Brazil's 'samba' style suits Fraser

• Brazil's 'samba' style suits Fraser

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=220 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left height=167></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left width=15 height=2></TD><TD vAlign=top align=left height=2></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Brazil's 'samba' style suits Fraser <DIV class=KonaBody A9lQd="true">

By GORDON WILLIAMS, Contributor

Reggae Boy Sean Fraser in his Miami FC uniform. - file

While most Reggae Boyz crave to land professional jobs in Europe, national midfielder Sean Fraser has taken a liking to South America, fitting in comfortably as only the second Jamaican contracted to play in football hotbed Brazil.

Fraser, currently on loan from his United States team Miami FC, played roughly 80 minutes in his first competitive game for Boavista Sport Club in the Rio de Janeiro's Campeonato Carioca state league last Wednesday. Yet long before he took the field for that drawn game, the 23-year-old former two-time World Youth Championship player for Jamaica (U-17 and 20) already knew he had found his niche.

"It's been the best time of my football life," he said the day after the game.

Fraser scored three goals in three practice games since arriving in Rio around mid-December. He has seen the famous carnival city from a helicopter, made promotional videos, appeared on television and in newspapers, danced samba and is picking up the country's dominant Portu-guese language.

Fan appreciation <SMALL>

Best of all, he has been embraced by the city's football-mad people. His number seven club jersey has sold in bunches and the fans' appreciation has overwhelmed him. Prior to last Wednesday's game, Fraser said final minute attention in the dressing room delayed his entrance to the field. When he finally hit the pitch, what happened next shook him to the core.

"They (the fans) started to chant 'Fraser, Fraser', then 'Bob Marley', then 'Jamaica, Jamaica'," he said of the roughly 11,000 home crowd. "I broke down in tears ... I just started to cry as I was warming up. I didn't expect that reception ... I couldn't believe it."

The Brazilians were not so sure what they were receiving either when Fraser first came to the club after a successful first season with Miami FC, where he lined up alongside former Brazilian World Cup stars Romario and Zinho and scored four goals while playing primarily in an attacking midfield role. While Fraser had played in the two World Youth Championships and represented Jamaica in its failed bid last year to retain the Digicel Caribbean Cup, he was still an unknown in a country that has produced some of the planet's greatest players. In addition, Allan 'Skill' Cole had been the only Jamaican to play professionally in Brazil, a country so abundant in football talent it is often said that it could field a second or third-string national team and still beat the best in the world. But Fraser has not disappointed so far.

"Sean is a good player," said Boavista coach Gaucho last week. "He is fitting in."

Fraser would not mind settling in Brazil for a while. He is thoroughly impressed with the talent he has seen, as well as the training methods and a whole culture that is geared to promote football. He also relishes the chance t

RE: Brazil's 'samba' style suits Fraser

Mi say woe be unto those that try

to keep us out of the bosom of the CBF! That said I'm glad that Sean Fraser (smart yute) decided to actually go and learn the game of football. Fraser could have opted for the british pounds but instead he decided to go and learn the game. I wish him the best and hope he works hard to achieve. When he leaves Brasil only Tappa can talk to him truss mi. Look out for execellent passing, running with the ball, good shooting techniques et al. I envy Fraser, the man is going to learn how to play football properly. Ah one more thing; we Jakans fit like a hand in glove in the brasilian game but yet,... anyway I'm the eternal learner so I will hang around.

We should try to send six of our u14s to Brasil for four years, but guess what? We are not in the bosom of the ??

Nuh worry Jawge. There will be another Jamaican learning at the feet of the Brazillians come May. Well I'll be there for 8 days anyway. - T.k.

I wish you all the best boss. Where in Brasil

are you going? Ah I envy you

I am going to Curitiba the home of Clube Atletico Paranaenes.- T.K.

First things first.....well done article.

Secondly glad to see him having so much success in Brazil. If he can stay down there it will be great news for the Reggae Boyz.

Thirdly.......He played attacking mid-field for the Miami FC? The two times I saw them on tv he was playing forward but those could have been special circumstances. If he is playing attacking mid-field in Brazil then it would look like we have solved our attacking central midfield problem. That is if we have another dead ball specialist outside of Hue

Wow the competition for spots on the Reggae Boys ago serious come qualifiers. - T.K.

Bring back pictures

How Sensi fi talk to yuh afta dat!?

Jawge (1/31/2007)Bring back pictures
                  Jawge is not a social visit dis yu know. I am actually there for a coaching course. I am going to attempt to pass the NSCAA International Premier Diploma course. So no pictures unless you want to see a bunch of male footballers. LOL! We haffi wait fi Mexx's next trip to Rio to get the real pics. Ah those pics he dropped on the forum after his return from Brazil were the BOMB! - T.K.

Truly disappointed :P, maybe you can wrap up

the course quickly then get some R&amp;R

Jawge (1/31/2007)Truly disappointed :P, maybe you can wrap up

the course quickly then get some R&amp;R
                      I'll try man I'll try. See if I can get myself a couple girlfriends while I am at it. - T.K.

See if I can get myself a couple girlfriends while I am at it. - T.K.
                        ...and, you wanted to castigate Marlon King? :w00t:

Karl (2/1/2007)
                          See if I can get myself a couple girlfriends while I am at it. - T.K.
                          ...and, you wanted to castigate Marlon King? :w00t:
                          Hey! You ever see me get into a barfight yet? (Chal) - T.K.

tk...how yuh fi castigate big man? yuh nuh think him might wa'an fi raise a fambily?! eh?!! wicked and wretched soul that you are!!! (N)