• Observer EDITORIAL: JFF's foresight paying off

JFF's foresight paying off

Saturday, June 25, 2011

YESTERDAY'S surprise 1-1 result between Jamaica and France at the FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Mexico has given the nation cause for optimism.

We say so not just because of the 'feel good' factor which the senior Reggae Boyz provided during their impressive displays at the CONCACAF Gold Cup Tournament in the USA, but also because we believe that there are signs that the recently contracted Brazilian coaches are beginning to have an influence on the teams.

As a nation we were extremely proud when the Young Reggae Boyz qualified for the Mexico tournament in Montego Bay in February, but we feared the worst when the groups were drawn and the second-time qualifiers were pitted against former winner France, traditional powerhouse Argentina, and the fast-rising nation Japan.

It was our view, based on what the young Boyz had produced in the qualifiers, that head coach Mr Wendell Downswell would have a difficult task raising their standard to the required competitive level in Mexico.

We were also mindful of the results of our first appearance in the tournament in New Zealand in 1999, when the young Boyz were tagged 1-0 by Burkino Faso; 5-0 by Paraguay and 4-0 by Qatar.

That team included Messrs Keith Kelly, Allien Whittaker, Alex Thomas, Sean Fraser, Kevin King, among others, who it could be argued, were more advanced at this stage, than those in the present team.

Though the young Boyz will be heading home after finishing at the bottom of their group with that solitary point, we were pleasantly surprised by the results -- a 0-1 defeat to Japan, a 1-2 loss to Argentina and yesterday's tie, despite playing the last quarter-hour with 10 players.

From all accounts, the Boyz appeared more organised and looked a much better team than three months ago, and we have no doubt that this was due to the assistance given to Mr Downswell by the very experienced Brazilian Mr Walter Gama.

Similarly, we cannot underestimate the contribution of Mr Alfredo Montesso, the hand-picked assistant coach to senior team head coach Mr Theodore Whitmore.

We would remember that the Reggae Boyz, the reigning Caribbean Cup champions, recently exhibited sublime skills in winning their three group games at the Gold Cup Tournament before bowing 0-2 to the US in the quarter-finals at the RFK Stadium in Washington, DC.

So impressive was the display of the Jamaicans in the preliminary matches that the team had been favourably compared with the 1998 outfit so systematically guided to the historic World Cup Finals by Brazilian Mr Rene Simoes.

Mr Whitmore's fingerprints, we believe, were all over the Reggae Boyz, but we are firmly of the view that Mr Montesso's mark was indelibly etched as well.

The much-referred-to 'passing or possession game' was enhanced and more consistent since Mr Montesso joined the team for the training camp in his native Brazil in late May, and the team has continued to grow in that department, ever since, and that was one of the key elements in the team's success at the Gold Cup.

It was no accident that Jamaica was one of only three unbeaten teams at the end of the preliminary stages; one of only two teams with maximum points at the same stage, and the only team not to have conceded a goal to that stage.

Like economic growth, football development must be seen as a marathon and not a sprint, and as such, patience will be required as the technical staff continues to mould the various units within the Jamaica Football Federation.

But there's absolutely no doubt about the encouraging progress of our football at the various levels. We therefore unreservedly commend the governing body for its foresight in contracting these highly qualified coaches to help us along the way.

We only hope that they get the support necessary to keep the coaches going for at least the length of their three-year contract. If that is done, then we have no doubt that they will move our programme to the next level.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz1QL1Csexu

So does this mean that our Young Reggae Boyz can be utilized for the upcoming Olympic qualifiers in August?
    http://www.caribbeanfootballunion.or.../fixtures.html

"Like economic growth, football development must be seen as a marathon and not a sprint, and as such, patience will be required as the technical staff continues to mould the various units within the Jamaica Football Federation."

Very well said. see wha mi a talk say? We can't be so negitive not to see any positives. Our defination of success is need to bear in mind where we are coming from and expect the growth to be constant.

I couldn't have said it better.

"Like economic growth, football development must be seen as a marathon and not a sprint, and as such, patience will be required as the technical staff continues to mould the various units within the Jamaica Football Federation."

Very well said. see wha mi a talk say? We can't be so negitive not to see any positives. Our defination of success is need to bear in mind where we are coming from and expect the growth to be constant.

I couldn't have said it better.
        lol