a Few things

• a Few things

The coaches know Guatamala would come out running forward and pressuring the ball as they did in the Honduras game. The cure to that was get the ball out in the first half using longer passes force them to run back and defend. Keep the ball moving and put it in their half.

The second thing is you will not see these teams pushing wingbacks and defenders in attack. The speed of Shelton, Dane, plus the strenght of Ryan Johnson will freeze them and will give the midfield some room to play in.

Tappa and his assistant coach is doing a great job. If you read what they said going into the two games then you will see the job they are doing.

So far Ricketts have not had to make one good save, and that is very important. First thing is to keep people off our score sheet.

Honduras a go tek them beaten too. The only trouble from them I see is Costly upfront. I would say match Dicoy up with him if he is fit and mark him out of the game. Traditionally Honduras is week at defense I and I see no difference here.

Them a go get ball tooo.

MI BARCA MI SAY. Said speed said way. Did Austin get two yellow in two game? That rule him outa the next game?

The coaches know Guatamala would come out running forward and pressuring the ball as they did in the Honduras game. The cure to that was get the ball out in the first half using longer passes force them to run back and defend. Keep the ball moving and put it in their half.
    Only Karl rationalizes better!

Anything to save face, huh!

midfield room to play....1st what midfield , 2nd they had room and did litle with it, thats being generous.

The wings ,thats where we prospered ,manning cup style.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

it work and will continue to work.

"all we need a Lucas and Alonso" right? LOL

Midfield stand up strong, them could build no ball inna the midfield, our midfielders played very good defensive, and took the attack to them in the second half. Demar Phillips(midfielder) scored 2 goals, Vernon had a good game. Austin was breaking up plays.

No watch no face Manning cup style a go give nuff a dem trouble.

took the attack to them in the second half, so what happened in the 1st half ?.....could that be when our Alonso came on K. Daley ? That one pass he made to Phillips split them wide open.

Daley need fe buss against Honduras with direct orders to tek it to them in the middle.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

SPORT

Red-hot Boyz - Jamaica into Gold Cup quarterfinals
            Phillips brace sends Ja to Gold Cup quarter-finals
            IAN BURNETT @ THE CONCACAF GOLD CUP in the USA

Saturday, June 11, 2011

MIAMI, Florida — Left-sided midfielder Demar Phillips hit a second-half brace to guide Jamaica into the second phase of the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup Tournament after blanking Guatemala 2-0 inside the Florida International University (FIU) Stadium last night.

Phillips, who scored Jamaica's third goal against Grenada on Monday night at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California, opened the scoring in the 65th minute, then made the game safe 12 minutes from full time.

MIAMI, Florida — Members of Jamaica’s Reggae Boyz team celebrate their 2-0 CONCACAF Gold Cup victory over Guatemala at the FIU Stadium, yesterday.

1/3
            He was later named the Miller Lite Man-of-the-Match, a decision voted on by journalists at the game.

It was the fourth consecutive victory for Jamaica over Guatemala in the Gold Cup Tournament, having also defeated them 3-2 in 1998, 2-0 in 2003, and 4-3 in 2005.

The result left Jamaica on maximum six points from two games. Honduras were on their way to four, Guatemala on one and Grenada at the bottom without a point.

At press time Honduras had come from behind to lead Grenada 3-1 with a brace from Jerry Bengston in the 26th and 37th minutes, and Carlo Costly in the 28th minute. Clive Murray had given Gredana the lead in the 19th minute.
            The margin of victory could have been wider, but the Boyz would be justified in questioning the performance of Costa Rican referee Walter Quesada.

The Boyz were pinned back in their own half in the early stages, and injuries to Eric Vernan and Dicoy Williams did not help in any way.

In fact Williams had to be replaced by Adrian Reid inside the first 10 minutes. However, the Boyz gradually found their rhythm, and though not very patient as they were against Grenada, started passing the ball around the pitch.

By the middle of the half they were able to construct their best attacking play when they combined in small triangles on the right side of the pitch before switching play to Phillips on the left.

The wily player danced inside his marker in the box before pulling the ball back to Dane Richards, who shot wide of the target from the edge of the penalty box.

The Central Americans, who opted for long, searching passes to captain Carlos Ruiz, who scored a hat-trick the last time he played against Jamaica in the Gold Cup Tournament in 2005, had a few testing efforts as the half drew to a close.

However, on the stroke of half time, Ryan Johnson had a glorious chance from inside the penalty area, but he miscued his effort, which failed to trouble goalkeeper Ricardo Jerez.

The battle resumed in the second half with the Central Americans again off to the faster start, but Jamaica appeared more settled and dangerous whenever they went forward.

The game was begging for a Jamaican playmaker in the middle of the park and head coach Theodore Whitmore, as if on cue, introduced Keammar Daley.
            The midfield dynamo didn't disappoint.

On minute 65 minutes he received a pass in midfield, and with the elegance and skill for which his head coach was renown, he clipped a superb pass over the top for the overlapping Phillips, who took the ball in stride expertly, dribbled into the danger area, before dislodging the ball into the far corner to settle his team's nerves.

The Central Americans are known for their unsporting behaviour, and with their backs against the wall and elimination staring them in the face, they resorted to dishonesty, aided in no small measure by referee Quesada and his assistants.

