Who's advising Bora?

• Who's advising Bora?

Okay, on a professional level I don't even rank as a neophyte and thus would not qualify to begin questioning the moves of the million-dollar-man. However, as a fan of the ReggaeBoyz I'm entitled to rant, rave and emote, even while doing so as an armchair coach/selector.

That said, what in the world was Bora thinking when he selected Fowly Stewart for the Hong Kong tournament? How does that help our progress and keeps with the theme of youth movement? Well, unless there really is going to be a couple of practice games and intra-squad scrimmages, then the Donald Stewart selection is rather fowly; pardon the pun. Or could it be that there was a mixup where Stew Peas' younger brother (Demar) was slated but someone penciled in The Donald instead of De Mar!!

One must also ask why weren't enterprising young players like Shaun Fraser, Akeem Priestly, Newton Sterling, Johnson (Chicago Fire), Dane Richards, Michael Campbell (BT), Kemeel Wolfe, Jason Morrison, Kirk Wright (Reno), Richard Westand Omar Brissett not considered?

Has anyone looked at that midfield selected for Hong Kong? Negaively speaking, I expect them to get whipped in Asia! Where is the glue that will hold that middle together? I'm actually hoping that Bora has seen something that the vast majority has missed, and that in the midst of a seeminglyordinary quadrant of linkmen he will find his own Tappa like the Prof did backin 1994/5.

Yet,while we could get a few pleasant surprises from the majority of Bora's selections, the fowly move is still a head-scratcher!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

RE: Who's advising Bora?

<DIV>I wouldn't worry about it just yet. I think Bora sees a certain playing style in some of these players and he is hoping that his young charges can emulate them. Fouly, or is it Fowly, isn't having a bad season with HVFC, but he is as slow as paint and tends to want to shield the ball before making a quick pass. But his shielding skills are excellent and I've been told that it is very difficult to get the ball from him. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Anyway, Bora deserves a chance to do his thing, even if it means recycling some geriatrics with youth. Afterall, have you taken 5 teams to a World Cup final? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The bigger question is, where is Maestro?</DIV>

Rene also liked Fowly too. I would say to give Bora a little time. He is not looking for the best but talent and maybe some speed as well.

These coaches may make unconventional picks but let us see how it pan out. I bet you nuff a the top team man dem a rue based on these picks.

Yes I liked Fowly too...but that was wayyyyyy back between 1998 and 2000. But hey, Bora is a maestro at getting teams to where he wants them. Coaching 5 teams at the world cup is nothing to scoff at.

Now speaking of Maestro, yes Mo what's the 411? Tryouts forthe Miami FC started a few days ago and I did not see Jerry among the hopefuls!

As an armchair selector though, If I were selecting a young squad and I wanted some older headsto whom the young players could look up to then I would have to call in Tappa, Pepe and Andy...even di Pearl!

But Fowly! No Mo, ball-shielding skills aside this one doesn't figure.However, it's great to see something happening. We're starved!
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Did Richard west not move to Canada..

One must also ask why weren't enterprising young players like Shaun Fraser, Akeem Priestly, Newton Sterling, Johnson (Chicago Fire), Dane Richards, Michael Campbell (BT), Kemeel Wolfe, Jason Morrison, Kirk Wright (Reno), Richard Westand Omar Brissett not considered?
            Farmah.....Just an fyi for certain players.....Sean Frasier is on loan in Brazil right now trying to impress enough to secure a permanent move. Akeem Priestly is a college studentso missing time away from school is a no no.Ryan Johnson and Dane Richards will bein preseason with their MLS clubs fighting for roster spots.

I agree 100% on Jason Morrison and Newton Sterling. It would have been great to have seenthem called up. I would even add in a Teafore Bennett.In either case positive moves by Boraand the JFF so far. With no meaningful matches on the horizonwe can afford to let the process work its way out. - T.K.

With no meaningful matches on the horizon we can afford to let the process work its way out. - T.K.
              ...let the process work its way out?

What process?

...work its way out?

How?

I wonder if in trying to answer the puzzlement you could tell what is (are) the aim (aims) of this JFF...asit tries to get at what and the howminus meaningful matches?

Aside: One of our rivals in CONCACAF actually has a plan! :w00t:

...that includes meaningful matches?

U.S. Men's National Team Training Camp Update - (Suggests this has been ongoing? Right?)
              Carson, Calif.
              January 30, 2007

MEXICO PREP CONTINUES: The U.S. Men’s National Team takes a break from training Tuesday after four days of intense work in preparation for the showdown with regional rival Mexicoon Feb. 7 at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz. U.S. head coach Bob Bradley has 26 players at his disposal in Carson, with several European-based players expected to join the group when they arrive into the Phoenix area on Super Bowl Sunday.

