True but we dont discount the level of the competition do we ?
a Few things
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
The fact is look on the level of improvement. We have a lot of things pointing in the right direction. We have professional player in the rank. If your read the analysis of Tappa and his assistant you will see the work they are doing. The players can only deliver when they play.
Yes there is growing pains as with any team but we have improved 100% over the last 2 years. We now don't look like headless chicken and actually thinking about plays and position.
Already the Spanish commentators are asking if we going to another world cup. This is not because we beat Grenada and Guatamala but because of how the team actually played.
People can look for the negitives, all the teams have negitives, I will just look for the strenght and continued growth.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I am not nit picking or tearing anybody apart, I am talking about style of play here. I would put Kemar and Messi on to attack, I wouldn't put them on to break up any attack and I would call Alonso any day to go and break up attack in midfield. There were many times when Alonso played behind Steven Gerrard for that reason, While Messi and Kemar plays best as a withdrawn forward or attacking mid.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I would put Kemar and Messi on to attack, I wouldn't put them on to break up any attack and I would call Alonso any day to go and break up attack in midfield. There were many times when Alonso played behind Steven Gerrard for that reason, While Messi and Kemar plays best as a withdrawn forward or attacking mid."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
last time me hear how we couldn't beat Guatamala or Honduras playing how we play Grenada.
Last Gold cup this time we almost a book our ticket going back home and man a cuss we how we worthless. This Gold cup we a ball man, them a ball out say the man dem we a play gainst nuh good enough!!!!
A what the rahtid a gwaan. Well send fi Mexico and make we done the Gold cup nuh.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
We can go through the matches and you will see that Lowe scored a lot against some of the same so called minnows too. You do not want to acknowledge that, but ready to talk about Shelton's accomplishment is a lesser light. You are totally unfair.
That said, here is a list of Jamaica's leading scorers:-
Top goalscorers
Player -------------Years of selection -----------No. of goals
Luton Shelton ----------2004– Present ----------------31
Paul Young -------------1993–1998 ---------------------28
Onandi Lowe -----------1994–2004 ------------------- -27
Theodore Whitmore -----1993–2005 -------------------24
Walter Boyd ------------1991–2001 ---------------------19
As the stats show you, Shelton has played less years than Lowe and is currently the leading scorer. Lowe played at a time when Simoes was the TD of Jamaica and the team played more matches than any time in the history of our game. I could dig further and allow you to compare the goals and but I do not have the time.
I understand though your need to keep Lowe on that pedestal of yours, so I will let you continue to delude yourself."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Farmah View PostX, Luton Shelton has come a far way from the days when he was one dimensional. His play has improved tremendously though his finishing needs some brushing up.
I think he would score many goals against top TEAMs....not just the 2nd formers. After all is said and done - He has speed. He can kicks well and he can pass...however, he often 'shuts down brain'.
He either thinks he is a great 'bruker' or a 'second Messi'. Unfortunately he is neither.
He just needs to play well with his TEAM(mates).
There is a thing about this game - share the ball and you get more of it. You could say it is a game where 'give and you shall receive' is a mantra.
Shelton throws away the ball too often.
I invite all to review the game and count the number of successful passes he made and the number of times through silly attempts at 'brukin' or delay on getting rid of the ball...or failure to make the sensible pass has him giving away the ball. This Guatemalan team was not good enough to use his 'gifts' to best advantage.
He needs to play with his TEAM(mates) more and forget trying to assist the opponents with his silly attempts at 'brukin'.
He has it in him to far better player. Our REGGAE BOYZ need that better player and shall surely need that as we advance.
Aside: What I found strange is the lack of runs (not by Shelton alone) by our forwards from off the shoulders of the defenders."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Do a stat on how many games/years Lowe played in defence to calculate his ratio.
Do another one on how many minnows Shelton scored against , Bahamas, Barbados etc in which he scored 3 or more per game .
Do another one on how many he scored against Mex, USA, Can, Honduras and C. Rica as opposed to Lowe ?
All I ask is to be fair with the BIG MAN ! But i understand to denigrate is part of our culture.Stats can be twisted to serve any proposition, pretty sure you know this.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Luton Shelton
Against Mexico = 0
Against USA = 0
Against C/Rica = 0
Against Canada = 3
He has also played against Australia; Chile; England; Ghana; Nigeria; & Peru without scoring.
NB: To his credit though, he has scored against Haiti (1), Honduras (1) and Cuba (1). Against TnT he scored twice. His numbers against St Martin (4), Grenada (4) and Bahamas (5) are flattering only to the naked eyes.Last edited by Farmah; June 11, 2011, 04:37 PM."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
WOW mighty Canada 3 ! How many years Lowe play as a defender ? ...Kissteeth ....Tilla come better than that !....Give Shelton the 5 in Bahamas im need it.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
I won't bother with you as I know you worship Lowe. I am telling you, Karl could not have said you were not his son. It is the same way he would defend Tappa when Tappa was obviously done."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Luton cant be blamed for the opposition he scores against. However it is an indisputable fact that to date Lowe has scored against much better opposition both at home and away. Maybe Luton will surpass him in the future but he hast yet against high quality opposition.
@ Tilla
Wont bother , betta yuh say cannot dispute, worshipping Lowe isnt the issue or is it tearing him or Shelton down.If you truly care about our RBYZ truth must be spoken.
Shelton is a 2nd rate striker, Lowe scores against the BIG BOYS!Give the BIG MAN HIS DUE.
Thats what you call worshipping ?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
I hope Shelton or someone else does Surpass Lowe for the betterment of the RBYZ!THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!