One glaring error resulted in Jermaine Taylor receiving a caution, after the Guatemalans kicked the ball into touch when one of their players was down.
            Unbelievably, the restart from a throw in was taken by Guatemala, with Quesada waving off the appeals from the Jamaicans, leading to Taylor's petulance.

Justice caught up with them in the 70th minute when centre back Cristian Noriega was cautioned for the second time for pulling down Richards just outside the penalty area. An immediate ejection would have sufficed.

The Boyz were now firmly in control and shortly after Richards saw his close-range shot blocked on the goal line from Phillips' right-sided corner.

The was to be no let up though and Phillips got the insurance goal when he was on hand inside the box to turn home after Richards had done great work to completely befuddle a defender in the box, raced to the goal line before pulling back for the goal scorer.

Teams: Jamaica — Donovan Ricketts, Shavar Thomas, Jermaine Taylor, Dicoy Williams (Adrian Reid 10th), Jason Morrison, Rudolph Austin (Damion Williams 84th), Demar Phillips, Eric Vernan, Luton Shelton, Dane Richards, Ryan Johnson (Keammar Daley 63rd).

Subs not used: Dwayne Miller, Richard Edwards, Omar Daley, Jevaughn Watson.

Booked: Thomas (37th), Austin (67th), Taylor (69th)

Guatemala — Ricardo Jerez, Cristian Noriega, Carlos Gallardo, Elias Vasquez, Wilfred Velasquez, Jose Contreras, Edwin Gonzalez (Marco Pappa 46th), Manuel Leon (Carlos Gigueroa 46th, Carlos Castillo 52nd), Oscar Isaula, Carlos Ruiz, Jonathan Lopez.

Subs not used: Juan Paredes, Henry Lopez, Dwight Pezzarossi, Jose Del Aguila
            Booked: Noriega (34th, 70th-ejected), Contreras (88th)

Referee: Walter Quesada (Costa Rica)

Assistant Referees: Leonel Leal (Costa Rica), William Torres (El Salvador)

Fourth Official: Joel Aguilar (El Salvador)

Fourth Official: Marvin Torrentera (Mexico)

Match Commissary: Colin Klass (Guyana

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1OyIt1vYK
            Last edited by Karl; June 11, 2011, 09:17 AM.

Kemar Daley is our Alonso?

Two totally different kind of player. Gwaan living through your liverpool eyes.

Are you sure ? I thought they were the same ?Isnt Daley a spanish name ?

This game our tendencies to allow balls to 'hit the ground' when coming into our defensive area (to the center-backs and wing backs) was glaring. ...better teams would have given us more trouble.

I think it happened at least 4 times and we were then a 6s and 9s.

I just do not understand the reason why the defenders do not meet these high balls. Both forwards and attackers must arrive at where the ball reaches playing height. That is a basic thing. ...usually any half-dead would be footballer outside of Jamaica does that...the Guatelamans were not able to take advantage of that glaring weakness.

...our attacking weakness had to do with the runs of our attackers. We often had great position with the ball in the 'hands' of our midfielders yet our forwards could not run diagonally and allow for 'through passes' as did Costly
                  and his Hondurans in the half of their match that I watched - 1st half).

No problems with rest of the play.

Definitely moving in the right direction.

World Cup 2014 here we come!

Very good TEAM play!!!!

Also too many touches to make a pass, all that will come out against better teams.If we can get that midfield general, cut down on our touches to pass a ball and clear the ball when under pressure before it touches ground we will be ready for the other level.

Honduras will exploit all those defencies ,but we will exploit theirs .Being compact makes takes alot of pressure from the defeciences.

Sass, there was one instance in the first half where Ricketts had to make a very good save. Guatemala caught us napping against the run of play and breached our defence. An acrobatic save from Ricketts kept the score sheet clean.

While we have good speed (and good chemistry) up front, the finishing is woeful. I expect the training squad to work on the finishing. Luton is good but he is trying too hard and - in the process - overdribbles.

That said, 'twas a good result against Guatemala!
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Luton Shelton is good at the secoundary level , trying too hard has been his fault since he made the senior team.He scores against carribbean teams and secound rate central american teams i.e the el salvadors and gautemalas.

We have not had a striker that Bangs them in against the Big Boys on a consistent basis since LOWE!

Ouch !

Guatemala's obvious game plan was to roughshod the Reggae Boyz and score a goal. This is where they got tired and the Reggae Boyz finally came into their own.
                          Any of this sounds familiar.
                          This is how the the Reggae Boyz use to play which even made smaller teams score on us in the second half of games.

Now.

I think it was a decent save. Ok I will give them that one.

Yeah Luton Over dribble sometimes but his play has improved a lot and and sometimes he draws a few players to him which is not bad at all.

As I said before we are lacking a striker. Ryan is not in the form he was in last year. That is one area we don't have a cutting edge at the moment. Omar should join the squad next week if he is fit. Hopefully he has form because he was laid off for a while.

Lowe does not have the strike rate of Shelton. Moreover, if you are forgetting, Lowe will surprise with a wonder strike every now and again. He was not one to consistently score against the better teams. The stats are there to support this.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran