_x.htm

eeehhhh eeeehhh.

Bricky must be outside breaking his own car glass now

enzo "el principe" francescoli ...

Check out these videos after the game in the stadium. Fanz dem vex.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtBbLpl7tPk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWjHSiE6FNk

Pasarella - "The only way I'll ever leave River is if I'm dead"

http://www.buenosairesherald.com/art...dead-pasarella

Wait, when did River Plate get this crappy?

Over the last 3 years. If you look at their record, they have been dismal. The system in Argentina is not like it is in Europe. It is designed to save the big clubs from a temporary slump. Every year, two separate championships are played (Apertura and Clausura). Relegation is worked out on an average of points accumulated over three years, or six championships. So for a big club like River, for you to be in relegation requires a prolonged period of under performance, not just one season.

This is quite stunning as they won the Apertura in 2007 (it is actually 1/2 a season), but they have sold off many of their top players to fund debt.

To show you how crazy the system is, in 2010-11, River was actually 9th in the Clausura standings and 4th in the Apertura for a total of 57 points, but in 2008/09 and 2009/10, they had only 41 and 43 points in each of those seasons respectively (across 38 games/season - so total crap). 41 points in England last year would have put you at 17th in the standings.

When you did the maths, they ended up with an average of 1.237 points per game over the 3 seasons which put them in the relegation playoff zone and there you go. The effed up the playoff and they are now in the second division.

Argentina's mightiest club of all time - relegated. How devastating.
                  Last edited by Paul Marin; June 26, 2011, 11:21 PM.

Boca not bigger?

dem just have a bigga mout' das all ....

River Plate was my favourite team in Argentina. Dem time deh man like D'alessandro a run the midfield.

Boca not bigger?
                          No - 33 championships to River; 20 or so to Boca (double check this - it may be less than 20 (or more)).

how you must figget di prince? the man who inspired zidane suh till him all name him son affi him?!

Mexico has a similar system, but I don't know how long the period is to accumulate points.

After a horrible fall/winter season, Santos went on to win the spring/summer championship. When Santos clinched a spot in the spring/summer playoffs, the headlines read "Santos Clinches Playoff Spot, Avoids Relgation"