• U.S. takes care of Jamaica with much improved performance

U.S. takes care of Jamaica with much improved performance

Finally, a little sunshine is gathering around the Gold Cup effort for coach Bob Bradley and his national team.

They aren't completely out of the woods in what was quickly devolving into a summer of high discontent. And the United States still has plenty of work ahead before a possible tournament championship showdown against Mexico -- which is pretty much what everyone expected before the Americans began stumbling around in group stage.

But an afternoon of partial vindication has left Bradley and his side a lot closer today than yesterday to summer redemption following a fairly comfortable 2-0 quarterfinal win over Jamaica. Up next for the tournament hosts will be Panama in Houston in the Gold Cup semifinals.

(continue)

Zeppo you finally come up for air! Ahhhh you have finally found your keyboard.

Now to that article....good article but I notice the writer took a dismissive (if not disrespectful) swipe at the ReggaeBoyz:

".. .the Americans were superior to a poorly organized Jamaican bunch.."

I have a feeling that had we won the match, the writer would still try to diss us!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

".. .the Americans were superior to a poorly organized Jamaican bunch.."
      It was true though Farmah. We were poorly organized for this match.

It would be interesting to see the match from Univision or whatever other channel carried it. Fox chose not to show a replay of the Taylor foul which got him sent off. I was not convinced that Taylor touched him and if he did he was the last man in the line of defense to warrant a red card.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yes we were disorganized, but they were not "superior" to us. The USA played poorly too but they capitalized siezed their opportunities while we did not. Early in the 1st half breached their defense and had to quick shots but couldn't score. The sending off of Jermaine Taylor too was unwarranted because Germany Jones was not fouled. The player acted and took a dive for he should've been given a yellow card. Instead, Taylor got a red and we lost a defender!

I watched the game on the spanish station and the commentators kept showing the replays and bemoaning the fact that Jamaica were being treated unfairly by the ref.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

You talk about Jamaica not seizing their opportunities, but how many did they even have? Anybody who watched the game saw that the USA was clearly superior, and that Ricketts' performance was the only thing that kept it from being a blow-out.

If your memory is foggy then just watch the highlights or read the stats:

Stats Summary: USA / JAM
          Shots: 17 / 7
          Shots on Goal: 10 / 3
          Saves: 3 / 8
          Corner Kicks: 6 / 1

The US had us on the backfoot for about 75% of the match. In some people's eyes, that would say they were superior, plus they scored two goals on top of that. Did the US play well,? No, they didn't, but compared to us, their game was superior.

Our whole engine room was shut down and we could not move the ball to start our attacks as we would have liked.Our forwards were starved that the speedy Dane Richards could not get a chance to make his runs at the US defense. When we got the ball, we only maintained possession by moving it around between ourselves on our half. That in itself was not hurting the US at all.

I watched the game on the spanish station and the commentators kept showing the replays and bemoaning the fact that Jamaica were being treated unfairly by the ref.
            This is a part of the reason why I was sorry I was not watching on the spanish station. You noticed Fox SC did not give extensive replay and analysis of that play and decision? The next thing, was Jermaine Taylor the last man when he made that play?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The US did not have us on our backfoot ! dont confuse it with us ceeding territority voluntarily , we were able to wander into their half whenever we pressed , problem is our shape (non existent midfield ) showed , we fought until the end even with 10 men , the commentators said we were taking it to them.

That was not a red card , even the american commentators said so , I quote "he got away with it, he didnt even touch him."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

So Zeppo, do you think Taylor should have received a red in that play or Jones should have been shown a yellow? It was an obvious dive and the referee bought it hook, line and sinker. That move by the referee basically killed the game for us.

This is the second time we have played at RFK and the US were assisted by match officials. Based on how the match was flowing, I felt the US would have won. They did not need the help of the referee to get the job done.

I was not convinced that Taylor touched him and if he did he was the last man in the line of defense to warrant a red card.
                  He touched him.

Taylor's right knee clips Jones' left foot:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khbDD-6zHsI

LOL......BIGGEST DIVE I HAVE EVER SEEN......you wish thanks for making my case.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X, if you have the team attacking you in your half for most of the match, then they have you on the backfoot in my opinion. It matters not if you "ceed territory voluntarily" to the opposition. You start sounding like your daddy Karl now. What sense does that make giving uping territory voluntarily to an opposition? We were not Brazil and although if you follow the Brazilian game, they talk about using negative space. The fact is, when Brazil plan to switch the attack, they can hurt you big time.

we were able to wander into their half whenever we pressed
                      I think you hit the nail on the head right here.

wan·der   
                      –verb (used without object)
                      1. to ramble without a definite purpose or objective; roam, rove, or stray: to wander over the earth.
                      2. to go aimlessly, indirectly, or casually; meander: The river wanders among the rocks.
                      3. to extend in an irregular course or direction: Foothills wandered off to the south.

It matters not if you "ceed territory voluntarily" to the opposition

So Mourinho Team that won his 1st Prem was on the back foot alot ? Being able to control and dictate that pace of being on your back foot is the difference,Like Mourinho team we could ! But it often lead to Players loosing the ball.i.e Shelton .

Come on Zeppo. It was Jones' heel that touched the man's knee. Moreover, Adrian Reid shown in the picture proves why it should not have been a red card. Taylor was not the last man in the line of defense. The US got help again in this one.
                          Attached Files

You are grasping at straws here X. We were on the backfoot not by choice, but because we were under pressure. Don't compare this to Morinho's team. Makes no sense!

There was incidental contact between his heel and Johnson's knee. Jones milked it for all it was worth though as he could have continued running and hardly anybody would have been able to catch up with him.