The USA-Mexico match will be part of a two-and-half-hour broadcast window on both ESPN2 and Univision beginning at 7 p.m. MT (9 p.m. ET), with kickoff slated for 7:25 p.m. MT (9:25 p.m. ET). Fans can also listen to the match in Spanish on Futbol de Primera radio and follow the match live online via ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker

----

<TABLE cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=5 width="100%" bgColor=#ffffff border=0><TBODY><TR class=a_header_white bgColor=#777777><TD align=middle><SPAN class=inner_text><SPAN class=header_white>Date</SPAN></SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white>Match/Events</SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white>Venue</SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white>TV</SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white></SPAN></TD></TR><TR class=a_body_text_grey2><TD class=links_normal align=left width="15%">02/07/2007
              7:00 PMMT </TD><TD class=links_normal align=middle>US Men vs Mexico</TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Univ. of Phoenix Stadium; Glendale, Ariz. </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Live on ESPN2 and Univision </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>
              </SPAN></TD></TR><TR class=a_body_text_grey1><TD class=links_normal align=left width="15%">03/25/2007
              12:00 PMET </TD><TD class=links_normal align=middle>US Men vsEcuador </TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Raymond James Stadium; Tampa Bay, Fla. </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Live on ESPN2 and Galavision </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal></SPAN></TD></TR><TR class=a_body_text_grey2><TD class=links_normal align=left width="15%">03/28/2007
              8:00 PMCT </TD><TD class=links_normal align=middle>US Men vs Guatemala</TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Pizza Hut Park; Frisco, Texas </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Live on ESPN2 and Galavision </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>

</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Karl (2/1/2007)
                With no meaningful matches on the horizon we can afford to let the process work its way out. - T.K.
                ...let the process work its way out?

What process?

...work its way out?

How?

I wonder if in trying to answer the puzzlement you could tell what is (are) the aim (aims) of this JFF...asit tries to get at what and the howminus meaningful matches?

Aside: One of our rivals in CONCACAF actually has a plan! :w00t:

...that includes meaningful matches?

U.S. Men's National Team Training Camp Update - (Suggests this has been ongoing? Right?)
                Carson, Calif.
                January 30, 2007

MEXICO PREP CONTINUES: The U.S. Men’s National Team takes a break from training Tuesday after four days of intense work in preparation for the showdown with regional rival Mexicoon Feb. 7 at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz. U.S. head coach Bob Bradley has 26 players at his disposal in Carson, with several European-based players expected to join the group when they arrive into the Phoenix area on Super Bowl Sunday.

The USA-Mexico match will be part of a two-and-half-hour broadcast window on both ESPN2 and Univision beginning at 7 p.m. MT (9 p.m. ET), with kickoff slated for 7:25 p.m. MT (9:25 p.m. ET). Fans can also listen to the match in Spanish on Futbol de Primera radio and follow the match live online via ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker

----

<TABLE cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=5 width="100%" bgColor=#ffffff border=0><TBODY><TR class=a_header_white bgColor=#777777><TD align=middle><SPAN class=inner_text><SPAN class=header_white>Date</SPAN></SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white>Match/Events</SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white>Venue</SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white>TV</SPAN></TD><TD align=middle width="21%"><SPAN class=header_white></SPAN></TD></TR><TR class=a_body_text_grey2><TD class=links_normal align=left width="15%">02/07/2007
                7:00 PMMT </TD><TD class=links_normal align=middle>US Men vs Mexico</TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Univ. of Phoenix Stadium; Glendale, Ariz. </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Live on ESPN2 and Univision </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>
                </SPAN></TD></TR><TR class=a_body_text_grey1><TD class=links_normal align=left width="15%">03/25/2007
                12:00 PMET </TD><TD class=links_normal align=middle>US Men vsEcuador </TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Raymond James Stadium; Tampa Bay, Fla. </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Live on ESPN2 and Galavision </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal></SPAN></TD></TR><TR class=a_body_text_grey2><TD class=links_normal align=left width="15%">03/28/2007
                8:00 PMCT </TD><TD class=links_normal align=middle>US Men vs Guatemala</TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Pizza Hut Park; Frisco, Texas </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>Live on ESPN2 and Galavision </SPAN></TD><TD align=middle><SPAN class=links_normal>

</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
                The process I am speaking of is the identification process.

How the process will work out is over time.

As for the aims of the JFF...toqualify for the World Cup.

We can't worry about the US. Right now they are so far ahead of us it is ridiculous. We need to take small baby steps.- T.K.

We dont need to be looking at specific individuals in the team right now whatIlook at this stage with a newTD, is his philosophy. I am moreinterested inBora'sapproach to footballthan his ability to judge talent.When I see that he likes Donald Stewart (former international defender turned defensive midfielder) I like that as I start to think "Hmm maybe Bora is more serious about defending the middle than Wendell was?" etc.

Bora wont haveto go around grabbingplayersto put a team together quicklyso players who aren't good willplay their way out of contention pretty soon. Don't get me wrong I know the importance ofgiving people with 'potential' as much experience as possible - but the good thing, which is also a sad thing, is we've got time togive different peoplea look.
                  SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!